We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay Downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Decent Stay Downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked Genetti's because it was the venue for a family event; otherwise we would have stayed at one of the newer hotels by the highway. All in all, however, it was a good stay but not without bumps.

Check-in was slow, but we found out later that they had a new computer system. They were polite and apologetic. It was a busy weekend at Genettis between a boy band concert at the Kirby and a Cage Fighting event at the hotel. Ventilation did not hide the cage fighters' pot smoking.

Our room was adequate- a bit dark but clean. Beds were comfortable. The room was as good as one would expect.

One elevator was not working, but management did not turn it off. Instead, people would get in, press the buttons - the doors would close for about 30 seconds and then reopen. Then everyone would shuffle to the other lift.

the workout room is large with a variety of equipment. HOWEVER, there were no towels nor anything to clean the equipment. I walked on the treadmill for about 15 minutes but found it "sticky." I washed my hands and went for a walk outside, instead.

Our event included a dinner reception by the pool. The tables were lovely- white linens and large blue bows. The food was delicious and the bartender friendly.


All in all a nice stay- not stellar, but adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    90
    22
    20
    6
See reviews for
84
87
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed here for several conventions and have had very good experiences. The hotel was clean throughout, the staff was friendly and all of my concerns were addressed promptly. Being directly downtown, the parking is less than ideal, you actually park behind the hotel in part of a multistory garage that is shared with the city. Parking is free and I never had trouble finding a spot. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Horrible stay!! We had ants in our room when we checked in. Although we were offered to switch rooms after several complaints, we denied because the elevators were broken completely and we were not about to lug our things up and down the steps. Front desk blamed us for the ants cause we had food and drinks in the room, even though ants were there upon check-in. The elevators were down. Parking was horrible if lot is full, and people were approaching front desk asking where to park the hotel staff was snappy and nasty, saying it was the least of their worries with everything else going on. Very thin walls also if you have noisy neighbors. Needless to say we will never ever return!! And do not recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.We are recognized by AAA and Best Western International for excellent service and outstanding accommodations and treat all adverse comments seriously.

When we reviewed the details regarding your stay, we found the following.

You checked into our hotel Friday afternoon, and did not make us aware of an ant issue until the next day. On Saturday, our guest service agent apologized about the ants and offered to move you to a different room. You declined and asked us to clean the room, which we did. There was no elevator problem when we offered to move you. The elevator (regretfully)became inoperative AFTER you declined to move your room. When we reviewed our parking lot video, we found the parking lot was never full at any time during your two day stay. One of your visitors did initially park in the city parking garage. When he asked the front desk about parking, he was directed to our free guest parking area. He immediately moved his car to our lot.

We regret you did not find your stay with us satisfactory and to make amends for your disappointing stay, we are offering you a 50% discount on your next one or two day stay with us at the Best Western Genetti Hotel. Please contact me directly in order to make your reservation so you receive the offered discount.

We hope to see you soon

Sincerely,

Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

very friendly staff hotel located in the downtown are but very clean got everything we needed including a pack and play for the baby also included was a full breakfast the beds were very comfortable also a very quite and peaceful place

Room Tip: always remember to tip waitress in breakfast room as tip is not included in room charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while traveling back home. we orginally stopped at a Best Western that was booked. We called this one and they were very helpful. The night clerk had our rooms ready when we got there. I.believe her name was Vilma. she was excellent. We would defknetly stay here again if we had a reason to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have had several occasions to stay at Genetti's. This visit was family gathering for a memorial service. I did not realize I needed to make dinner reservations. There were nine of us. The staff quickly did everything they could, and the dinner was excellent. The Host made a special effort to speak with my aunt, our matriarch. I have never been disappointed when staying at Genetti's!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during their "Rockin New Years Eve" event and couldn't have been happier. It was very convenient to have a room in the same hotel as the event. The event itself was one of the best I've been to in a long time. We had a FABULOUS night and plan on going again and again. The food was outstanding, the service was top notch and the entertainment was incredible. I loved the late check out time that they only do on New Years...(great idea guys...keep it up!!). The bed in our room was so comfortable, my boyfriend had to make me get out of bed the next day to eat brunch! Brunch was phenomenal and was included in the room rate. They had something for everyone and a lot more! I wish they were open to everyone as we don't live far and would love to just come for brunch.

We can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and New Year’s Eve party! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service Hotel, located next to the F.M. Kirby Center and few blocks from Wilkes University and King's College. Well appointed rooms feature flat screen TV's and DVD players, free wireless high-speed internet access and spa-like pillow top mattresses. With banquet ball rooms accommodating up to 2000 people, this is the perfect place to celebrate. A free hot breakfast buffet is served every morning to our guests in our own restaurant Oyster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.