We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud Music” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loud Music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is an update to my review from my stay last month (December 2012). The hotel has a nightclub in it and is obviously a conference center as well. During my previous stay I did not hear any music, however, this time around I was kept awake by the thumping bass from an event that was going on in the hotel. This really is too bad because otherwise it is a great hotel. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    74
    19
    20
    6
See reviews for
69
66
20
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night, but if I ever return to the area I would totally stay here again. The hotel is located in downtown Wilkes-Barre (not much to see there) and has free parking and an excellent buffet breakfast is included! The fitness center is also very nice and actually has good equipment. The hotel was clean as was my room. The bathroom looked like new and featured a fancy Waterpik shower head. The room was spacious and included a great flat screen tv and DVD player. There is a restaurant and night club in the hotel, but I didn't hear a thing. The only noise that I heard was some kind banging in the walls; it sounded like pipes. This kept me awake at night and that is the only reason I have 4 instead of 5 stars. Next time I will bring ear plugs because I am a light sleeper anyway.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This should be a MOTEL, in comparison to a HoJo's or Motel 8 at Best. Room 7016 (pics included) Old, small, dingy, smelly, low class. On the bed is a sheet, a thin pilled blanket, then an old worn thin sheet type cover to make it look like a white down comforter. The room less than budget; made me sick at the 107.00 price tag when I can spend that much this time of year for a Hampton Garden Inn. And this was a discounted rate due to Christmas party on premise. I have to say the Bathroom was beautifully rennovated, they forgot to upgrade the rooms though. Breakfast Buffet included for the morning, the food was as bad as it was the night before at the party in the grand ball room. No selection, cafeteria type quality. I really am disappointed in everything about this place, it screams low class, 70's motel, from the check in counter to the lack of service.

Room Tip: Stay less than 5 miles away by the Arena and you have a better choice of hotels in the same price ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast US
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night in November 2012.

At first we were pleased:

- The room size was adequate.

- There was off-street paid parking complimentary with room purchase.

- Complimentary breakfast we didn't take advantage of.

- The room was quiet.

- The bathroom was adequate.

We were ready to provide a nice review here until we rolled back the sheets on the bed to find a plethora of someone else's hair between the sheets and on the pillows.

Not one or two mind you, but the bed had obviously been slept in and the lazy staff simply pulled the sheets back up vs. changing them for the next customer.

I guess this filth is their idea of "saving the planet" by not washing sheets???

In our revoltion we recoiled to bed #2 and found the same mess.

We are so disgusted we can't even speak the name of this hotel.

Who knows what else was on those sheets and we sure weren't interested in looking further.

Filth.

Filth.

Filth.

Room Tip: Check everything before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are disappointed to hear of your experience. After each guest checks out we change all bed linens in the room. What can happen is a guest will depart early and a communication gap between the front desk and housekeeping will result in a failure to provide a full departure cleaning and the room will only receiving a stay over cleaning. I've looked at our housekeeping records and have been unable to find an occurrence of this. The fact that both beds were not changed is surprising. We do our best to provide an ultra-clean hotel for our guests but do fall short at times. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with clean and comfortable accommodations.

Sincerely,

Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Downtown, large to find and get too, need a GPS to find. It was a rated 3Star on Hot Wire. Hotel must have paid Hot wire for the rating. It's dark, feels like the 50's and smells. Makes you want to sleep in your clothes. Mold in the bath tub area. Just find another location.

Room Tip: Helpful tip: Find another location when in the Wilkes-Barre area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with our hotel. Our rooms have recently been extensively refreshed with all new furniture, pillow top mattresses, and our public areas are near completion of upgrades as well. I’ve noted that you’ve haven’t been extremely satisfied with your hotel stays in Wilkes-Barre. We take great pride in having an over 90% satisfaction rate of Hotwire customers and have recently received the Directors Award from Best Western International for superior service and accommodations. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay next time you are visiting Wilkes-Barre. We hope you have safe travels.

Regards,

Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here while attending a show at The Kirby Center. Very convenient to the center, about a 1 block stroll. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. We had a free hot breakfast. While it was ok, it wasn't something to write home about. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very nice hotel in the downtown area, but still very close to I 81. Very clean large rooms, very nice bathroom, nice touches, personal touches from the owner. Free parking in their own lot in the rear and a really good hot breakfast. Definitely recommend. And if you mention the University of Scranton, just mention, as in just saying the words, you get a substantial discount on the room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service Hotel, located next to the F.M. Kirby Center and few blocks from Wilkes University and King's College. Well appointed rooms feature flat screen TV's and DVD players, free wireless high-speed internet access and spa-like pillow top mattresses. With banquet ball rooms accommodating up to 2000 people, this is the perfect place to celebrate. A free hot breakfast buffet is served every morning to our guests in our own restaurant Oyster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.