We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillard House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilkes-Barre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillard House Inn
Save
You added Hillard House Inn to your Saves list
58 West River Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this lovely B&B over labor day weekend. Cecelia and Gordon were welcoming and warm hosts with lots of local knowledge. The house is beautiful and our room was spacious and clean. Fantastic breakfast! If you looking for a place to stay in the Wilkes-Barre area you can't go wrong at Hillard House.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed here and we highly recommend Hillard House. The proprietors Cecilia and Gordon were so gracious. We arrived late at night (midnight) and they had stayed up to welcome us and take our luggage upstairs. We stayed in the blue room and it was very nice. After 2 days they upgraded us at no charge to the Duchess Suite as it was going to be empty. It was beautiful! One day we decided to go to New York City and didn't know much about it, so Gordon bought me a travel guide book. Unreal! The breakfasts are to die for, as others have posted. The beds are very comfortable and that is saying a lot for me. I usually have an aching back when I stay elsewhere. It is spotlessly clean. We came for a funeral, but brought back beautiful memories.

Room Tip: If you can afford the money I would do the suite. It is 2 very large rooms with couch and easy chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night with Cecilia and Gordon and wish we could have stayed a week! They are gracious, kind and informative hosts who have an amazing converted home. The breakfast was incredible as advertised and they serve you at a communal table which was quite nice. The outside and inside of the house is gorgeous with a beautiful staircase hugging the entry hall. There's a nice front porch with a swing and large sitting chairs as you are located across from the river. There's no river view but the location is very, very nice and neighborly. I can't say enough kind words about Gordon, Cecilia, and their wonderful home and hospitality. I would hope to pass through Wilkes-Barre again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Cecilia and Gordon were amazing and friendly innkeepers! The home was extremely clean and decorated with interesting antique items. Honestly it was just an amazing experience. They catered to our every request and were extremely knowledgeable of the area. They provided excellent recommendations for food and fun in the area. The breakfast was insane. Fresh fruit, home baked muffins, Fresh squeezed orange juice, and an Pear crepe....Extremely reasonable prices. Well well worth staying in over a hotel. Do yourself a favor and go!

James and Victoria

Room Tip: any of the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is such a cute place to stay. It’s quite an amazing historic property and you truly feel like you went back in time when you stepped in.
We were also served great breakfast with fresh fruit and freshly baked pastries. It’s very quiet - I got a great 8 hours of sleep in a huge bed.
Bonus point for super soft towels.

We were visiting my boyfriend’s parents in town and will definitely stay again here when back in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
196 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have driven through this area many times while on I-81 but never stayed in Wilkes-Barre before. We were lucky to find Hillard House for our stop over. Cecilia and Gordon are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed listening to all the stories about the area. Fascinating! We enjoyed walking by the river close to Hillard House and Cecilia kindly suggested a local Italian restaurant for dinner that was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hillard House. Had no idea what to expect as I did not have a good picture of what downtown Wilkes-Barre would be like. The Hillard House is in a great location and we were able to walk to restaurants and explore historical neighborhoods. The owner/ hosts are friendly but not intrusive and very helpful giving advice about the area. Rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and breakfast is wonderful. We plan to go back and see a show at the Kirby Center which is also a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#8 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillard House Inn

Address: 58 West River Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hil lard House Inn, circa 1865, is an elegant B and B located in Downtown Wilkes-Barre PA. Rooms feature queen beds, private baths, cable tv, wifi, fridge,ac.The Duchess Suite has sitting rm w/pullout twin and Bedroom w/queen bed.The bath has 2 vanities,walk-in shower and whirlpool soaker tub.Breakfast served in our formal dining rm.Offstreet parking and secure wifi are included in the rates.Close proximity to interstate I81,colleges, Mohegan SunArena, Mohegan Sun Casino,F.M. Kirby Center. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillard House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.