We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillard House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilkes-Barre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillard House Inn
Save
You added Hillard House Inn to your Saves list
58 West River Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Property is well-maintained with just the right blend of old/historic and updated. The elevette was a treat to see! Our innkeepers were friendly and welcoming; very helpful for dining and nightlife suggestions. The location is right along the river, with a brand new river walk. Excellent for easing the digestion after a terrific meal in downtown. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend this B&B. It was an excellent value, located in a safe area with plenty to do over a weekend.

Room Tip: The Rose Room is quieter than the Gold Room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Charming house. Could not have had a better stay. We spent two nights at Hillard House and plan to return next year. Hillard House just has great charm, which was enhanced by our hosts. The breakfasts they prepared were amazing!
We were given dining places to eat within walking distance. It was very safe to walk at night because of the campus security, but also being a college town, there were plenty of people out and about.
Thank you, Cecelia and Gordy. And..., thank you for having an elevator for luggage! See you next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This Is a fantastic place, being from Virginia we have some nice b&b's,the Hillard House completely suprised us. beautiful house,well kept,clean,organized,and some really great inn keepers.oh and awesome breakfasts.the city of Wilkes-barre is also a very nice,friendly and extremely clean.and The F.M Kirby is a heck of a place to see a show.

Room Tip: Gold room very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Beautiful house, gracious hospitality in a neighborhood chockablock with beautiful homes and historic buildings nearby, to walk off your delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 4 on the third floor, the only room on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This b and b is located in an exquisite house--historic, beautifully kept, spotlessly clean. Very high ceilings throughout, gorgeous antiques, beautiful chandeliers. Everything tasteful and a delight to the eye. It is in downtown Wilkes-Barre--not a major tourist destination, except for the university, but a good way point. The hosts are knowledgeable and helpful, and asked if we had food allergies or preferences. The breakfast--eggs Benedict--was fine. Off street parking. One of the best bed and breakfasts we have visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

In traveling from Upstate NY to Washington, DC, we looked for a place to stop for the night. We found Hillard House, and had a comfortable stay. The inn is in a large house built in 1865. It has a lovely garden and comfortable rooms decorated with antiques. Cecilia and Gordon were great hosts and really knowledgable about local history. Breakfast was delicious. The inn is located within the boundaries of the Wilkes University campus and along the Susquehana River. The only downside (and not much of one) was the location about 10 to 15 minutes off Interstate-81. Gordon's directions in and out were easy to follow and spot on.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife Sandy and I travel to the Wilkes-Barre area rather frequently. The Hillard House provides us with a place where we can settle in, attend to family matters in the area, sleep comfortably, and have a delicious breakfast and pleasant company in the morning. The nearby walking paths along the Susquehanna River provide opportunities for exercise ranging from leisurely to vigorous, and the views are quite wonderful. Simply put, Cecilia and Gordon do a great job. Gordon is also a virtual docent on many aspects of the history and geography of the region should that be of interest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillard House Inn

Address: 58 West River Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillard House Inn, circa 1865, is an elegant B and B located in Downtown Wilkes-Barre PA. Rooms feature queen beds, private baths, cable tv, wifi, fridge,ac.The Duchess Suite has sitting rm w/pullout twin and Bedroom w/queen bed.The bath has 2 vanities,walk-in shower and whirlpool soaker tub.Breakfast served in our formal dining rm.offstreet parking and secure wifi are included in the rates.Close proximity to interstate I81,colleges, Wachovia Arena, Mohegan Sun, Kirby Center. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillard House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.