We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tolteca

La Tolteca
200 Mundy St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
(570) 825-5001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 226 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wilkes-Barre Twp. Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you want authentic Mexican cuisine, go to La Tolteca. The food and service are great, and, if you would think that you are in Cancun! I would definitely recommend coming to this restaurant if you want real Mexican food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place has the best Mexican food I have ever had in the States. You really feel like you are in Mexico while you are enjoying your meal. I would highly recommend it. We have been there many times.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good food & Good Mexican atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We like this place a lot. I think this place is better now then before the fire. The margaritas are not cheep but very delicious. The rest rooms are clean. Alex the mgr. stopped by our table when he was helping out the staff. We're coming back.
Just my two cents.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Conversing with the wait staff was an exercise in futility and our food order suffered the consequences, in addition to being mediocre at best. You would think that ordering a basic combo dinner (two cheese enchiladas, beans and rice, plus one chile relleno) would be a relatively simple task. You would be wrong.
We will not return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawissa, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“travelled a long way with high hopes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

After visiting every mexican restaurant from williamsport to Berwick, we were very disappointed with the caliber of mexican fare local to our home. We decided that, while attending an event at the Arena nearby to try this restaurant as our last hope for a decent mexican meal. it is 55 miles away from our house, but we will be back. The atmosphere was that of an authentic restaurant. It was packed, standing room only, and still only 25 minute wait. Margaritas were good, food was good, prices ok, but it was the best we have had since we moved here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tolteca also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to La Tolteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tolteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.