We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Host Inn All Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Host Inn All Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   860 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702 (Formerly Host Inn and Residential Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Sterling, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Found this hotel on Hotwire for a really good deal so was not expecting much for the price I paid. After we arrived I was pleasantly surprised to find a recently renovated room with separate living room from the bedroom with 2 TV's and a small kitchen. The pool and hot tub were clean and not crowded while we were there. The breakfast was quite extensive for a free continental breakfast. They had a make your own waffle station, breakfast sanwiches you could heat up, and the usual bagels, cereal, juice, and coffee. The staff was very friendly and professional.

The only negative comment would be about the stale cigarette smell. Maybe in the spring they should really try to open the windows and air the place out good. Also, it is a little hidden behind another hotel but if you read this you will know that ahead of time. Overall a great deal!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway have a great view of the mountains in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, General Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for choosing the Host Inn. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again when visiting the Wilkes-Barre area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
27
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to Myrtle Beach in November. The suite we got was very large - more than we needed. The room had a funny scent that I found irritating. The bed was very comfortable - however the pillows were lumpy. The hotel had a sign on Kidder Street where we turned in but then drove around a loop past TGIF and another hotel to find it. The included breakfast was okay. It could use from fresh fruit. We booked through Booking,Com and got $40 off the advertised price.

Room Tip: Book online - I called the hotel and the clerk told me that was how to get the best rate - our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in two rooms on our way back from Niagara, the hotel is tucked around the back of TGI Fridays and the only negative comment I had was parking was a little problematic. We were pleasantly surprise by the comfortable room and the good nights sleep. A nice continental breakfast was offered within the room price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, General Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Since we share the parking with an other property, parking can be an issue but its an area of opportunity. Thank you again for choosing the Host Inn and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Host Inn this past weekend for a birthday getaway trip. Upon pulling into the parking lot and driving by the Quality Inn attached to the TGI Fridays, we were pleasantly surprised to see the Host Inn looked nice! We checked in with no problems and stayed in a King Suite with a jacuzzi and a view overlooking Wilkes Barre. It had a nice kitchenette and a good size sitting area. It had a one bedroom apartment feel to it. Very Nice for a couple just looking to getaway. The only downside to our entire experience was everytime the air conditioning kicked on, a ciggeratte smoke odor entered the room. My boyfriend was very pleased with the breakfast bar they had each morning....big fan of the jimmy dean breakfast sandwiches as every other person that was there in the morning seemed to as well. We were very pleased with our stay and if we are staying in the wilkes barre area, will return to the Host inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, General Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is exactly what we want to hear from all guests. Your feedback is welcomed and we hope you can visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Supposed to be non-smoking, but room had stale smoke odor. Cheap air freshener in halls and room. Old property.
Common areas were dirty--mud was tracked in and remained for a day before it was cleaned up.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your honesty as we continue to improve on areas of opportunity. We strive for excellence & do not want to fall short of our guest expectations. If you have any additional comments or suggestions as to how we can make your next visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. I personally apologize for any issues that occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a King suite while visiting my in-laws. They offered a military discount and the nightly rate was VERY affordable. We were worried it was going to be a dumpy hotel but were pleasantly surprised when we walked in. The room was AMAZING. It came with a full kitchen, oven, fridge, microwave, dishwasher. There was also a couch that folded out into a bed, a desk, small dinning table, tv and chair in the living room/dinning area. The bedroom had a comfortable king size bed and the bathroom. There was only a shower, no bathtub. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was in a great location! My only complaint is that the room smelled like cigarette smoke... which tends to be the case when you stay with a pet. We will definitely be staying here in the future when we visit our family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and glad to hear you had a great stay with us. Our rooms are very spacious and its wonderful to you that you enjoyed what we offered. Thank you again for staying with us as we know there are many options when visiting the Wilkes-Barre area and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights for a recent business trip. The room was great, like having a 1 br apartment, much more space than you would normally get at a hotel suite. The room was very comfortable, only negative is that it had a lingering smell of smoking that was noticeable when first entering. The staff was very friendly. Did not have a chance to check out the pool, but the exercise room was OK. Parking is tight if you get in later at nite. Overall, a great value, room was only $107/nite after the AAA discount from $142.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for choosing the Host Inn. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to strive for excellence. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the smell of smoke as you enter the hotel as that's been correct since. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Host Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Host Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 860 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702 (Formerly Host Inn and Residential Suites)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Host Inn All Suites Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Host Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Host Inn And Residential Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Residential Inn
Host Hotel And Residential

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Host Inn All Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.