We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Competitive Rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Highland Park Boulevard, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Acme, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Location and Competitive Rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I'm in the area occasionally on business, and frequently find the rates here very close to the Hampton Inns in the area. Given the choice, I'll take the Garden Inn every time - better rooms, more business friendly, and a much better breakfast.
This particular hotel's location is surrounded by a large selection of restaurants and has very easy access to the interstate highway. Especially convenient if you're attending an event at the Arena. Friendly, professional staff, and everything you'd expect from the hilton brand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your comments about our hotel! Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to host you while visiting Wilkes-Barre. We do hope you are a HHonors member since you are such a frequent traveler! If you should need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out. Safe travels until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is almost directly off I-81 and is surrounded by several decent restaurants that do take-out. The front desk staff was very friendly the evening I checked in and I found the hotel to be in very good condition. The room was comfortable and spotless, the bathroom was a bit underwhelming in terms of size but otherwise serviceable.

My stay was brief but thoroughly pleasant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for writing about your experience. We want to be the premier location when visiting Wilkes-Barre. We look forward to your return and safe travels unitl we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Hilton Garden is the best hotel in town. They have ashuttle that goes all the way to the airport, which all the rest won't do.From the check in to check out, all the front desk employees were great, they always greeted you with a smile.Rooms were very clean and quite. Close to the mall and there are a bunch of places within walking distance if you don't feel like driving, or just ask the shuttle for a ride, even all the way to the casino. A very accomadating hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks towards the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. We hope you will continue to use us as your home away from home while visiting Wilkes-Barre. If you should need anything in the furtur please do not hesitate to reach out. Safe travels till we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed December 18 and 19. And while the lobby was under renovation (presumably completed now,) the rooms I was given on the 3rd and 4th floor seem to be needing a soft goods upgrade. Decor was slightly dated, rooms did not have the fresh, new feeling, and cleanliness was spotty. First room given had no heat, hence the move. But that was OK since the bathroom was not terribly clean, with some hair and urine around the toilet. Maybe this was an off day. But my impression was that the room product is getting dated and needs some attention. Friendly desk staff. Great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor opposite from the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for wrting us with your experience. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again. Will you please reach out to us so we can make this right. My email is AVPWI_GM@Hilton.com and my phone number is 570-820-8595 ext 2137. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed at this Hilton a few times. The staff is always friendly and courteous. The hotel is conveniently located near the Mohegan sun arena. There are many restaurant options very close and a Japanese steakhouse right next door. The hotel has been a recently renovated. The rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. I found that the USB ports (and outlets) bed side is very convenient to have my cell phone close and always charging.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate your loyalty with our hotel and love that you continue to make this your home away from home. We will always seek feedback from guests like you and appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here overnight with our team. The staff went out of their way to accomodate us and make us feel welcomed as we relaxed after a day of travel. The shuttle to the Mohegan Sun Arena was convenient and prompt. Great breakfast the next day too. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant! Rooms were spacious for a family of (5). Hotel was very neat/clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the comments! We understand there are alot of options for travel and we are glad you chose us! Traveling around with groups can be tough and we know energy runs high after sporting events. We want your team to have a great time so we stock our hotel with family amenities. We have a Wii game console with several games for groups to use. The pool will be open with swim toys and we keep board games on hand should you want to have a family night! It was our pleasure to assist you in your travel arrangements. If you should need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out. We would love to see you again! Safe travels till then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We decided to stay at the Hilton based on that it was right down the street from Mohegan Sun Arena, and it was a great choice. The staff checking in were friendly and very helpful. They let us know there was a courtesy shuttle to the arena and the casino as well. What a nice thing to have and not have to worry about driving! They also gave us vouchers for the casino as well. The room wasn't huge, but it was perfect for my boyfriend and I. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast in bed deal or even the breakfast but it looked good, next time we come down we'll have to try it. We walked over to the arena from the hotel, about a 5 minute walk. There is also a sushi/hibachi restaurant right next to the hotel that was an amazing dinner. There are also several other restaurants, liquor store, Walmart...basically anything you might need within walking distance from the hotel. We have stayed at several other HH honors places but this is the first one we've used towards points and we will definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We love our location and the many places around us. The Mizu Sushi restaurant has a discount if you show your room key, so be sure to take advantage of that when you are back in the area. It is our mission to make your stay memorable and I am glad we were able to provide that service. Please feel free to let us know if we can make your stay even more enjoyable the next time! We look forward to seeing the both of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Address: 242 Highland Park Boulevard, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre hotel. Enjoy the convenient location off Pennsylvania I-81 at Exit 168 in the Township Marketplace, next to the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza, and minutes from Mohegan Mohegan Sun Pocono Downs. This inviting Wilkes Barre hotel boasts an ideal location in the Pennsylvania Pocono Mountains close to industrial parks, skiing, golf, racing and white water rafting. From our oh-so-comfortable Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, to fresh cooked-to-order breakfast, and complimentary high-speed WiFi, our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Wilkes Barre has everything you need for a successful stay. Savor American favorites at the Garden Grill Restaurant & Lounge or grab a quick takeaway snack from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Choose from an array of refrigerated and microwaveable items to prepare with your convenient, in-room microwave. Enjoy all the comforts of home including a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, and complimentary cable channels Host a meeting or event, for up to 80 people, in our flexible meeting space and stay connected in the complimentary business center at our Wilkes Barre hotel. Unwind after a long day with a swim in our heated indoor pool and spa, or work out in the fitness center. See the best of what the Poconos and Montage Mountain have to offer by staying with us during your trip to Wilkes Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Hilton Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes Barre Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing