We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Highland Park Boulevard, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed December 18 and 19. And while the lobby was under renovation (presumably completed now,) the rooms I was given on the 3rd and 4th floor seem to be needing a soft goods upgrade. Decor was slightly dated, rooms did not have the fresh, new feeling, and cleanliness was spotty. First room given had no heat, hence the move. But that was OK since the bathroom was not terribly clean, with some hair and urine around the toilet. Maybe this was an off day. But my impression was that the room product is getting dated and needs some attention. Friendly desk staff. Great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor opposite from the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for wrting us with your experience. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again. Will you please reach out to us so we can make this right. My email is AVPWI_GM@Hilton.com and my phone number is 570-820-8595 ext 2137. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    76
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
85
76
17
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed at this Hilton a few times. The staff is always friendly and courteous. The hotel is conveniently located near the Mohegan sun arena. There are many restaurant options very close and a Japanese steakhouse right next door. The hotel has been a recently renovated. The rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. I found that the USB ports (and outlets) bed side is very convenient to have my cell phone close and always charging.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate your loyalty with our hotel and love that you continue to make this your home away from home. We will always seek feedback from guests like you and appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here overnight with our team. The staff went out of their way to accomodate us and make us feel welcomed as we relaxed after a day of travel. The shuttle to the Mohegan Sun Arena was convenient and prompt. Great breakfast the next day too. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant! Rooms were spacious for a family of (5). Hotel was very neat/clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the comments! We understand there are alot of options for travel and we are glad you chose us! Traveling around with groups can be tough and we know energy runs high after sporting events. We want your team to have a great time so we stock our hotel with family amenities. We have a Wii game console with several games for groups to use. The pool will be open with swim toys and we keep board games on hand should you want to have a family night! It was our pleasure to assist you in your travel arrangements. If you should need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out. We would love to see you again! Safe travels till then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We decided to stay at the Hilton based on that it was right down the street from Mohegan Sun Arena, and it was a great choice. The staff checking in were friendly and very helpful. They let us know there was a courtesy shuttle to the arena and the casino as well. What a nice thing to have and not have to worry about driving! They also gave us vouchers for the casino as well. The room wasn't huge, but it was perfect for my boyfriend and I. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast in bed deal or even the breakfast but it looked good, next time we come down we'll have to try it. We walked over to the arena from the hotel, about a 5 minute walk. There is also a sushi/hibachi restaurant right next to the hotel that was an amazing dinner. There are also several other restaurants, liquor store, Walmart...basically anything you might need within walking distance from the hotel. We have stayed at several other HH honors places but this is the first one we've used towards points and we will definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We love our location and the many places around us. The Mizu Sushi restaurant has a discount if you show your room key, so be sure to take advantage of that when you are back in the area. It is our mission to make your stay memorable and I am glad we were able to provide that service. Please feel free to let us know if we can make your stay even more enjoyable the next time! We look forward to seeing the both of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Right off route 81 but nice and quiet (until the heater kicked on in the room overnight with a loud squeal)
Otherwise room was nice and good price. Found breakfast a bit pricey, but food was satisfactory. Lots of stores and good inexpensive places to eat dinner and drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the feekback, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your thoughts. I am sorry to hear you had an issue with your heating unit in the middle of the night. I would like to look into this matter and fix the unit or replace. Would you please contact me at 570-820-8595 ext 2137. Thank you so much for the comments, we want to make sure each guest has a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montandon, pa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

With a name like Hilton Garden Inn, I was expecting a lot more from our accommodations! It was fairly clean, but the room was small and our sleep number bed was not working properly! The staff was overall very courteous, but for the $50 more we spent per night to stay here versus the Holiday Inn, I thought there at least should have been a complimentary breakfast or larger room! I was also disappointed to be charged for a LOCAL phone call! I have never stayed in a hotel that charged for local phone calls, especially when local restaurants are their only form of room service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! I am sorry you found the accommodations to be less then satisfactory. Our hotel was built with all traditional guestrooms equaling around 300 square feet of living space. This is a similar build among the industry. We do have an option that includes breakfast in our restaurant, we call it our bed & breakfast package.
I am sorry that you had to pay for the local phone call. This is not standard and should not have occurred. The button on your phone should dial directly to the restuarant without charging you. Would you please contact me so I can reverse these charges. I would like to make this right. Thank you again for the feedback, this will allow us to improve. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent Saturday night at this hotel in a King room. The front desk employee was very friendly at check in and our room was as reserved. The room was large and clean with a sofa, desk and chair. This is not a Hilton, Hyatt, or Mariott. It is a no frills, reasonably priced chain.
The hotel has a $10 all you can eat, made to order breakfast that is good and hot. The breakfast staff is top notch. The chef visited all the tables to insure satisfaction with his prepared meals...nice touch. Too bad that our country club at home doesnt bother to make this kind of effort.
Mohegan Sun Casino is minutes away and the hotel has a complimentary shuttle on call.

Room Tip: Use your AAA card for a good discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful compliments! We love feedback that we can improveon, we always appreciate hearing from guests that travel frequently. It is our mission to make this your home away from home. Please feel free to let us know if we can make your stay even more enjoyable the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Address: 242 Highland Park Boulevard, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Hilton Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes Barre Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.