We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of cleanest, nicest hotels I've stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   876 Schechter Drive, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Fairfax VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of cleanest, nicest hotels I've stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed in tons of hotels, from the highest, high end (Waldorf Astoria), Westins, Hiltons, to more moderate Marriotts and Holiday Inns, but I have to say....this Hampton Inn really impressed me. Best of all, it was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at...not a stain, scratch, fingerprint smudge, in sight. The rooms are large and nicely decorated, the staff is super nice, and the free breakfast is a great treat. I always stay at this hotel when I travel to Wilkes Barre for business, and I can always count on its consistent quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    58
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
109
60
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently on business. Large rooms. Very comfortable bedding. Location is great - very close to restaurants, and conveniences like Target, Wal-Mart, etc. Nearby restaurant choices range from amazing independent Italian to drive through fast food. Very close to interstate and to downtown. Hotel is crowded - very full - but yet not noisy. Breakfast very so, so. But coffee is great! No special anything for being Hilton Honors club member though - that sort of surprised me. When I travel to the other properties, I'm always greeted with goody bags or fruit baskets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Typical property in this line. Nice service, clean rooms with basic amenities. We did have an incident with some highly loud neighbors at three in the AM. After talking with front desk staff, and told of their no knock policy even for disturbances, I was furious, but upon contacting the corporate office, my bill was fully refunded. Next time, I'll just call the police for disturbing the peace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff went above and beyond by helping us navigate the area and we were very appreciative! Hotel was extremely clean, cozy, and comfy. Very kid friendly! Thanks for the delicious complimentary breakfast. Will definately stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I like Hampton Inns because they are reliably the same in nearly every location. They offer a good value and are bland but predictable in a good way. This is the second time we have stayed at this property and it is a safe bet. Rooms are clean although sinks and countertops are a bit high for shorter people. Fresh duvets with each guest change and a hot breakfast. Great value. It is located down the street from a sister propert, the Hilton Garden. Both are about the same. NHampton is on a hill further away from the roads and the Garden is walking distance to Walmart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We flew into PHL airport for a Thanksgiving week with family. We arrived in Philly at midnight and still had a ways to drive. We were finally so exhausted and phoned the Hampton Inn at about 3:00 a.m. to find out about room availability, cost, etc. We were quoted a price of $125 and with AARP were told we would get a discount. When we got to the hotel about 15 minutes after our phone call, we were advised that the rate had now gone up to $156.00. What????? In 15 minutes we had that type of price increase? We explained to the hotel clerk that we were only going to be sleeping for a short time because we had an appointment the next morning at 9:30 a.m. in a location about 45 minutes away. Why would the rates go up so quickly? It took quite a bit of time (which we did not appreciate since we were so tired) and we finally got to sleep at 4 a.m. The next morning we were pleased to see that we were only charged the initial rate quoted. We did complain to the manager about our horrible experience at check in. She apologized and explained that this employee we had dealt with tended to get a bit rattled. It was probably the worst welcome we had ever rec'd at any Hilton facility. Otherwise, the rooms were wonderful and clean and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your experience. We always appreciate hearing from our guests especially on areas in need of improvement. We apologize for the poor experience at check in and assure you the employee you dealt with will be undergoing additional service training. We strive to make every guest feel valued and welcome and we are very sorry this was not your impression. Please consider staying with us again so we might show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about should you return to the area in the future.

Thank you,

Jeff Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel for a quick stopover on our way to NYC. I had HHonors points to use and always like to choose a newer property in the area I am visiting. This fit the bill. Very new and clean! Rooms were spacious yet cozy and comfortable. Close enough to the Mohegan Sun casino and convenient to the highway heading east to the city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre

Address: 876 Schechter Drive, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#1 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;