We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Long Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our team stayed at this Fairfield Inn & Suites and we had an excellent experience. Angela (sales) was very helpful with planning our visit and all of the staff went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything that we needed. The hotel is very quiet (no thin walls here) and the rooms are spacious. The free breakfast was very good compared to other hotel free breakfasts (REAL scrambled eggs, thoroughly cooked and awesome blueberry and plain belgian waffles). There was also coffee and tea available all day long. The most important thing was that the entire property was VERY CLEAN!!! It was also a bonus that you get a 10% discount when you eat at the TGIFridays in the front of the hotel.
The only negative that I could possibly give is the signage that leads to this hotel from the road. You have to navigate through the Friday's parking lot.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello,

On behalf of our entire hotel staff at the Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre, we would like to thank you and your team for staying with us while you were in Wilkes-Barre. I know that everyone from our sales department, housekeeping department, front desk, breakfast, and maintenance departments take pride in providing an excellent hotel experience for our guests.

Thank you for also taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of the feedback that we receive from our guests and we share your comments with our staff during our daily meeting. We look forward to having opportunities to serve you in the future and we hope that you will bring your team back to stay with us again if you have events that bring you to our area.

Have a happy and safe summer,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Wilkes-Barre, Pa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
47
6
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton and had a decent stay, so we decided to return.

We booked a room with 2 queen beds but upon arrival we given a king suite. We reminded them that we wanted a room with 2 beds given that we were 3 people. Even though it was only 5pm they insisted nothing else was available and said sorry, which did not solve the problem.

The room had a pull out couch that you could not lay on for 2 minutes without your back hurting. Also, once it was pulled out it was only 6 inches from the wall, which seems to be a fire hazard exasperated by the fact that the sheets were far too large, creating a tripping hazard. The member of our party that slept on the pull out said it was the worst he ever slept on and complained of back pain.

Also, the suite is barely larger than a regular room and has a closet in the middle. The only AC is by the window so given the closet, the people in the bed freeze while the rest of the room is warm.

We went down to the pool and found that one hot tub which was broken when we stayed a year ago was still broken. The towels were thread-bare and needed to be replaced. Other than that the pool area is large and clean.

The addition of waffles at breakfast is nice, but the hotel still runs out of items, this time English muffins and Greek Yogurt. This was the same problem a year ago.

Parking late at night can be tough given the close proximity to other hotels.

Overall the place was clean and the staff friendly, but next time please give us the room we booked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to express your thoughts regarding your recent stay. I would like to assure you that we truly do try to make sure that we honor the room type that was originally reserved. On a very rare occasion, either an in-house guest or group of guests that extend unexpectedly, or an accidental overbooking may cause this to happen. I truly apologize that the room type that you had reserved could not be honored for your stay. Please feel free to contact me the next time that you find yourself coming to our area and I will be happy to make your reservation and extend a complimentary upgrade if the upgrade is available at the time of booking. Also, please be assured that your other concerns are being addressed with the appropriate staff and department heads so that we can improve upon our service to you our valued guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention and we look forward to providing an improved upon experience with your next visit because of it.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Managaer
Fairfield Inn and Suites Wilkes-Barre, Pa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Although this hotel is hidden behind a TGI Fridays and there is no sign along the road the staff is friendly and everything is kept clean. Breakfast was better than the average hotel. The scrambled eggs were actually done and has some seasoning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre, Pa. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us when there are so many options out there. It was really satisfying and encouraging to hear you kind words in the Trip Advisor Review that you took time to complete. We have shared your comments with our staff in our morning meeting and we will continue to work hard to provide you with an excellent hotel experience anytime that you find yourself in our area.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.


Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suties
Wilkes Barre, Pa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We brought a U10 soccer team from Rhode Island to stay here for 2-3 nights for a local tournament and could not have been happier. First, the room rates were excellent, but more importantly, the free breakfast was excellent and a huge help to parents trying to get kids ready in the morning for soccer games and rafting. The kitchen staff could not have been more helpful! They assisted kids and parents with waffles and always made sure there was plenty of sausages, eggs, and ham available to eat. In fact, by the end of our stay, the kitchen staff was on a first name basis with the parents and kids. It really did feel as if we were staying with family. The front desk staff and manager were also very helpful. On one night, we wanted to use the propane BBQs in the yard area (which, technically, belong to the abutting hotel), but the front desk manager happily called the other hotel for us to ask if we could use the grills for a team cookout and even secured cooking utensils from the other hotel for us to use! Cleaning staff were also very friendly when you would see them in the mornings. The swimming pool was a huge hit with the kids, not surprisingly, and while one of the Jacuzzi stops was not operating, there was another one available for use. Plus, while I learned about this too late, the nearby (nearly attached) TGI Fridays will actually deliver to your room! Quite frankly, as coach of the team, I could not have asked for a better place for a team to stay and anticipate that we would certainly stay here again if/when we return to the area for another soccer tournament!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your group's stay with us. We truly enjoyed hosting your team and the parents. It was great to see smiles on the kid's faces when they walked past the front desk or in the breakfast area. We know that staying at a hotel is a big deal for the kids and that the parents are counting on us as well. We were glad that we were able to deliver on all of the things that you mentioned. We truly hope that your team will return next year.

Have a happy and safe summer,


Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Wilkes-Barre, Pa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okatie, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

During the recent business trip Wilkes-Barre, I stayed at the Fairfield Inn and suites in Wilkes-Barre. This is an excellent hotel in the perfect location. Close to the casino, shopping and restaurants. I stay at this hotel every time I visit Wilkes-Barre. The staff is extremely courteous, the rooms are always very clean. The breakfast is delicious, especially since they added the waffles!!! The manager, Mr. Nafus, is always very accommodating, I always ask for a room facing the mountains and away from the elevator, and the staff is always very gracious about my concerns! I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay whether it be business or personal.

Room Tip: I always asked for a king suite facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. It is our pleasure to serve you.

Thank you for choosing us!

Michael Nafus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was at a very late meeting and did nit want to make the 60 mile drive home. I pulled in to the Fairfield and I was pleasantly surprised. The desk was very courteous and friendly. The rom was big, the king bed very comfortable, the television selection was excellent, the room as clean....It is not teh Four Seasons and does not pretend to be. It is a very good hotel with all of the necessary items to make a the stay a good one.

Room Tip: The first floor room was a little noisy from outside sounds although it did not interfere with my ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre. We also truly appreciate that you took time from your busy day to share your thoughts and your experience with us on a Trip Advisor Review.

Our staff truly tries to make sure that our guests have a great stay with friendly and welcoming service. We would love to have the opportunity to serve your lodging needs anytime you find yourself in our area.

Thank you again,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suties
Wilkes-Barre, Pa 18702
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently stayed here for a night on my way home from a wedding. The staff was very courteous and friendly. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little reluctant to stay here. They proved to be wrong. The room was very comfortable and most of all clean. The complimentary breakfast had hot and cold food-- a very nice selection. The staff in the breakfast area made sure everyone was pleased. The front desk staff was very welcoming. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to serve your lodging needs while you were in Wilkes-Barre. It was great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that the staff were friendly and accomodating. We truly do work very hard at trying to deliver a clean and comfortable room along with the service that will make you want to return and see us again.

We hope that you have a happy, enjoyable, and safe summer season and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again whenever you are in the Wilkes-Barre area.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Wilkes-Barre, Pa 18702
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#8 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.