We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Endicott, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I went here over the past weekend. Everyone was very friendly. Breakfast was not high-end but great for being included with the room. King Suite was nice and with the "AAA Hot Deals" listed on the Marriott website it was cheaper than a standard Double Room. Great value for the price of the room. My only complaint was that it was a little hard to find as you had to drive through the TGI Friday's parking lot to get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Our Fairfield Inn and Suites team would like to thank you so much for staying with us recently.
We know that you have many options when choosing a hotel and we are honored that you chose to stay with us. We appreciate the compliments that you extended to our staff and are working hard to make sure that your next stay with us is even better. We are also working on adding additional signage so that our guests will have an easier time getting to us.

Hope to see you again soon!!

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
40
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We traveled in a group of 5, 4 adults one baby. Reserved a suite, but when we checked in they had overbooked and gave our room away. We were given two double rooms, which worked out okay for us but could have been disastrous. The worker at breakfast was sweet and helpful, but options were kind of limited. Great location. Very quiet. We travel to the area a few times a year, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre. I am glad that everything worked out to your satisfaction with the rooms with two double beds. Thank you for the kind words regarding our breakfast attendant. We continue to strive for the best breakfast that we can offer our guests. We will be adding some new items in addition to the new hot items on our menu. Thank you again and we look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Sweet girl at front desk but for price in a hotel off highway not soo good; although; free breakfast!! Hope good and don't not stopping at every bathroom to Maine. Wilkes Barre best place to stop off 81

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us! We accommodate many guests each evening & the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to each at a reasonable price. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations. If you have any additional comments or suggestions as to how we can make your next visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for Wilkes-Barre area businesses, schools, attractions, etc. It's right off the highway, near the Mohegan Sun casino, and close to restaurants with a TGI Fridays right in the parking lot. It is an average Fairfield Inn property with the brand's new decor and furnishings. The rooms are small and tight with 2 beds and half of them overlook the roof of another building.

The two opportunities I witnessed during my stay relate to the cleanliness and the service. Our room had hair in the bathroom, a toothpick on the floor in the bedroom, and leftover items in the refrigerator, which makes me question the thoroughness of the cleaning. I called the property a few times before arrival to inquire about a room block, make a reservation, request room location, and request early check in for a wedding. Most of the times we called, the same unpleasant woman answered who was obviously not happy to be working there. When I told her that we had an upcoming reservation and wanted to make some requests, I would expect her to say something like "We're glad you're coming to visit us. What can I do to help make your stay more enjoyable?" Instead, she simply says "last name" and proceeded to interact with me that way for the whole call, as if she was a robot with no personality and no professionalism. She made it clear that my requests annoyed her and she couldn't help me. Even though I called numerous times and followed her instructions, I still didn't get the room I requested ready for early check in. The room was available and vacant when we arrived, but it just wasn't cleaned and made a priority for a Marriott Rewards member like me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening & the principal goal of our hotel
is to provide dependable satisfactory service. It's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology. Our hotel & myself take great pride in providing excellent guest service. I want you to know that the comments & suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed & that appropriate action has been taken. We want to prevent problems from recurring. Therefore, I'd like you to give us another chance by staying with us again during your next visit to this area.

Please feel free to call me directly to discuss further. (MIchael Nafus 570-208-4455)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scipio Center, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved the king suite with separate tv in sitting area with couch, desk and end table. We ended up getting pizza (Serpico's around the corner - darned good pizza!) and bringing it back to the room and sat on the couch watching tv and eating - felt just like home :) Our room (427) overlooked some type of grassy area with picnic tables and some people were out there talking quite late (past midnight). We probably should have called down to the front desk, but didn't. We could hear them over the AC. Later during the night when they were gone, we ended up opening the windows and the road noise was barely noticeable.

We left before breakfast was served, so can't comment on food. Room and entire hotel was exceptionally clean, even the stairways were spotless (and looked freshly painted).

It is definitely not an easy place to get to, but with my phone's navigation help, we did find it. Enter by TGI Fridays, stay to the right and go around back. You can see the hotel since it's a little taller.

Room Tip: 427 should have been quiet if not for the people outside at the picnic tables talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the compliments & feedback! We appreciate your business & thank you for noticing our efforts. Please feel free to call us anytime during your stay to help with any concern. We do not want you to have any worries. We would be happy to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived early but our room wasn't ready; not sure why I would have expected that since I am a Platinum Premier Marriott member. I stayed here several times and I would say while the staff is friendly, I think this ranks on average with most of the FI's.
There must have been a soccer tournament going on that weekend because of the NY license plates, the hotel was packed and people were laying around the lobby area all day; not very appealing but not the hotel's fault.
Not sure why folks think the hotel is hard to find since you can see it from the road coming down 309 on the hill. Not sure what else they want. It is right next to Applebee's so if you can find that, you should be able to find the hotel.
Unfortunately, there are not a ton of options in this area for hotels. Maybe once the Casino adds their hotel, the choices will open up or maybe some better than average hotels will open up there since it appears to be coming more of a hotspot with the fracking nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to Wilkes-Barre. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here on a recent road trip to the east coast. Unfortunately, we arrived in the middle of horrendous rainstorm in the PA mountains. We had a little trouble figuring out where it was, but finally found the hotel - mainly by accident. Staff was very nice. Room was exceptionally clean. Got a good night's sleep. Very comfy beds.

Room Tip: Make sure you print out good maps to find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for choosing us! It is our goal to make every guests stay with us enjoyable, which is why your feedback is so important. Thank you for being honest about the quality of your stay with us. We have noted your comments & we are working to improve upon specific areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Address: 884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#8 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.