We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much money for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too much money for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Sweet girl at front desk but for price in a hotel off highway not soo good; although; free breakfast!! Hope good and don't not stopping at every bathroom to Maine. Wilkes Barre best place to stop off 81

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us! We accommodate many guests each evening & the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to each at a reasonable price. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations. If you have any additional comments or suggestions as to how we can make your next visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
48
43
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for Wilkes-Barre area businesses, schools, attractions, etc. It's right off the highway, near the Mohegan Sun casino, and close to restaurants with a TGI Fridays right in the parking lot. It is an average Fairfield Inn property with the brand's new decor and furnishings. The rooms are small and tight with 2 beds and half of them overlook the roof of another building.

The two opportunities I witnessed during my stay relate to the cleanliness and the service. Our room had hair in the bathroom, a toothpick on the floor in the bedroom, and leftover items in the refrigerator, which makes me question the thoroughness of the cleaning. I called the property a few times before arrival to inquire about a room block, make a reservation, request room location, and request early check in for a wedding. Most of the times we called, the same unpleasant woman answered who was obviously not happy to be working there. When I told her that we had an upcoming reservation and wanted to make some requests, I would expect her to say something like "We're glad you're coming to visit us. What can I do to help make your stay more enjoyable?" Instead, she simply says "last name" and proceeded to interact with me that way for the whole call, as if she was a robot with no personality and no professionalism. She made it clear that my requests annoyed her and she couldn't help me. Even though I called numerous times and followed her instructions, I still didn't get the room I requested ready for early check in. The room was available and vacant when we arrived, but it just wasn't cleaned and made a priority for a Marriott Rewards member like me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening & the principal goal of our hotel
is to provide dependable satisfactory service. It's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology. Our hotel & myself take great pride in providing excellent guest service. I want you to know that the comments & suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed & that appropriate action has been taken. We want to prevent problems from recurring. Therefore, I'd like you to give us another chance by staying with us again during your next visit to this area.

Please feel free to call me directly to discuss further. (MIchael Nafus 570-208-4455)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved the king suite with separate tv in sitting area with couch, desk and end table. We ended up getting pizza (Serpico's around the corner - darned good pizza!) and bringing it back to the room and sat on the couch watching tv and eating - felt just like home :) Our room (427) overlooked some type of grassy area with picnic tables and some people were out there talking quite late (past midnight). We probably should have called down to the front desk, but didn't. We could hear them over the AC. Later during the night when they were gone, we ended up opening the windows and the road noise was barely noticeable.

We left before breakfast was served, so can't comment on food. Room and entire hotel was exceptionally clean, even the stairways were spotless (and looked freshly painted).

It is definitely not an easy place to get to, but with my phone's navigation help, we did find it. Enter by TGI Fridays, stay to the right and go around back. You can see the hotel since it's a little taller.

Room Tip: 427 should have been quiet if not for the people outside at the picnic tables talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the compliments & feedback! We appreciate your business & thank you for noticing our efforts. Please feel free to call us anytime during your stay to help with any concern. We do not want you to have any worries. We would be happy to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived early but our room wasn't ready; not sure why I would have expected that since I am a Platinum Premier Marriott member. I stayed here several times and I would say while the staff is friendly, I think this ranks on average with most of the FI's.
There must have been a soccer tournament going on that weekend because of the NY license plates, the hotel was packed and people were laying around the lobby area all day; not very appealing but not the hotel's fault.
Not sure why folks think the hotel is hard to find since you can see it from the road coming down 309 on the hill. Not sure what else they want. It is right next to Applebee's so if you can find that, you should be able to find the hotel.
Unfortunately, there are not a ton of options in this area for hotels. Maybe once the Casino adds their hotel, the choices will open up or maybe some better than average hotels will open up there since it appears to be coming more of a hotspot with the fracking nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to Wilkes-Barre. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here on a recent road trip to the east coast. Unfortunately, we arrived in the middle of horrendous rainstorm in the PA mountains. We had a little trouble figuring out where it was, but finally found the hotel - mainly by accident. Staff was very nice. Room was exceptionally clean. Got a good night's sleep. Very comfy beds.

Room Tip: Make sure you print out good maps to find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for choosing us! It is our goal to make every guests stay with us enjoyable, which is why your feedback is so important. Thank you for being honest about the quality of your stay with us. We have noted your comments & we are working to improve upon specific areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night while passing through the area. It is conveniently located less than a mile off I-81 with several dining choices within the immediate area. The lobby is clean and inviting and the rooms are what you would come to expect for a Fairfield Inn, clean and comfortable. This property is also in close proximity to several universities and colleges in the area. My only complaint is the painfully slow internet connection. It was, at times, nearly impossible to get web pages to load in a timely fashion. Internet is definitely something they need to upgrade. All in all I would recommend this property when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the compliments & feedback. We are happy you chose us during your visit to Wilkes-Barre. Please be assured that the internet concerns you have raised have been addressed. We take pride in our hotel and appreciate the feedback to help us correct if needed. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would have to agree with other reviews that the hotel is hard to find. May be if you had better signage somehow off of the main road that could help travelers? When I checked in Espy was very friendly and welcoming. She told me about the property and where breakfast was located in the am. I came back to the hotel later in the evening and I asked Espy about the area and whether or not it was safe to walk to TGIF's? She told me the area was safe, but that I could also walk along a path outside of the hotel and enter thru the other hotel's lobby and I would be right at the restaurant. She also helped me find a carwash place for the morning. I used to work in a large hotel at the front desk and you can tell that Espy really enjoys what she does! My hotel room was ok. I am a very attention to detail person and the room had some scratches and a hole in the wall. Thou these things did not affect the quality of my sleep(which was very good), they just bother me. The restroom was pretty clean. There was some hair near the large light on the ceiling(May be I see these things more because I am tall?), but the shower, sink, and toilet were clean. The older little lady at breakfast was too cute for words! She came out of the back area and said "Where is everyone headed today?" I said "Ohio". She said "Ohio! Well you better get yourself a hot breakfast!" The breakfast had enough of the items that I like to have for breakfast. Janice at check out was very friendly and told me several times to have a safe trip and thanks for staying with us! Overall it was a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. It is appreciated. A hotel is defined by many qualities, but especially the level of service that it provides to it's guests. Our success is measured by our guests satisfaction on our services and facilities. Thank you for notcing our efforts! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.