We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, friendly staff, very clean hotel all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice room, friendly staff, very clean hotel all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved the king suite with separate tv in sitting area with couch, desk and end table. We ended up getting pizza (Serpico's around the corner - darned good pizza!) and bringing it back to the room and sat on the couch watching tv and eating - felt just like home :) Our room (427) overlooked some type of grassy area with picnic tables and some people were out there talking quite late (past midnight). We probably should have called down to the front desk, but didn't. We could hear them over the AC. Later during the night when they were gone, we ended up opening the windows and the road noise was barely noticeable.

We left before breakfast was served, so can't comment on food. Room and entire hotel was exceptionally clean, even the stairways were spotless (and looked freshly painted).

It is definitely not an easy place to get to, but with my phone's navigation help, we did find it. Enter by TGI Fridays, stay to the right and go around back. You can see the hotel since it's a little taller.

Room Tip: 427 should have been quiet if not for the people outside at the picnic tables talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the compliments & feedback! We appreciate your business & thank you for noticing our efforts. Please feel free to call us anytime during your stay to help with any concern. We do not want you to have any worries. We would be happy to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    49
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
42
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived early but our room wasn't ready; not sure why I would have expected that since I am a Platinum Premier Marriott member. I stayed here several times and I would say while the staff is friendly, I think this ranks on average with most of the FI's.
There must have been a soccer tournament going on that weekend because of the NY license plates, the hotel was packed and people were laying around the lobby area all day; not very appealing but not the hotel's fault.
Not sure why folks think the hotel is hard to find since you can see it from the road coming down 309 on the hill. Not sure what else they want. It is right next to Applebee's so if you can find that, you should be able to find the hotel.
Unfortunately, there are not a ton of options in this area for hotels. Maybe once the Casino adds their hotel, the choices will open up or maybe some better than average hotels will open up there since it appears to be coming more of a hotspot with the fracking nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to Wilkes-Barre. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here on a recent road trip to the east coast. Unfortunately, we arrived in the middle of horrendous rainstorm in the PA mountains. We had a little trouble figuring out where it was, but finally found the hotel - mainly by accident. Staff was very nice. Room was exceptionally clean. Got a good night's sleep. Very comfy beds.

Room Tip: Make sure you print out good maps to find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for choosing us! It is our goal to make every guests stay with us enjoyable, which is why your feedback is so important. Thank you for being honest about the quality of your stay with us. We have noted your comments & we are working to improve upon specific areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night while passing through the area. It is conveniently located less than a mile off I-81 with several dining choices within the immediate area. The lobby is clean and inviting and the rooms are what you would come to expect for a Fairfield Inn, clean and comfortable. This property is also in close proximity to several universities and colleges in the area. My only complaint is the painfully slow internet connection. It was, at times, nearly impossible to get web pages to load in a timely fashion. Internet is definitely something they need to upgrade. All in all I would recommend this property when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the compliments & feedback. We are happy you chose us during your visit to Wilkes-Barre. Please be assured that the internet concerns you have raised have been addressed. We take pride in our hotel and appreciate the feedback to help us correct if needed. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would have to agree with other reviews that the hotel is hard to find. May be if you had better signage somehow off of the main road that could help travelers? When I checked in Espy was very friendly and welcoming. She told me about the property and where breakfast was located in the am. I came back to the hotel later in the evening and I asked Espy about the area and whether or not it was safe to walk to TGIF's? She told me the area was safe, but that I could also walk along a path outside of the hotel and enter thru the other hotel's lobby and I would be right at the restaurant. She also helped me find a carwash place for the morning. I used to work in a large hotel at the front desk and you can tell that Espy really enjoys what she does! My hotel room was ok. I am a very attention to detail person and the room had some scratches and a hole in the wall. Thou these things did not affect the quality of my sleep(which was very good), they just bother me. The restroom was pretty clean. There was some hair near the large light on the ceiling(May be I see these things more because I am tall?), but the shower, sink, and toilet were clean. The older little lady at breakfast was too cute for words! She came out of the back area and said "Where is everyone headed today?" I said "Ohio". She said "Ohio! Well you better get yourself a hot breakfast!" The breakfast had enough of the items that I like to have for breakfast. Janice at check out was very friendly and told me several times to have a safe trip and thanks for staying with us! Overall it was a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. It is appreciated. A hotel is defined by many qualities, but especially the level of service that it provides to it's guests. Our success is measured by our guests satisfaction on our services and facilities. Thank you for notcing our efforts! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great, but hidden, location off of PA 309 and I-81 in Wilkes-Barre. There are signs directing you to turn into a driveway, but in front are a TGI Friday's and Quality Inn. You have to turn into the lot and then, way in the back of the lot, is a sign that points you to the the Fairfield Inn.

The staff was warm and friendly, they answered questions and gave directions to nearby shopping. The breakfast was mostly good, but the scrambled eggs left much to be desired (my wife said that it didn't even taste like eggs). Other than that minor issue, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for teh compliments & thank you for staying with us! It is our goal to make every guests stay with us enjoyable, which is why your feedback is so important. Thank you for being honest about the quality of your stay with us. I have noted your comments & we are working to improve upon specific areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray beach, fl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the night at the Fairfield Inn, the gym was nice with televisions on the equipment, very clean. Modern design and clean rooms. They have free internet in the front lobby computers. A wonderful restaurant to try is Cork which is a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments & feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.