We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Anywhere
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night while passing through the area. It is conveniently located less than a mile off I-81 with several dining choices within the immediate area. The lobby is clean and inviting and the rooms are what you would come to expect for a Fairfield Inn, clean and comfortable. This property is also in close proximity to several universities and colleges in the area. My only complaint is the painfully slow internet connection. It was, at times, nearly impossible to get web pages to load in a timely fashion. Internet is definitely something they need to upgrade. All in all I would recommend this property when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the compliments & feedback. We are happy you chose us during your visit to Wilkes-Barre. Please be assured that the internet concerns you have raised have been addressed. We take pride in our hotel and appreciate the feedback to help us correct if needed. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
48
43
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would have to agree with other reviews that the hotel is hard to find. May be if you had better signage somehow off of the main road that could help travelers? When I checked in Espy was very friendly and welcoming. She told me about the property and where breakfast was located in the am. I came back to the hotel later in the evening and I asked Espy about the area and whether or not it was safe to walk to TGIF's? She told me the area was safe, but that I could also walk along a path outside of the hotel and enter thru the other hotel's lobby and I would be right at the restaurant. She also helped me find a carwash place for the morning. I used to work in a large hotel at the front desk and you can tell that Espy really enjoys what she does! My hotel room was ok. I am a very attention to detail person and the room had some scratches and a hole in the wall. Thou these things did not affect the quality of my sleep(which was very good), they just bother me. The restroom was pretty clean. There was some hair near the large light on the ceiling(May be I see these things more because I am tall?), but the shower, sink, and toilet were clean. The older little lady at breakfast was too cute for words! She came out of the back area and said "Where is everyone headed today?" I said "Ohio". She said "Ohio! Well you better get yourself a hot breakfast!" The breakfast had enough of the items that I like to have for breakfast. Janice at check out was very friendly and told me several times to have a safe trip and thanks for staying with us! Overall it was a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. It is appreciated. A hotel is defined by many qualities, but especially the level of service that it provides to it's guests. Our success is measured by our guests satisfaction on our services and facilities. Thank you for notcing our efforts! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great, but hidden, location off of PA 309 and I-81 in Wilkes-Barre. There are signs directing you to turn into a driveway, but in front are a TGI Friday's and Quality Inn. You have to turn into the lot and then, way in the back of the lot, is a sign that points you to the the Fairfield Inn.

The staff was warm and friendly, they answered questions and gave directions to nearby shopping. The breakfast was mostly good, but the scrambled eggs left much to be desired (my wife said that it didn't even taste like eggs). Other than that minor issue, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for teh compliments & thank you for staying with us! It is our goal to make every guests stay with us enjoyable, which is why your feedback is so important. Thank you for being honest about the quality of your stay with us. I have noted your comments & we are working to improve upon specific areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray beach, fl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the night at the Fairfield Inn, the gym was nice with televisions on the equipment, very clean. Modern design and clean rooms. They have free internet in the front lobby computers. A wonderful restaurant to try is Cork which is a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments & feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly. The breakfast could have had a better variety. For my husband and I it wasn't anything to write home about but it was being used by a lot of guests. Very close to Mohegan Sun Casino. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the honest feedback & compliments. We appreciate you staying with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our family has stayed at the Fairfield Inn several times when we visit family in Wilkes-Barre. The rooms are modern, the location is great, and the beds are very comfortable. However, we will not be returning after our last visit. My husband and I were traveling with two small children, and after being out of our room all day - we returned at 10 pm to find that housekeeping had not come and we did not have any clean towels. Additionally, 10 minutes upon checking out of the hotel, I realized I had left my iphone charger in the electrical outlet; I called the hotel to let them know that I would be returning to pick it up. On our way back to the hotel, I received a call from guest services stating that housekeeping had already been in the room and they did not find a charger. Guest services suggested to me that perhaps I had packed the charger in a bag. I informed them I had not, and suggested that perhaps they did not have very honest staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing us during your visit to Wilkes-Barre. I personally apologize for the issues you experienced. We always strive for excellence & we are disappointed we fell short of the positive experience you deserve every time. We appreciate your business & can only hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. I appreciate the honest feedback. Please call me directly to discuss your concerns & I hope to provide a satisfactory resolution. (570-208-4455 Mike Nafus, GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

little details that make the difference. no cookies, hot water at the coffee station after supper no Kleenex in the room, and the pool is not warm enough. The room still very nice and very quiet but you have to take a suite to have a fridge . I prefer the couettes at the Hampton inn and Fairfield should invest in them rather than the 2 sheets over; difficult to get on 81 north

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Wilkes-Barre. We certainly want to satisfy all guests. I personally apologize if we fell short of any of your expectations, please call me personally to discuss these concerns (570-208-4455, Mike Nafus, GM). I have followed up with the departments you mentioned & have taken the opportunity to find better ways to serve our valued guests. I agree that the little things matter the most! Our property will have a fridge & microwave in all rooms by the end of this year. We are upgrading our standard size pillows to queen size pillow by the end of July 2013 as well as a new top sheet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.