We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Fairfield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Lancaster PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Typical Fairfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. I gave it one less star from last time because nothing really stood out. In order to get to the hotel, you need to drive through the parking lot of the neighboring TGIF. When the restaurant is busy, this can be challenging. The room was clean and the staff was nice. Breakfast was the typical fare. The hotel met our needs and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are committed to satisying our guests and providing genuine customer service experience. Your feedback is appreciated and taken seriously. I am pleased to share with you that we are enhancing our breakfast and bedding package. New hot items such as scrambled eggs and sausage will be available as well as more healthy options. New top sheets and queen size pillows will soon upgrade our already comfortable bedding scheme. Also, we will have microfridges and microwaves in all guest rooms. All items should be in effect by July 2013! We are excited to roll out some new changes and show that we value our guests! Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    47
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
40
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adks,NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have enjoyed a Fairfield Inn & Suites in the DC area so opted to try this one in Scranton which is about half-way between my home and grandchildren. It's a little pricey for one person but clean, comfortable and feels safe. I opted to choose food from the Travel Mart rather than go out to eat alone. The manager gave me a tray to carry my food to my room. The second night I stayed I was given a room with microwave and refrigerator which made my decision to dine in again, an easy one. I was surprised to find no lotion in my room but when I mentioned it at the desk, I was given a bottle so asked upon check-in on my return trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing us! We appreciate your comments & look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is a nice facility, but it wasn't as clean as we expect from Marriott hotels. The carpet on our floor looked as though it had not been swept for a day or two and was also ready to be shampooed. The coffee pot in our room had not been cleaned. Rooms facing the highway can expect road noise. The hotel did not offer hot oatmeal at breakfast which is one of the reason we like Fairfield Inns.

The front desk staff and breakfast attendant were very cordial and capable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front parking lot will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your time concerning this matter. We apologize for the issues you experienced. I am sorry we did not speak before you checked-out, but I would be happy to personally handle any of your questions or concerns. Please let me know how I may help (570)208-4455.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Driving from Connecticut to Cleveland on a Friday night this was a good location to stop for the night. It is slightly more $20 than the Fairfield Inn in Scranton. Close to the highway. Enter at the Fridays restaurant and drive to the rear lot to get to the Inn. It is directly across the road from the Veterans Administration Hospital. Here is the serendipity part, noticed when we got off the exit that the Mohegan Sun Casino was nearby. When we checked in I asked how far the casino was from the Inn. The clerk gave my wife and I two $10 slot free play coupons. When we got to the Casino they gave us each another $20 in slot free play. Well worth the extra $20 compared to Scranton. Spent an hour and won enough to pay for the entire room on the Casino!

Room was very clean, king bed, free wifi, nice indoor pool and hot tub, modern though small exercise room, business area has two workstations with printers.
Free Breakfast has a hostess that makes waffles for you. Continental breakfast include jimmy dean sausage sandwiches. Good coffee with flavored and flavored creamers.

We will stay here again on our next driving trip west.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments! Your feedback is appreciated by our staff. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

great servie, ultra clean rooms, and common areas...used shuttle service for dinner...friendly breakfast attendant..all went great! $92 corp. rate....was able to handle large party of 9 rooms with professionalism

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments! We look forward to serving you in the future. Thanks for letting us know that you noticed our efforts, we appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday with a toddler and infant to visit family in the area. A day before our stay, they called to offer us a room upgrade because they noticed in our reservation that we were traveling with an infant and a larger suite room had become available. We were not charged for this upgrade and the room was great. Unlike another review, we were told upon reservation that our room wouldn't be cleaned on Thanksgiving day because they gave cleaning staff time off for the holiday. And good for them. I respect that hard working hotel staff deserve a day off to spend with family. The staff was exceptional. Friendly, helpful, and kind. We hit the breakfast buffet and pool in the morning with the kids and had a great time.

Room Tip: Note on your reservation that you are traveling with young kids; staff will take care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful and kind feedback! We appreciate your business and it is our goal to make sure you are satisfied. Our staff is proud and we are thankful for your comments. We look forward to serving you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
endicott, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What an amazing place to stay! My wife and I stayed for one evening and took advantage of the FREE shuttle to and from the casino. What a great staff! This is why we love Marriotts! Highly recommend if your staying over for a flight out, enjoying the local area or going to the casino.
We will stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments! Please visit us again. We are here to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.