We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the decor; great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
surfinginflorida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Loved the decor; great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel was recently renovated, and it had a fun, young feel. Nice lobby and business area. Within 10 minutes of arriving to the hotel, we were on the free shuttle to the nearby casino. The shuttle was awesome because we could have a great time without having to worry about driving! The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is a little hard to find; our navigation system took us to Toys-r-us, but it was off the road and quiet. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks so much! It is truly rewarding to receive your positive feedback. Our staff is working hard and is eager to serve you in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to express your positive experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
47
6
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
absecon nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Had ants on nighttable. Front desk never apologized but said they would send someone to spray. When I asked if it was taken care of, the girl at the desk said that I had cookies in the room implying the ants were my fault. Two unopened tiny bags of cookies on the desk, not the nighttable, and the ants magically appeared. Manager did not apologize but said he did not condone the attitude of the girl at the desk. Never asked if the problem was taken care of, which it was not, and didn't seem to care. Handled very poorly. Took $20 off my bill. Will never stay here again. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello,

I'm Mike Nafus, General Manager. I want you to know that the concerns of our guests are taken seriously and we follow through to find a satisfactory solution to any concern. I specifically remember personally speaking to you at the front desk. I certainly apologize that you left feeling I did not handle your concerns properly. I accept full responsibility. You asked to speak with a manager. I was there promptly. You stated your concerns and I asked if the problem was resolved. You stated the ants were back in the morning. I apologized again and then I reviewed your bill upon the check out process. You then stated you were unhappy with the front desk associate and I stated I would speak with that employee. I did speak with the employee. I also stated that I do not condone the approach that you experienced with our staff. I saw the $20 credit that was apllied to your final bill and asked if there was anything else I could do. I do realize you did not seem excited with my resolution, but you did not state any further dissatisfaction at that time. I am sorry I failed to see otherwise.

If you would prefer, please feel free to call me directly at (570) 208-4455 ext. 7154
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The only complaint that I have about this place is the old lady who does the breakfast is like Jekyll & Hyde. One minute she's yelling at you to move to get someone else ketchup from the cabinet below while your trying to put a sandwich in the microwave or chewing some little kids butt out to not play with the waffle maker when she wasn't even touching it. Then the next minute she was wishing you a pleasant day. Someone has to get grandma back on her meds. Besides that the hotel was great! Nice clean rooms, located close to everything shops, restuarants & the arena, & nice indoor pool. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments concerning our facilities and location. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services and facilities to all of our guests. We accommodate many guests each evening and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. It's only with your feedback that we can assess the quality of the services and facilities we provide for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsport, tn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On a trip from Montreal to Tennessee we needed to stop for the night. Not wanting to spend a lot for just a place to crash, I picked up one of those coupon books for travelers. Fairfield Inn had an ad, I was surprised and happy to see. Nice to have a little touch of luxury to break up a long road trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. It's only through your eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide. Thank you for your positive comments. We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Fairfield Inn & Suites is close to many attraction and restaurants in Wilkes-Barre. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly, and the room rate is reasonable. We are Marriott Elite members so we expect good hotel quality and this hotel did not disappoint! We would stay there again when in this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise!!! It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our
staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices.

Thanks so much, we look forward to serving you in the future as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Overall this is a pretty good hotel and I would stay there again. The room was nice and had updated decor that was cute. The bed was very comfortable. My room did not have a full length mirror and the lamps on the bedside tables didn't have outlets on them, which I usually prefer my hotels to have. The TV had a nice selection of channels, including many in HD. Chain restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments. We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from all guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we should change and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel is less than 3 years old and is a great spot for anyone visiting the area. We stayed here two years ago and again this week. The rooms are nicely appointed with fast wireless internet in room for free. The lobby etc were tidy with friendly staff. The breakfast was ok with only hot food being microvavable sausage egg cheese typ sandwhiches. There is a Fridays next door for casual meals and relaxation. When visiting WB will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks so much for returning to see us! We will be making some additons to our breakfast over the next couple of months as well. We look forward to your stay & will be ready to serve you on the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#8 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.