We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Bar and Restaurant

Cork Bar and Restaurant
463 Madison St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18705-1713
570-270-3818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 242 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were visiting in Wilkes Barre and looking for a place for dinner. My sister found this place on the Internet, so we decided to try it. We had a delicious meal (2 appetizers and 2 salads) for $30. Everything was expertly prepared and very fresh. The service was outstanding. Plenty of off-street parking. They have a nice outdoor area, but it was too hot for us, so we ate in the bar area. This place is a real find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were spending the night in Wilkes Barre and found this place online. Nice menu, large portions, and terrific clam specials. We didn't realize it was clam night and they had some great deals. The pork special was delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very nice neighborhood restaurant. Hidden in a neighborhood, and very quaint house. Romantic atmosphere, great food, super service.....you can't go wrong with any of the food items.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Spot with a Great Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just celebrated a graduation at Cork and was very impressed with the personal service, attention to detail and large menu selection. our large table received great service and everything from appetizers to dessert was tasty and well prepared. it's a great spot for a celebration like ours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have lived in Plains, PA my whole life and have driven past this location numerous of times. When Cork first opened I would ponder to think of how the food was or it doesn't look to big how can it be a restaurant. Well my wife and I decided to stop there last Saturday. I was quite taken back of the room and bar size downstairs. Also they have a second floor dining area. So for the menu they have a simple single page front and back with entrees and appetizers. To start the meal you get bread and butter, we also chose to get an appetizer. We had the Calamari which was delicious and cooked nice and soft with a lemon aioli sauce. We also got a salad with dill ranch dressing. Main dishes-- My wife had seafood stuffed crepes and myself had a grilled chicken breast topped with spinach, roasted bell pepper, and fresh mozzarella with a balsamic vinegar sauce....Delicious. Would i recommend this place.. YES!!! Will I return?? YES!!!!

Oh and a great wine list!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Cork Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.