We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   880 Kidder St, Route 115 and 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Augusta, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at many Quality Inn properties and this is by far my worst experience. The were gaps all around the door, drink spills on the desk, stains on the comforter, bathroom tub/shower was stained and dirty and the shower mat had a sour smell that was horrible. Ended up leaving the motel and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_WB_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Jason. I have read your review of your experience at the Quality Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre and I am "Dissappointed" as well. There are no valid reasons to give for the condition of the room that you were checked-into. The room you described is not up to our normal standards and I am very sorry that you had this experience. I assure you that this is not typical, as many previously written reviews of the hotel have been quite positive. I would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact me the next time you will be in Wilkes-Barre and let me know if we may have the chance to make a better impression. Thank you for your review. Regards - Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
14
25
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg PA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Attended a Conference at the site. Our check-in was very fine and professional. Room was fine altho overall the establishment needed a little attention -- stair wells, rooms just needed a little attention. But AC worked well, refrig and microwave were supplied, several pillows and curtains arranged so room was dark. Breakfast was standard with some hot foods. Best part was a fantastic woman managing the breakfast room on Sunday morning -- dark-haired and I did not get her name. She also helped with the banquet before. This woman did a great job and was very professional. The little things she did were not overlooked by me. Conference room was very good and lots of good attention by the management. I would definitely recommend it for a small conference sit. The hotel was connected to a TGIFridays. Very good food and very good manager. Handy so we did not have to leave the premises which was at a very busy intersection. It was very hot outside so not having to get in a car and travel down the road was definitely appreciated. No elevators.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back. It requires a walk across the courtyard to get to the breakfast room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_WB_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello.....Thank you for writing your positive review of the Quality Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre!! It's great to read reviews where our Staff is recognized for their efforts. I will be sure to share your review with all members of the Team and we look forward to your return to the hotel. Please feel free to contact me personally to make your upcoming reservations! Thank you again - Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Was looking for a comfortable, clean room for an overnite trip to visit the nearby casino and see a few sites the next day. Was looking to 'rent' a room for the nite, not pay the mortgage!
What I received was convenient, safe location, comfortable bed, clean, roomy-room. A nice breakfast with the biscuits and gravy etc, a nice change. Two waffle machines, and lots of seating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Inn and grounds were tidy and well kept, and the TGIF connected added to the convenience. ie- 'I received good bang for the buck.' Had better luck picking this Quality Inn then we had a the casino!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_WB_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Tom! Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your comments about your stay at the Quality Inn & Suites in Wilkes-Barre. I'm pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay while in town to visit the nearby casino. Though you may not have hit the jackpot there, I hope you will agree that the Hotel is a sure thing! If you did not take advantage of it during this stay, be sure to check out our Play and Stay Package, which includes overnight accomodations and a $50 voucher for use at the Mohegan Sun Casino. It's our most popular package by far! We welcome your return to the Hotel. Thank you again Tom! - Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went to Wilkes-Barrie for the state bowling tournament, from the 1st time I called until we arrive Robin her crew were very helpful, i needed so many rooms on Friday and got them, then about 5days before we were going out, i needed to change some rooms from Saturday to Friday, and Robin said I'll see what i can do cause the bowlers were coming in, I called back on a Wednesday and Robin got me the rooms. We arrived about 2hours early, thinking the rooms would not be ready for us, so we took a chance and walked into the lobby just to check and find out they were ready, to Robin and her crew a great job done to help us out, on the 15 rooms we got, on April 12th & 13th.

Thanks Ed & Donna

Room Tip: did not rate the spa and breakfast didnt use the spa and we go out to eat breakfast, even though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_WB_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello Ed and Donna - Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the hotel, particularly regarding our Staff. Robin does an outstanding job with accommodating our groups, and our front desk and housekeeping staff work hard to handle large groups in an efficient manner. It feels great to have their efforts recognized!! We all look forward to seeing you upon your return to Wilkes-Barre. Thank you again - Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was looking forward to a hot shower, clean room and comfortable bed after a long day of travel. I did not find it here! I only give this hotel 3 stars because it was close to the express way, it was not noisy on our side of the hotel (It is connected to a TGIF and I was worried, as it was a Friday night, about the noise since many people were mingling outside and had been drinking) and breakfast was ok.


The hotel is very dated and in need of remodeling. I feared the bathroom as it looked dirty but it may have just been the aged decor. The shower did not work properly and the water was either scalding or cool. The water did not drain properly either. The linens were thread bare and only 2 were provided for our room which was for 4 guests. The sheets were not clean, which I did not notice until the morning as the room and decor was dark.

I will not stop here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_WB_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Quality Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre. I am sorry that you did not have a very good stay at the hotel. Please accept my apologies. I was at the hotel the entire time during your stay but I cannot recall hearing about your troubles. Though it is after the matter, I will be depositing additional points to your Choice Privileges account, as a way to offset the matters you experienced. If you would like to discuss anything, please contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again. - Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton New Brunswick
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here on our return home from Florida. Easy access off I 81. The hotel is older and has outside access to the rooms. The room was large and had a large flat screen tv. There is a TGI Fridays attached to the hotel which was handy and they supplied an excellent hot breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_WB_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Quality Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre. I am pleased that you had a very stay at the hotel. Please keep us in mind the next time you travel to and from Florida. - Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the Quality Inn because I had an early morning flight. I had a strange feeling so I called to check that the shuttle would be available at 4:30 AM - they told me it would not be. I told them that I would be cancelling the reservation but then they quickly agreed to the shuttle taking me at 4:30 AM to the nearby small airport. When I checked in the night before, I was informed that a shuttle had been ordered for 4:30. After dinner at the attached TGI Fridays (a real plus) on the way back to the room, I was told that the manager would be driving the shuttle but at 5 because now they had other passengers going to the airport. I reminded them that the only reason I was at this hotel was because they agreed to a 4:30 shuttle. They told me that the 5 would be fine. I told them that I fly from this airport many times a year and know that most of their flights leave early because they connect and their manager does not make my flight plans.
Finally, I was told that they would pick me up at 4:30. Then, I was put in a room next to a guest that had been there awhile and was known to have "problems". So the police was at his door at midnight - obviously, staying at the hotel to get some sleep and be close to the airport turned into a ridiculous comedy of errors.
Moral of the story - nice hotel with questionable management skills -

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_WB_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review of the Quality Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre. I apologize about the scheduling matter related to our airport shuttle service. I will look into this matter. The normal shuttle times are from 8am to 11pm daily and we do our best to accomodate special requests. Thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. - Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center

Address: 880 Kidder St, Route 115 and 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania, the Quality Inn & Suites™ Conference Center provides warm and inviting accommodations for business and leisure travelers alike. A number of local points of interest, including the Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs casino and horse racetrack, the Pocono Raceway and Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza are all just minutes from this Wilkes-Barre, PA hotel. Set in the foothills of the Poconos, Wilkes-Barre is rich in history and boasts an abundance of landmarks dating back to colonial America. Outdoor recreation areas are aplenty thanks to the Susquehanna River that provides a natural barrier for this thriving area. Whether you want to explore history or peruse unique cultural offerings, Wilkes-Barre and the surrounding region offer something for everyone. Shopping enthusiasts will enjoy being within walking distance to a variety of retailers and specialty stores. The Crossings Premium Outlets, the Mall at Steamtown and the Amish Market are a short drive away. A number of entertainment venues and restaurants can be found in the vicinity. Hotel amenities include: •Free Hot Breakfast Buffet •Free Wireless High-Speed Internet Access •Free Weekday Newspaper •Free Local Phone Calls •Free Airport Shuttle (based on availability); contact hotel at least 24 hours prior to arrival Guests of the Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center can also enjoy the on-site exercise room and gift shop, and access to a nearby indoor pool and hot tub (contact hotel for hours). Corporate travelers will welcome additional features like the business center that has a computer with Internet access, and copy and fax service. The Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center has three banquet and meeting rooms that are perfect for hosting a variety of events. In addition to standard amenities, all of our well-appointed guest rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with free coffee, curved shower rods, hair dryers, work desks, irons, ironing boards, safes, voice mail and cable television. Select rooms also have sofa sleepers. Non-smoking and connecting rooms can be requested. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premise and valet cleaning service is available. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Ample parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. When you are looking for countless features, a great staff and wonderful location, make the Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center your hotel for inviting accommodations in Wilkes Barre. We have everything you need to make you feel at home and our friendly staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.