We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years' Eve at the Woodlands "resort"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New Years' Eve at the Woodlands "resort"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

I think the name of this establishment is a BIT misleading- it certainly is not my idea of a "resort"..but I suppose in the desolation of Wilkes-Barre,it might be looked upon as a semi-retreat from traffic lights and shopping centers. Decor is out of a 1980's-70's genre. Walls are about as thin as a polyester suit. Rooms are closet sized..therefore your closets are drawer-sized. "Hot" Tub was a "luke-warm" tub instead. "Complimentary" breakfast at on-site restaurant was uncomplimentary because we waited 20 mins to get seated...finally gave up and went to Dunkin Donuts.
On a POSITIVE note: ROOMS WERE SO CLEAN! Bed was comfortable. It was cool that there were clubs you could go to ON-SITE- in other words, not have to worry about driving anywhere. Desk staff was friendly and courteous. Bathrooms were IMMACULATE. If you wanted to, you could always feel included in people's conversations as they walked through the hall- sorry i had to be a bit sarcastic there.
Overall, this is a CLEAN place to stay with some possibily enjoyable amenities, but I think they should change their name,

  • Liked — cleanliness. close to skiing.
  • Disliked — thin walls. cold water. not hot-hot tub.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chia6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
erie, pa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

For an EXTENDED STAY for business, we stayed at the Woodlands in a suite in their TOWERS.
The Woodlands is a charming place that meets many needs. There are tiki patio bars, large dance club, formal restaurant, an ENORMOUS hot tub, great indoor pool, and MANY events weekly.
Complimentary BREAKFAST is what I like to call "made to order" and wonderful. Everytime they cleaned the suite, it smelled like a cedar forest and was always thorough.
I went to the Spa several times. The business was contracted out and so-so. But they will always fit you in.
Fitness area small but all essentials there.
I saw many happy wedding parties. Within the group of us staying there, everyone was very happy. The BED was VERY COMFY. A small brook flowed through the property. There was plenty of parking.
Highly recommended to stay in the suites in the Tower. The AMMENITIES of the pool, sauna, hot tub and fitness center were very GOOD.

  • Liked — Relaxing, Many Ammenities of the pool, hot tub, sauna and bars/food
  • Disliked — Regular rooms weren't as awesome, but still above average
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JewelieRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

My hubby and I stayed for a convention in August 2008. We had room 195......after reviewing all the reviews on Travel Advisor, I called the hotel and requested a room FAR from the night club they have.

Yes..... the club they have in the hotel. I thought this was a silly idea, but the past reviewers are not joking..... it really is there.

It seems like it's the only place popping in town. since there were sooooo many there. And we did see one or two ghetto people walking around drinking and cursing up a storm in the parking lot.

Parking at night..... is UGLY!

Anyway, as far as the room...... please see my pictures. I really liked the room. It was very modern and everything seemed new. It was small but just enough for sleeping over night. Oh yes..... the closet is SMALL. I've never seen such a small closet before (see pictures).

The room was fairly quiet except that a truck drove past and honked and woke us up in the middle of the night. Since the room we stayed in over looked the main road.

THe lot of rooms in our hallway were 180-195. These rooms were quiet. Not club music was heard.

We did walk around and I have no idea how the people in the rooms near the club slept. It was LOUD!

Overall, I would stay there again for the price. They rooms were clean and staff was nice.

  • Liked — location was close to a nice mall and restaurants, cleanliness, modern look
  • Disliked — the club in the hotel...... just the fact that there is one.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lalatina326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Being a well seasoned traveler, and not intentionally choosing Wilkes Barre as a vacation destination, it was the site of a convention I was attending, the preceding reviewsseem a bit harsh. The Woodlands Inn is a large a MULTI-USE property. The comments about the clubs and bars are true. The music was thumping till about 12AM. But that being said, all we had to do was ask the front desk for a room that was away from the club and bar. Wilkes Barre is not known as a "great get-away" location, so DO NOT fall for any marketing tricks... but, but, but, but that being said, the streamside portion of the hotel was great, literally on a stream with ducks. Obviously the stream is not the Snake River in Wyoming and you will not see a great diversity of wildlife taking advantage of the stream. But the stream and the placement of the hotel along its bank is well done and gives it the edge above a typical Days Inn or Red Roof Inn room. The food was good, the room itself was clean and in excellent condition. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. The kids loved the indoor and outdoor pool. Plus the bar is next to the outdoor pool. Order a beer and watch the kids. The front staff was quick and efficient. Yes I know it was not a five star resort but it was a deal and a great value!

  • Liked — The clean rooms, pools and easy access to Wilkes Barre
  • Disliked — The loud music from the the bar and club
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dbmd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

RESORT?! Are you kidding. Resorts are supposed to be relaxing, tranquil and pampering. I left there needing a weekend away. Possibly the worst hotel expereince my family has ever had.

Rude staff, C- accomodations, smoke filled hallways, loud unruly "guests" pouring out in the halls at all hours.

Save yourself the hassle and check out ANY of the other nearby hotels. They may not carry the "resort" title but trust me, they will be so much more accomodating and every bit as resortlike.

  • Liked — Leaving at the end of our stay.
  • Disliked — The whole experience was dreadful.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LeoSac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We requested a room with a streamside view, Queen bed in what they call the tower, when I first made the reservations 5 months in advance. When we arrived and entered our hotel room the room was extremely small, no bath, no cover for the ice bucket and barely had room to walk around the bed with our luggage in the room, And to top this off we had a horrible view of the parking lot. I went downstairs to the front desk and was told they couldn't do anything but would put me in a different room, the next room was just up on a higher floor with the same view of the same parking lot it also had a broken window shade. Again I went down and they again put me in another room which they said would be a better view, the window wasn't broken and the view was the other side of the parking lot! They have one ice machine for the entire "RESORT" it was in the lobby. They had four bars that were crowed with college kids or closed to the rest of us because of a wedding going on which took up three of them. In the morning we had to wait to eat breakfast because the one restaurant they had was reserved for the wedding party. The hotel or "RESORT" if you want to call it that was on a busy highway RTE 315 and in know way shape or form was it "in the woods" as discribed in the brochure or online. We were offered no kind of amenity due to the wrong room they gave us they didn't even say they were sorry. I will never return here or recommend this to anyone. I hope if you read this you take it seriously, I read a bad review and couldn't believe it could be that bad as what the people said ....please believe me it was awful. I was very disappointed at there customer service and feel we should have been offered some type of compensation, free meal, free day in the room something!

  • Liked — When we could eat at the hotel the streamside view at the restaurant
  • Disliked — room size and view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jmgpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding nearby.

Having received our address from the bride & groom, the hotel mailed us a brochure advertising a tranquil, secluded stay surrounded by beautiful nature. The brochure is an absolute and intentional lie. The bars and clubs were thronged by hundreds of loud, drunk, obnoxious, and cheap-looking people until all hours of the night. The hotel located us in the room right next to the bar. The room was shaking from the bass music played at the bars until 2 am. This hotel should never have been built with any guest rooms near these noisy bars. The halls are also filled with smoke from the bars, posing a health hazard for allergic, asthmatic, or other guests with sensitivities.

The hotel is also completely unconcerned with parking for guests. When we returned from the wonderful wedding reception at lovely Newberry Estates, the parking lot was full of the cars of the bar- and club-goers. The parking security tried to be helpful, but there was not much he could do if the hotel was going to completely disregard guests' needs for parking spaces. It seems that a responsible hotel would dedicate spaces for overnight guests, but apparently that is not something the Woodlands is interested in doing.

When we complained at the front desk the next morning, the representative pretty much dismissed our complaints and bragged that the Woodlands has just about the largest liquor license in the entire state.

If the hotel had sent information that honestly represented itself as a huge nightspot, then we could have made a different decision. Certainly there are plenty of people who enjoy this type of scene and that's fine. If the hotel had not sent us any information, then it would have been our responsibility to find the information and make a decision. However, it is completely reprehensible for this hotel to send out information that so entirely misrepresents the nature of the establishment. It amounts to blatant deception.

If you want a hotel where you can actually get some sleep or if you just want to promote honest business practices, then DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank travel95dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilkes-Barre
1.0 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes-Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Village at Pocono
The Village at Pocono
#1 of 1 in Long Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing