We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Property - First Class Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Freeville, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique Property - First Class Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at the Woodlands for our daughter's graduation which was being held at the Mohegan Sun Arena nearby. It was a top notch experience. The hotel was easy to find and the price was very competitive. The staff was outstanding in every respect. We had (2) rooms next to each other with an adjoining balcony. We were on an upper floor and there was a beautiful view of a wooded courtyard. There was no elevator and we had to carry our luggage up 2 flights of stairs but, this wasn't a problem for us. The front desk offered to have our bags brought up for us. The rooms were immaculate and the bed was very comfortable with fluffy down comforters and a choice of pillows. My only complaint was the pedestal sink in the bathroom. It was stylish but, did not allow enough room to lay out toiletries. There was a shelf above the sink for that purpose but it was in the way and you hit your head on it when washing your face. We tried the indoor pool and it was heaven. The hot tub was so big, you could swim in it. There is also a spa on-site. Around every turn in the hotel there was another large window with an outstanding view. It is located in a busy area with many shopping and restaurants choices but, once inside the hotel, you would never know it. It is a serene retreat in the midst of a wooded setting with a natural stream running through it. The breakfast buffet was excellent and extensive. The restaurant is only different levels with vast expanses of glass, all overlooking the water. It is not just a nice place to stay, it is an experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a woodland view - avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Linda L:

Thank you for writing such an extensive review on your latest experience. The word experience is used in our latest slogan. It certainly looks like you had a wonderful "experience". Are you a member of our Choice Privileges rewards program? If not, experience free nights, miles, gift cards and travel rewards. Our SKYYvu deck bar is now open starting at 4:00 pm, dine and drink under the sun and stars. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    144
    55
    31
    38
See reviews for
97
228
28
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stop by this beautifully designed and decorated property when we travel through Wilkes Barre. We are never disappointed with the friendly staff, excellent and clean accommodations, comfortable beds with down duvet comforters, delightful breakfast buffet, and lovely river-side setting amidst the woods. This property rivals those in which we have stayed in England's lake district and in Cusco, Peru, but at a far more reasonable price. The nine-feel pool is refreshing, and guests can warm up and even swim in the huge hot tub. Luxurious!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room near the pool and jacuzzi if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Brandtravelers:

Thank you for writing your review. We're so glad you enjoy yourselves each and every time, consistency is the name of the game, we hope to provide a great stay anytime you're here. Now that the weather has warmed up why not pamper yourselves at the spa. Relax with an outdoor massage or other treatment, perhaps just soaking up the sun at the outdoor pool. Lunch and dinner can also be served outside on one of our decks.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I have been staying at the Woodlands for the last two years. I have stayed on average 20 - 30 times per year. My son attends a local college in Wilkes Barre and plays a sport and I also attend CPE classes that use the Grand Ballroom at the hotel so this is very convenient.
When I was first traveling to the area I tried different hotels in the area until I found The Woodlands. Since my first stay there I have not gone back to any of the others. This hotel is by far the best in the area. The rooms are clean and comfortable, food at the restaurants is excellent, they have an indoor and outdoor pool, fitness club and 17,000 gallon jacuzzi. Outdoor patio deck and bar is nice in the spring and summer and they also have a nightclub which is open on weekends. Also it is close to the casino with complimentary shuttle service.
But in my opinion the best feature is the staff!! The owners are hands on, Rick, Ross & Mitch have always been available and can be seen around the hotel (not sitting behind closed doors). The rest of the staff (and I won't mention names as to not leave anyone out, but they are all great) from the front desk, sales office, restaurant staff, bartenders, shuttle drivers, security, maintainance crew, and housekeeping are all top notch and friendly. With all the hotels in the area my family and I would not have 50 plus stays at The Woodlandds Inn if not completely satisfied!! And we will continue to stay there as our son completes his schooling!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear JeffreyA1:

Thank you for taking the time out of your very busy schedule to write such a nice review about our hotel. It has been our continued pleasure in providing you a comfortable "home away from home". Please let your bakery know that we really appreciate the baked goods. See you on your next trip.

Thanks,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The location is good. Near to the casino. There are many restaurants onsite. The rooms are nice, the bathrooms updated, and the beds are comfy. Our balcony was missing, so our sliding door to the outside was sealed shut.

If you need handicapped access, I would not recommend this hotel. There are no elevators, and it's set up like a bunch of split level houses next to one another, so you are guaranteed to have a set of stairs. If you are staying here and have trouble getting around, request a room where you can get in and out of the building without stairs - there may be some available. Also, there are some rooms with a walk-in shower and others with tubs, so if you need the walk-in shower, be sure to request that. (I know this because we had our grandmother with us on this trip).

There is no soundproofing in the hotel. My room very close to the banquet hall and there was an event that went well into the evening. We were close enough to the banquet hall that you could not only hear but feel the music. Also as the guests filed out to go back to their room, you could hear every word they said through the wall. There may be a better location for a room in the hotel, but we had family staying on the other end of the hotel and they could hear the snoring from the room next to them, so overall the sound proofing isn't good. I wouldn't stay here again because I like a quiet hotel. However, if you are there for a wedding or a bachelorette party, a good nights sleep might not be what you are after.

That said, when someone in our large block of rooms complained to the front desk about the sleep quality due to the noise, their room was refunded, so this hotel obviously cares about customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the banquet hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear hmk24:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we very much appreciate your input. On weekends the hotel does take on a different personality than it would midweek. It tends to be louder with wedding guests or people just looking to have fun. When guests do complain we try to do everything within reason to satisfy all parties. Thank you again for the comments.

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Woodlands on our first night out of a vacation south. Super clean, unique setting and close to the casino. Shuttle bus driver and all the staff are very nice. Price is quite reasonable and the food is good. Our 3rd stay here and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Madrep:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the kind words regarding our staff and cleanliness. Enjoy an outdoor massage or cocktails on our Skyyvu deck bar on your next visit.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great experience with staff and their kindness. Attention to every detail.
Attended an event dinner, where cocktail reception and dinner were excellent.
Enjoyed staying overnight as well...rooms were quite nice and very comfortable.
Looking forward to coming back again soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Rob M:

Thank you for writing your review. We're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during the banquet. Kindness and attention to detail is hopefully what separates us from other local hotels. We get many guests who find our staff to be quite friendly and accommodating. Thank you again for your kind words.

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

What a great hotel nestled between Scranton and Wilkes-Barre. Great location, close to the casino (with a free shuttle too, wow!), nice views from around the property, and lots to do on premises. Friendly staff, great food, and nice location, what more could one ask for?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Tim A:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Are you a golfer? if so, come back and book our golf package, rooms starting at $104.00 per person based on double occupancy, the package includes room, breakfast and golf w/cart. The SKYYVu deck bar is also open. We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.