We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Woodlands Resort is a wonderful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Muncy, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Woodlands Resort is a wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Woodlands Resort is a wonderful place to stay. It is nestled in the woods along a beautiful creek. The service is spectacular! We stay at the Woodlands Resort so often that we know the front desk staff -- Melinda, Emily and Nicole. The Woodlands has the biggest jacuzzi I have ever been in. The food at the Shogun Japanese Restaurant is excellent, so is the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet. This last trip, we didn't even go over to the local Mohegan Sun Casino, which is only a mile or two down the road. The Woodlands has all you need to enjoy a wonderful time right at the resort. The rooms are spacious, clean and upgraded. I highly recommend this resort. Lori Ann Cook & Craig Lloyd

Room Tip: The tower is quiet and lower wings are lively. Very spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Lori Ann:

Thank you for the great review. You can get a job with us as part of our sales staff, this review is a great billboard for the world to see.

We pride ourselves on superior customer service and I am glad to see that these team members went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable. I'll be sure to share your feedback with them and their supervisors.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    148
    56
    31
    38
See reviews for
99
232
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

nice resort, nice accomodations and service. Several restaurants and clubs in the hotel complex. I had my wedding here and it is the best for these events. Good location in the city if out of town guests drive or fly in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Gary:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent stay. Our banquet department does a really nice job with social events and weddings. Most out of town guests are pleasantly surprised by the quality and customer service they receive when attending a function at the Woodlands.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was a beautiful place, and I'd visit the restaurant and bars here again; however, for the price, our room was tiny and not well-kept. Overall, I'd probably not stay here again, but I would definitely visit the hotel's bars and restaurant again.

PROS:
Free parking and coin laundry. The rooms are all equipped with very clean and obviously new K-cup machines. The coffee in the room was surprisingly quite good. Location is great--right near the casino, downtown area, parks, skiing, convention center, shopping, etc. The staff was helpful and welcoming. Our housekeeper was nice and very flexible with our hours. I don't think the room issues were housekeeping ones. There were many specials available at the in-house eateries and bars. The happy hour was fantastic!!

The bars, restaurant and club in the hotel are gorgeous. The layout of each of these is beautiful and incorporates the woodsy area outdoors in its design. Truly beautiful, and worth visiting even if you're not staying at the hotel. Although expensive, the hotel's spa offers many services and is clean, beautiful and well-staffed.

CONS:
I feel our room was possibly unique in that it was so tiny, since it was a corner room and oddly shaped. Nonetheless, it was so small we had to literally step on our luggage to get to the bed. The bed was right next to the door, with the tiny bathroom wedged into the wall next to the bed and the TV mounted in front of the bed. There was no fridge or microwave, and the heating unit was terrible. It was either super hot or super cold, and the air blew hard directly onto the bed, so our skin was super dry during our stay. There was no space to put our stuff in the bathroom. We found stink bugs in the heating unit, and, two weeks later, I found another one in my luggage! I think this is because they hotel is older and it was stink bug season in the area, but it's unacceptable to find bugs in a hotel of this esteem.

The layout of the hotel is odd. There are multiple wings, with no signs to direct you. There was one elevator in our wing, which broke during our stay. There was one ice machine for the 6+ floors, and no signs to let us know where it was (it was an adventure to first find it). I don't like how you have to walk past the hotel rooms to get to the bar/restaurant area--it didn't feel safe, and made the halls noisy during peak club/bar hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant/bar area, and also away from the lobby area (several rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn, Wilkes-Barre, PA
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was visiting friends and decided to stay at the Woodlands during my trip to Wilkes-Barre. I checked in at the front desk and was greeted by a very sweet, accommodating clerk. I unfortunately did not get her name, but she had reddish hair and a wonderful smile. She helped me acclimate myself with the lodge and personally escorted me to the shuttle area. I loved it here and will certainly stay again! At 75 years of age, it is wonderful to find such nice staff and accommodating services.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Kim:

Thank you for the great review. The staff member that helped you was Tara. She does an outstanding job for us day in and day out, she'll be thrilled that you mentioned her in your review. Tell your friends about us and return soon.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkins park, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

we had a great time...the staff was friendly. very accomodating. the weather was bad and we had to work the day of arrival lovely Jessica( at reservations) said we could check in late and checkout at noon. Coast to Coast band had the floor packed the entire set( danced so much i took my heels off). We are plannning our next trip up there.
thank you

Room Tip: Stay when there is an event/concert/hockey game. More fun You can bring children or leave them home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for the review. I am so glad that you took advantage of our nightlife and spent the night dancing your shoes off. We do offer five different nightlife options for your enjoyment. Did you happen to visit any of our restaurants? Crescenzo's Brick Oven Eatery for casual fare or Shogun Japanese Steakhouse for hibachi or sushi.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I decided to stay at the woodlands to relax and enjoy a night off from my duties at work. The front desk lady who had rather large holes in her ears that you can see through was very disrespectful! She didn't smile and welcome us appropriately. She took our credit card and gave us our room key without explaining what time checkout was, what restaurants were in the resort and never said anything about wifi. I don't know what was going on in her life but she needs to find a new job and customer service is not one of them!!! We are the guests and perception is everything!!! Besides her, the rest of the staff was great and it is a nice place to get away for a weekend. The food was great!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I am shocked to read your comments. Although I respect what you have to say, the clerk in mention has been nothing short of terrific and has received rave reviews from other guests. I will be meeting with her in the near future to discuss this matter.

Thank you again for the honest feedback.

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was my 2nd visit to this resort in the past month. The front desk has great customer service skills from check in to check as well as the driver that transfers us to casino.
The room: tower, clean, 2 double beds with nice comfy bedding, coffee keurig and bottled water , no refrigerator. We choose this resort because of the variety of things offered from: Hot tub, pool, spa, entertainment and complimentary transfers to the casino. We ended up back at the resort Executive lounge to listen to the band The Chatter. Great band my daughter that is 21 even enjoyed we are planning a visit back when they are there again...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear DMCPA:

Thank you for writing a review. So glad you enjoyed the resort and the many amenities we provide. You can check our website thewoodlandsresort.com for information on upcoming performers in our Executive Lounge. During your next visit you can try Alexander's in the Woods for a little pampering, the spa menu can also be found on our website.

Please visit us again soon.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.