We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
hartford ct
1 review
“overall very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here to visit with a family member; the rooms were clean and comfortable and the people working in the hotel were always very friendly and helpful. This was true of the front desk staff as well as the cleaning and maintenance staff, everyone had a smile and a helpful attitude.

The location is good as the casino is nearby as well as various shopping centers. There are two restaurants right in the hotel as well and there are various types of bars /lounges depending on the type of atmosphere you're looking for. Overall my experience at this hotel was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We really appreciate the tremendous review. Do you enjoy skiing? The area has five different ski slopes within 35 minutes of our location. Great rates for ski and stay packages available. For other winter time activities visit us at www.thewoodlandsresort.com/what-to-do/local-attractions.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    126
    47
    26
    36
See reviews for
84
202
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband, my toddler and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. At first glance the hotel itself appeared to be decent. The lobby was relatively average for a hotel, the rooms clean and the indoor pool was well kept. BUT (and here's where things started to come undone) come 9pm hotel guests and outsiders alike started to file in for a pre-Halloween party in the nightclub--which is attached to the hotel. At first I thought nothing of it because seeing people walk about in Halloween garb was somewhat entertaining and the atmosphere was fun and energetic. After retiring to our room and getting ready to go to sleep, I noticed tons of people were using the corridor where our room was located to travel to and from the nightclub. The partiers were super loud and, as the night wore on, things got louder and louder. We could hear the night club music thumping as if it was right outside our room (it kind of was) and the partiers kept us up as they stumbled to and from the club. Come 1am I had had enough! Called the front desk where I was informed that upon checking in staff was supposed to forewarn me that our room was in a "noisy" area of the hotel....I am not even sure why a hotel would rent out rooms in a "noisy area"?? No one had told me this upon check-in. Upon my request, they moved us to a room located in a "quieter" section. Here I am, half asleep, sleeping toddler and luggage in hand..trekking to our "quieter" room with my husband at 1am. Just how I want to spend my Saturday night (oh wait...I meant Sunday morning at 1 AM!!!!...my bad). It turns out that their definition of "quieter" meant that instead of listening to nightclub madness, I could hear some sort of electric generator engine all night (I guess that's better than loud drunken banter). The next morning...the hair dryer in our "quiet" room wasn't working. Icing on the cake. If you value sleep and relaxation at any point during your hotel stay, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: "Just no. Seriously. Don't even bother."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Please accept our apologies and thank you for sharing your experience. Unfortunately, we do have rooms that are located near bars and restaurants and have the potential to be noisy. Our staff should have informed you about potential noise.

We hope that you might give us another chance to provide you with great customer service.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The facility is set in and amongst a non-typical variety of trees and shrubbery, along side a stream. The staff was very helpful and inviting. We held an overnight family birthday party there and everyone enjoyed the large jacuzzi and pool and the fine fare of the celebratory dinner. Cleanliness was an excellent feature and all 14 of our party left with smiles on their faces and good memories. This resort seemed not a run of the mill kind of place but had a more distinctive quality that would appeal to those looking for a slightly different and more personalized experience.

Room Tip: Stream-side is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We agree, we are not the typical hotel chain that you normally find along an interstate.

Ascend Hotel Collection™ is a network of one-of-a-kind upscale properties. Each Ascend™ hotel is a unique reflection of the distinct character of its host city. Yet, all offer the same high standards of hospitality and luxurious comfort, with professional staff committed to sharing their insights into the places, moments and things that make each place special. You can count on Ascend Hotel Collection to deliver the true local flavor that you crave.

We hope to see you again shortly.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was a special trip to celebrate a significant birthday and to attend a concert at the Kirby Center. The room was lovely, clean, warm, inviting with a balcony overlooking the stream that flows through the property. We had no complaints about the room; what we had a problem with is the lack of accessibility between the other parts of the hotel. The restaurants are on the far side of the property, which is fine, but on another level that requires climbing many steep stairs and no elevators available. We ended up going outside and walking around the hotel between the parking lots as they had only a gentle slope to the other building. To be honest, I have a problem with stairs and my husband has a heart condition. There were not enough handicapped parking spaces, especially since there was a meeting for the "Blind And Visually Impaired," but even if that were not occurring, there would be a severe lack of spots, especially near the entrance to the rooms. Even the indoor pool had stairs to the facility and the Jacuzzi room had about a 8 to 12 inch drop to the water steps. I did not see anyone with a wheelchair, but the site must be a real hassle to navigate. I realize this is probably an older resort, but even some of our older places here in the Poconos have made better adaptations.

The staff were very nice - no complaints there. Even a rude person who 'joined' us at a very crowded breakfast buffet was effectively ushered away to another table. (The story here is he thought that he would merge in, help himself to the buffet and, I guess, pretend he knew us.) And the shuttle provided to the concert was very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for all of our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights on business and had a very nice room in the tower building. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming and even brought me an in-room fridge upon request and for no charge! I had dinner at the Asian Hibachi restaurant (inside the hotel) both nights, which was excellent. I also took advantage of the substantial workout facility. I was here on business but would like to return for some relaxation in the near future. The property has so many amenities and is a great place to stay whenever you're on the Pocono area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We would love for you to come back for a little rest and relaxation. We have several room packages to choose from, spa package to include massages, manicures and pedicures, romance package to include champagne, wine and chocolate covered strawberries, casino package to include complimentary breakfast, vouchers to the casino and free shuttle back and forth. Book today by either calling 800.762.2222 or clic thewoodlandsresort.com.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Late evening we grabbed a copy of the PA hotel/motel guide at the rest stop. The Woodlands Inn advertisement looked promising. We phoned and took a chance--and are we ever so glad we did! Front desk were ever so helpful and sensitive to hours weary drivers. Te room was a visual delight, comfortable, spacious, etc., undoubtedly the best we encountered on our 20 day vacation. And the next morning the jacuzzi was much needed aqua therapy, followed by a tasty breakfast--included in the package-- with multiple offerings. We seriously considered a 2nd night's stay even though family were awaiting our arrival. We promised ourselves that our next visit to PA would include The Woodlands Inn. Well done, everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the two story side as opposed to the nine story side as my wife has some difficulty wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking a chance on us. We appreciate the positive remarks about your stay with us.
Why don't you and your family stay with us during Thanksgiving. We are offering $99.00 room rates November 24th through the 28th, along with a fantastic Thanksgiving Day buffet priced at $28.95 per adult, $14.95 for children. As part of the Ascend Collection from Choice Hotels we can extend an invitation to our guests to be part of our rewards program Choice Privileges. Book your next stay at thewoodlandsresort.com and start earning reward points.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

One would think from the website that this hotel is in a wilderness area, but it is in fact on a main road, easily accessible. As we drove up, we thought it was a case of bait and switch, but the hotel was as nice as we expected. It just does not look that way from the road! We had a room overlooking the creek, with good wi-fi, good faucets, shower, a comfy sofa. It was quiet and had a good bed with very soft pillows. One complaint was poor lighting, a common problem these days. The staff was very friendly, and there was a free shuttle to the casino a mile down the road (as well as the restaurants there). The included hotel breakfast was about average, but with good pizza and very strong coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad we didn't disappoint you once you entered the building. The grounds and view from our streamside rooms is something to see. You should take a trip back when snow is on the ground and the Laurel Run Stream is frozen over. You would swear you were in Alaska. If you're not already you should join our mailing list as we send out a monthly newsletter with packages and promotions.

We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Wilkes Barre
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.