We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Classy Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Classy Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When my family and i travel south to Pennsylvania to visit relatives, we consistently stop overnight to stay in this delightful and aesthetically pleasing hotel. The large pool and wrap-around, swim-in jacuzzi alone make the stay worth the while! The breakfast buffet is second to none for the price, hospitality, and convenience. The Woodlands is far superior to chain hotels, and a value for the money, especially when the buffet breakfast is complimentary with the stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family, ask for a suite on the main floor. Convenient and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    156
    58
    32
    38
See reviews for
101
252
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cobleskill, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Overall hotel is very nice once you figure out how to get around it's many hallways. Was disappointed not to have a refridgerator in the room. People in my group who paid extra for one had their beverages frozen. Did not use the Spa. Did take advantage of the free shuttle to the casino - remember to tip your driver! Outdoor areas are nicer than most places. Breakfast had standard choices and did not vary much from day to day. Staff was very friendly and helpful!!! Pleased with stay would look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Rooms near meeting/parlor rooms were very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful place to stay. Staff was very friendly, hotel was very, very clean. Service was exceptional. The grounds that surround this hotel are breathtaking. This hotel also offers free shuttle to and from the casino. The outdoor pool is nestled very nicely on the backside of the hotel, with plenty of lounge chairs for everyone to use. We visited one of the bars in the hotel and found it to be absolutely beautiful with a spiral staircase surrounded by very large glass windows from ceiling to floor. A place you would have to experience yourself to understand the high quality of this beautiful hotel. Would very much like to stay there again sometime in the future. You will not find anything wrong during your stay here. Would very highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Room with King size bed was just the perfect size for two. Very comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way through PA during our vacation. We chose this hotel because it looked good and was pet friendly. When we arrived we found the restaurant to be quite good. We all ordered pizza and it was delicious. We tried the indoor pool and it was fairly large and warm. The hot tub was massive and just the right temperature. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked another night the next weekend when we traveled back through town. The next weekend they were two hours late getting us into a room. While we weren't happy about the late check in they did allow us to check out two hours late. We definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side appear to be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words, unfortunately, on your return trip we had a large group checkout and couldn't turn the rooms over quickly enough.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future and getting you into your room as quickly as possible.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the Woodlands Inn this past weekend for an athletic training conference. It was close to the highway, but surprisingly, from within the walls, and even out on the scenic deck, there were hardly any traffic sounds. The staff was very helpful, and nice. There were two very nice restraunts in the hotel, and 3 types of bar areas. The deck overlooks a beautiful stream and mountainside. My room was beautifully lit, and had a comfortable bed, large tv (which I hardly used, because of all the other stuff to experience!), and complimentary keurig coffee machines. Most of the rooms seemed to have some sort of balcony, and outdoor entrance. There were a ton of complimentary drink deals, food deals, and spa deals. The Alexander Spa was a great place to go for some pampering before and after the conference. The last day, although checking out early, I was able to enjoy the pool, and jacuzzi one last time. It definitely made me feel luxurious all weekend long!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, or court yard area. It was lovely to sit out, and meet the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff and the staff members of Alexander's, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Woodland this week on our way to CT. Pleasantly surprised by our whole experience. Close to the expressway but did not hear the traffic, remodeled interior, friendly staff, complimentary drinks, brick oven pizza, and babbling brook outside balcony. What more can you want after ten hours on the road. Great value.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your review. Glad to see you were able to relax after a ten hour drive.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Being from out of town for our daughters wedding in Dallas, we decided to make The Woodlands Inn the place to stay for our wedding guests and us. From the jacuzzi, indoor pool, nightly entertainment, outside bar area to the restaurants, we were so happy with everything. We definitely will be coming back for a sistas weekend. Melinda at the front desk was also so helpful with assisting the guests when the buses came to take them to the wedding reception. The sales department was always willing to update me with the guest list of rooms for our group. So close to shopping for those last minute items needed for the wedding. We reserved a suite with a kitchen and it was so convenient with all the bridesmaids being together and getting ready with the bride.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are quieter but are far from the restaurants and night time entertainment. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with Melinda and the entire staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.