We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great night club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd year we went to The Woodlands for their club. Great atmosphere. DJ was good. They have a 2nd bar downstairs for the older crowd, so there is something for all ages. Plan on going back when we go to the poconos area again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent visit to our nightclub.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope you can stay with us next time your travel plans bring you to the Wilkes-Barre area.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    148
    56
    31
    38
See reviews for
99
232
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First time here - extremely pleased! King suite (with kitchen!) for unbeatable price. Balcony overlooked stream - beautiful and relaxing. Selection of restaurants. We were here for private party - great service. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being a Wilkes-Barre native, I've stayed at this property for many years - most recentkly for a family get together - a surprise birthday party in the Executive Lounge. (A GREAT place for a private party, BTW).

While built in the 1970's but only slightly dated, this resort knows how to treat folks first class all the way: from the friendly front desk staff to the wait staff in the restaurants to the bartender at our private party - every one of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and took care of our every need. Many of our family members ended up staying over because of a bad snowstorm and no one had any complaints. The creekside rooms are awesome. We look forward to our next visit,

For those interested in visiting the nearby casino, the hotel has a free shuttle for guests and the casino is literally "over the hill" - about 1 mile away. We are saving that for our next visit. While the in-house restrauramts were good, (including a pizza parlor for casual dining), there are several excellent restuarnts within a reasonable distance. This is definately our "go-to" place to stay when in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton.

Room Tip: The creekside rooms are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful resort this is! Restaurants on site, beautiful views, and wonderfully comfortable rooms. Great value for our money, and the complimentary breakfast overlooking the creek was beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, because they allow pets. Our dog loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Woodlands is a "Class Act" I have been going there close to 25 years! Always clean, affordable, great restaurants, bar, etc. Great location! We went to the bar for a pizza and a few cocktails, drinks $5. and the brick oven pizza was great.
My wife got a massage at the spa and she said it was great. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: we had 403 a suite at the bottom of the towers, close to parking and the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are celebrating our 45th anniversary this year. Since you've been coming to our property for 25 years we'd love to chat with you as one of our "long-time guests" if you'd be available. Just e-mail marketing@thewoodlandsresort.com and John will give you a call! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ended up staying here because of a party being held on the property. Good thing too, because the weather was AWFUL..snowy, blowy and cold. We lucked into a parking space right out front (hooRAY) The front desk staff was efficient and very nice. I really liked this place. It's kind of old but updated. (LOVE the woodwork, marble and leaded glass around the front desk area!)

Our room was located in The Tower (7th floor on the elevator, but the room number started with 4) The room was small, but very clean and modern. Not any counter space to speak of in the bathroom, but that's not a big deal as the VERY comfortable bed and down comforter more than made up for it. The in room Keurig is a nice touch.

The only thing I wasn't fond of was the elevator noise in the room, and hearing all the hallway conversations from the folks coming & going from the elevator, but again, it wasn't a major issue.

I LOVED the lounge/restaurant area overlooking the creek & woods. `The party was 'down below' and the glass wall afforded us a fabulous view of the great, cold outdoors. The staff was exceptional too. Both for the party and when we had lunch earlier in the day.

We'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time in completing your on-line review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Have a wonderful New Year.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small. The breakfast at hotel is expensive. We needed to upgrade our room so we weren't near the nightclub. The view was awesome.

Room was clean as was hotel. Staff was friendly!
Nice place... Many things to do.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Have a wonderful new year.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.