We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“evacuated for the storm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
edwardsville pa
1 review
“evacuated for the storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

my son and i evacuated to the woodland... for last weeks storm... we cant be without heat due to
health reasons.. we have never stayed at the woodlans in the past.

all of the staff and management went above and beyond to help us through our 4 night stay!!!

carlos and dennis and jeanne and twiggy were great!!
missy and joe too..

thanks so very much.. we loved the hot tub and pool.. thank you..

Room Tip: rooms with no elevators! by front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review with such positive feedback!

I have shared your comments with Carlos, Dennis, Jeanne, Twiggy, Missy and Joe, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    148
    56
    31
    38
See reviews for
99
232
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

While traveling we decided to stop and rest somewhere for the night. We just happened on this place. It turned out to be a really nice place to stay. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We paid a little more to get a stream side room and were glad we did. From our balcony we had a great view of this rushing stream with a gradual falls and white water. Just below our balcony the stream formed a pool with ducks swimming in it. Above, the stream came out of the woods and past the wooded hillside on the bank across from the hotel. The autumn foliage was beautiful! We had a very restful night and a great complimentary breakfast in the morning. We definitely want to come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a very interesting hotel. Rooms are small and ordinary yet have just the right atmosphere and amenities to make this a very nice relaxing and romantic location. This is our third time here and the third time with disappointment with the quality of food and service. Was it bad? No. Was it good? No! Don't need to drive 250 miles or pay $130/nite for mediocre. Great service and good food cost no more than mediocre; it's just a mind set that needs to be implanted from upper management on down. Perhaps the owner should spend time at excellent eateries and then at Woodlands in order to see what is available out there.

Room Tip: Don't eat here! Nice hotel, nice atmosphere, all ruined really quickly when you eat here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at The Woodlands Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your food and beverage experience on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our food and beverage manager Mitchell Kornfeld to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Wilkes Barre, PA.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were just driving by and found this hotel from the coupon listings. It had a clean room and comfortable bed. They did provide casino shuttles if you wanted to go to the casinos; but we were just in need of a room for the night. Was a little hard to find; however the staff was very helpful in directions.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This property is in a lovely location overlooking a mountain stream. The views from the bar/breakfast area and outside deck are magnificent. The hotel staff is extremely courteous and welcoming. We had a gorgeous room in the Tower, 7th floor that looked as if it had just been redone with a comfy bed and linens that were white and crisp---yummy. There is a large indoor pool but its rather dark down there, but the separate room and large jacuzzi area more than makes up for the pool area. This is a large and rambling hotel that feels like it was built in stages and there are many steps to access the first floor rooms. (Yes, I made several wrong turns along the way) We were very glad to be in the Tower which is convenient and has an elevator! Would definitely return to this hotel if we were in the area. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to the Mohegan Sun casino. Great breakfasts!

Room Tip: high up in the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the tower portion of this facility. Very comfortable beds and quiet. Breakfast really beats other hotels as this was more than a waffle machine, juice and cold cereal. There were many choices and the eggs, if chosen, were cooked to order. Great location for other regional activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I traveled with my wife earlier this October to the area from New Jersey to check out the Mohegan Sun casino. We didn't plan on stayng in the area but, we lost track of time we were having so much fun. Not wanting to drive back home I asked a casino employee about hotels in the area. They reccommended this place.
Upon pulling in the parking lot my first impression was not the best. You can definitely tell that the building has been there for quite some time but when I walked in the lobby I was impressed! Very updated compared to facade. My good mood turned a little sour when I approached the desk. The young lady, who's name escapes me was very fake and condescending. High pitched voice that runs right through you. She seemed like she didn't want to take of me, kept looking at the older gentleman to see if he would talk first, he was clearly busy on the computer. Just seemed like I was interrupting whatever she was doing. Made me feel not so special or welcome.
The room was a little on the smaller side but, very comfortable. We slept like rocks! The "courtyard" area is beautiful and well kept. Fall is my wife's favorite season and she couldn't stop taking pictures of the foliage and the stream with the ducks. If I had the owner/gm's email I would definitely send him some pictures to use for his website or broshures.
Breakfast in the morning was a surprise. Normally hotels just put out coffee bagels etc. This was a FULL buffett! Food was amazing, service was even better. The girls were wonderful and cheery. And there are great views from the restaurant too.
Overall, my stay was as pleasant as could be. When I checked out I was happy to not see the same girl that checked me in. The beautiful lady who checked me out, I think her name was Nicole, was just genuinely happy to talk to me, not fake at all. I will be back when I'm in the area again, thank you for a mostly lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.