We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hide away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Wilton, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hide away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This resort has so many great qualities. Lets start with the terrific beds,so comfortable you don't want to get up.Has everything under one roof.Spa, exercise facilities ( large selection of equipment ,restaurants,breakfast available,beautiful view,nature walk.pool extremely large hot tub.Night club,live entertainment .Out side deck

Room Tip: Spend what you like..You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out an online review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    131
    49
    27
    36
See reviews for
91
209
27
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last weekend, for three nights with our grandson who lives nearby. The hotel was nice and the surrounding area with the creek, the trails to hike, and the indoor pool and spa were perfect to spend enjoyable time with our grandson. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and the room was ok. We had three situations with the front desk on the weekend that was disappointing. First I went to purchase tickets to a park in Allentown on Saturday on the computer in the lobby, so I could print the tickets on their printer. It took almost an hour and going to the desk over six times to ask if they had printed, finally getting three of the four pages, I gave up. The person at the front desk replies were they could not understand, nor did they ever go see if I was doing something wrong.did-not seem to care. When we got back to the room on Saturday we noticed the message light was on the phone, when I followed the verbal directions from the phone, I heard the first message was over two weeks old, and it transfer me to the hotel operator/ front desk. I was told we had no messages. When we left the room the light in the phone was still on, as we had a message. As we were leaving the hotel, I mentioned the light and was told they would delete them and the light would be taken care of, it probably is still on. Last on Sunday morning I called at 8:00 A.M. To have the room cleaned while we went out, at 2:30P.M., I found a housekeeper in the next room and asked her to please clean our room as we went out again. Bottom line nice hotel, front desk needs help.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review regarding your recent stay at The Woodlands Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding our customer service at our front desk on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our front office manager to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Wilkes Barre, PA.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

On our recent one-night stay over (for a quick gambling get-away at Mohegan Sun Casino), we were very happy about all this hotel had to offer. The grounds were very rustic as we were hoping for and the furnishings and art work throughout the hotel were definitely unique. The staff we encountered were extremely friendly, room was perfectly adequate. This place appeared to be more upscale (in a nice way) than we expected and was actually much bigger than it looks from the outside when you first pull in. We had dinner at the Creczeno's restaurant which was OK, but much more impressive was the breakfast buffet they put out in the morning. Really good food and many selections. Would definitely recommend this nice place and would stay there again if we are so inclined to be in the area again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the place to be if your stranded in Wilkes-Barre Pennsylvania for a couple of days. It's family owned & the owners son is on site. He was very accomodating. They have an Italian restaurant & a Japanese restaurant on either side of a nice cocktail lounge that overlooks a beautiful creek. There is a huge deck with tiki bar & palm tree overlooking the creek as well. My wife wanted Japanese & I wanted Italian. The owner sat us down near the cocktail bar & had waitresses from both restuarants come out to take our separate orders. Food was wonderful. There are outdoor trails, sunning spots & party facilities in the woods near the creek as well. There is a natural grotto style "hot tub" that makes you think you're in the playboy mansion. It's the size of a small swimming pool. Very romantic place to bring your sweetheart. They have so many other amenities that we never even got to experience. The beds are covered with soft down filled comforters wrapped in a duvet. Wish we had a few more days there. If you like the nightlife, hospitality & nature, this is the only place to go.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to stay "creekside". Each room has a small balcony that overlooks the creek whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stop here every year en route north. Woodlands never disappoints. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean, pools and spa area are fun. We eat at the Japanese restaurant for dinner; breakfast in the cafe. Prices are more than fair. Ambiance is pleasant. We look forward to this every year and 2013 won't be an exception. Thanks to all of the staff.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want to pay-- we like the ones on the inside with the patios where one can read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I visited the Woodlands this past weekend as friends of ours were getting married there. I read wonderful reviews on tripadvisor for the Woodlands and was excited to check it out. The room was clean upon arrival, but it did have a bit of a stale smell. Our room was located on the main floor and had to walk through the hotel to attend the wedding, which was a bit of a hike. The wedding itself was lovely and I believe the facility did a great job for our friends. Unfortunately, there is a dance club in the hotel and having our room on the main floor, was hard to deal with, as the music was extremely loud and we had a lot of drunk, annoying people walking by our room, making a ton of noise. We decided to order a pizza from Crescenzo's room service around midnight and approximately 10 minutes after we received the pizza, I got a call from a very rude man, advising the front desk told him that we had already paid for our room and I would have to give him a credit card to pay for the pizza. My husband and I weren't checking out until Sunday morning so the front desk had my credit card on file. Isn't that what room service is for? You charge the delivery to the room? Well, after arguing repeatedly with me, I told him that he would have to deal with the front desk on this. I honestly didn't appreciate being screamed at for payment for a pizza, that is "room service". It wasn't like we ordered Pizza Hut. Crescenzo's is part of the hotel and considered room service. When we checked out, the charge was over $27.00 for a large pizza which is pretty ridiculous! I doubt my husband and I would make the trip to this facility again, but if we do, we will make sure we aren't on the main floor and definitely not order room service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at The Woodlands Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding our restaurant, specifically roomservice on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our food and beverage director to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Wilkes Barre, PA.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We would like to thank everyone at the Woodlands Inn for their kind hospitality. We stayed there last week on our way home to Ontario. It was a very pleasant surprise to find this gem of a hotel and restaurant at such an excellent price. We got the Stay and Play Casino Package (an excellent value) and from the moment we arrived until we checked out, we were made to feel like valued guests. We'd like to send a special thank you to Amanda who was so very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Crescenzos restaurant had great staff and the pizza was delicious. We will definitely make a point to stay here when traveling that way in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.