We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
lewisburg, pa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Front desk always friendly here, rooms are clean, especially bathrooms, comfortable bedding.
Choice of bars/restaurants, stroll around and check it out. Shopping, arena, casino, everything close by. Worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    138
    55
    31
    37
See reviews for
95
225
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel was a great value and a very friendly staff. Very helpfull for all of your needs.
Clean and a great location to the casino and race track. Hotel has great restaurants
and bar. Food was very good. Nice size king rooms, and very clean. Has indoor and
outdoor pools. Only there for two days, but would stay there again.

Room Tip: Beds were very confortable, on the second floor close to the lobby. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Woodlands for 2 nights while visiting family in the area. The experience was an extremely pleasant one. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The room was very clean; fresh white linens on the bed, spotless bathroom, fresh smelling when you walk in the room, no musty smell or other odors. With the price of the room came a free hot breakfast buffet each morning. It had everything from cereal and yogurt to made to order omelettes, even had do it yourself waffle irons to make your own waffles with various toppings. The hotel has one indoor, one outdoor pool which the kids enjoyed. A few onsite restaurants, the decor is tasteful. Free WiFi. The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to make it a little more handicapped accessible. There were a lot of stairs to get to and from the breakfast buffet and a little difficult for one of my family members to use. Otherwise everything was great, would definitely stay there again and I want to thank the Woodlands staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 100's wing were flooded a few years back, they are newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Woodlands last week, as part of a large group (50 + rooms). Because I was the contact person for the group, Melinda was great to give me an upgrade to a sweet Streamside suite! Streamside rooms all have balconies, which is great, especially if you are there for several days, as I was. The rooms are very clean, and beds are super comfortable!

Just down the road from Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, this was an ideal location for all of our crew. The free shuttle to Mohegan Sun is a great amenity, especially since we had some late nights. An added bonus is the great nightlife scene at the Woodlands itself. The weather was great, and we spent some afternoons/ evenings out on the deck at Havana. The food and drinks were great, and although we were working all week, we all had a blast!

My first visit to the Woodlands was fantastic as well - Evolution nightclub is ALWAYS a good time (I don't even dance).

The fact is, my job will definitely bring me back to the Woodlands, but I definitely look forward to it. Thanks for the great week, and comfortable accommodations!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I live locally but had 10 family members from out of town come for a visit. We were celebrating my mothers 80th Birthday. Having a few special requirments with a large group, we were concerned!!
The staff could not have been more helpful!! Anything we needed or wanted was taken care of immediately. They could not have been better!! Making that many people happy is not an easy task and they went above and beyond.
I have been to many hotels/resorts, and to have nothing bad to say, is amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am very loyal to a major hotel chain, but when my husband and I decided to visit Pocono Downs for an overnight getaway The Woodlands Inn kept showing up on my radar. After checking the place out and reading reviews, I realized how affordable and convenient the resort would be. We booked a room with no special package, and the rate was cheaper than what I had already booked at my other chain. I cancelled my other reservation - and boy am I glad I did. We arrived a bit earlier than check in and our room was not ready, but they allowed me to check in and they said that they would call us when the room was ready for us. We headed to the Havana bar and enjoyed a few drinks outside. It was a great atmosphere and exactly what we were looking for. About 30 minutes later we got a call that our room was ready. We found our room to be spotless and very appealing! We were on the courtyard, so we had a sliding door to a small sitting area with some chairs. We took advantage of the free casino shuttle - which was so convenient! Free breakfast in the morning was a perfect end to our stay. As all the other reviews say... THE STAFF WAS AMAZING! Very friendly and engaging. From the front desk, bartender, shuttle driver and breakfast staff - everyone was wonderful. STAY HERE! It is a perfect and affordable getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We sometimes stay at the woodlands on our way up to our mountain home . The rooms are clean and very nice. We love the outside tiki bar by the water. You get a voucher for a cocktail and breakfast. The only thing we would suggest is to extend the breakfast hours. They finish at 9 : 30 am it should be until 11:00 am and the drink vouchers should be $ 5 per person .

Room Tip: Choose a tower room they are more quiet or a stream side room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your on-line review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.