We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip to Woodlands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Voorhess, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our trip to Woodlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was a wonderful experience, our children gave us this as a Christmas gift and we really enjoyed the hotel the food the outside lounges. I would highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Stream side room give you a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly N, Corporate Sales at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
So glad to hear your enjoyed your stay! The view from the streamside balconies is the best in Northeast PA - can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    138
    55
    31
    36
See reviews for
95
225
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fingerlakes NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wow!! we were impressed!
FIRST let us say that the interior and exterior design and decor of the Woodlands is superb! From the outdoor serene natural setting to the interior museum gallery art pieces that adorn the common areas, halls and even staircases this place is classy and well done. Bravo to the designer!! No "cookie cutter" chain hotel here. Only an independently owned and family operated hotel could do it this uniquely well.
ROOM: Immaculately clean, great amenities such as wireless internet, Keurig coffee makers, bottled water, lovely fancy folded towels, and the most comfy beds with the most comfy linens. great night's rest. The balcony had a view of a peaceful lush green forest. You would never know just a minute down the hall you could be dining at two top restaurants or dancing the night away at either the club "Evolution" or the Executive Lounge's Live bands (Trylogy was great!!)
STAFF: So friendly and accommodating from the front desk, office staff, maintenance, Housekeeping, security and waitstaff all smiles and ready to assist you
GROUNDS: Lovely setting,lives up to its name "Woodlands" like a forest in the city. Spotless and well maintained. Landscaping, pool,parking lots, all clean.
ENTERTAINMENT: So much to do Right ON SITE with the 2 clubs, additional deck bars, 2 Top quality restaurants, Salon Spa, Pools, movie in your room, reading in one of the comfy common areas, or just watching the beautiful stream and the antics of it's resident ducks.
Explored the area, within minutes are a very nice casino/racetrack, the Susquehanna River with the stunning bridge an park, History, mining museums, amusement parks, Shopping, Movies. Live theater etc. We could stay 2 weeks and never be bored.
Congratulations and Thank you to the Farmfeld Family for providing such truly unique experience <3

Room Tip: From our experience in a basic room and speaking to other guests,I do not believe there is a bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly N, Corporate Sales at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! Your kind words are much appreciated by the entire staff. We pride ourselves on being a "unique boutique" style property with much to offer in the way of guest satisfaction. Can't wait to see you again on your next trip to Wilkes-Barre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good non smoking room and were very comfortable. The restaurants were just ok. We ate at both Crecenzos and Shogun. Don't get the pizza at Crecenzos unless you like it undercooked. We tried to send it back to be cooked more but were told that once it
Is cut they can't cook it more and that's the way they make it there. I then had to ask for the pizza back so I had something to eat. The waitress then put an 18% gratuity on the check and we were only a party of 4. Overall the place is comfortable with a great club with live music. I wouldn't recommend staying anywhere near the path of that club as it would get noisy. I would recommend taking the free shuttle to Mohegan Sun to eat lunch or dinner. The staff at this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly N, Corporate Sales at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that you did not have a stellar experience in our dining room. Rest assured, we will be more than happy to prepare our brick oven pizza to your specifications - please try us again on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been staying at this "Resort Quality" hotel since it was a Treadway many years ago.
I also have to say I have stayed at every other hotel and motel in Wilkes-Barre other than the few down by the arena. Ross Kornfeld keeps this property fresh and the reason I mention his name is because he is always on site and will take your compliments and complaints with the goal of complete guest satisfaction. If Ross were teaching hospitality instead of offering it, travellers around the country would having more great hotel experiances......The Woodlands
never stands still. Rooms are always being overhauled, not just refreshed. If not for the "World Class" jacuzzi (Still largest in the northeast) the two pools, the outside deck, two restaurants, and two seperate nightlife venues, I would rate this one of the top ten boutique hotels in the country. There is a wing of banquet rooms that deserve exploring because even if a thousand people are at banquets you would never know it from the quiet, subdued, lobby and professional front desk. The rooms are quiet, luxurious, and spotless. Service is top notch.
Even if you have no reason to visit the "Barre" The Woodlands" is a great weekend getaway.
I just spent a weekend at the "Woodlands" and I can't tell you how relaxed and refreshed I feel.
I can't wait to get back! Maybe next time I'll "Meet You At The Woods". Mark "Dick" Harnes NYC

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at "The Woodlands". Poolside, Streamside, The Tower, all are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly N, Corporate Sales at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Your kind words are much appreciated -can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COOKEVILLE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was a nice hotel and the first time we stayed there. Bed was very comfortable along with the pillows. Only thing we did not care for was the pedestal basin in the bathroom. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Corporate Sales at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property! Your comments have been passed on to management and our owners - please come back and see us the next time you're in the Wilkes-Barre area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Cheers to the entire staff of the Woodlands Inn / Wilkes-Barre, PA. It’s clearly apparent the organizational standards are understood, and welcomed by the entire group of specialists who truly recognize the value of a satisfying customer experience.
Best regards,
Gerald W. Stasik

Room Tip: What you ask for, you will receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Corporate Sales at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Arrived here for a one night stay for a wedding reception. A clean hotel with friendly staff. One of the best hotel bar/s I've been in for awhile. The only thing holding me back from a 5 rating are the shower heads. Brand new sparkling Kohler's that trickled out a little stream of water. Call me picky but I like to be blasted by a fire hose when I travel, not have a bottle of water dumped on my head.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Corporate Sales at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property! We hope to see you again the next time you travel to Wilkes-Barre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.