We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food awesome owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ugly Mug

The Ugly Mug
217 Main St, White Haven, PA 18661-1406
+1 570-443-7684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in White Haven
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Mug is under new management as of September 2013. The new owners are great, they put customer satisfaction first.The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is comfortable.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food awesome owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stopped on our way home to eat. Staff and owner really nice, sandwiches were great and so were the home cut fries. Check it out

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nicest owner I've ever met”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

When I accidentally left a souvenir at the table the owner personally got in his truck and tracked me and my friends down in order to return it and only asked for us to have a nice day in return. Other than that the food took a while to come out, but was very good when it did. Everybody had a great time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What happened between May and June?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were hoping for a good meal based on the reviews about the new management. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. Food took a long time to come out and when it did appear it was mediocre at best. Will not go back

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina D, Owner at The Ugly Mug, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
im sorry your expiernce was un pleasant. however i need more info to check into what happened .as you can see all other reviews are complimentry and this is what i strive for. we always ask if the customers are satisifed and it was not brought to my attention about your discomfort. if you read this please email me at chsfox123@gmail.com and fill me in with more detail. thank you charlie fox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atco, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coming Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went to the Ugly Mug while camping in White Haven for my birthday in April. It had a real local feel while remaining very welcoming to visitors.

If you are looking for some good company, an authentic White Haven experience and excellent drinks, this is the place to go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stopped in the Ugly Mug for lunch over the weekend and had a great meal. The restaurant has been renovated and is warm and inviting. We sat at the bar and talked to Charlie, the owner and his staff, Lauren and Christina. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and the food was fabulous. We had such a good experience that we were actually planning to go back on Sunday, but didn't quite make it. Hats off to Charlie for his unique decorating style and a shout out to Lauren and Christina. Looking forward to getting back there when I'm in the area again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Mug also viewed

White Haven, Luzerne County
White Haven, Luzerne County
 
White Haven, Luzerne County
 

Been to The Ugly Mug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ugly Mug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.