We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than a Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Route 940, HC 1 Box 35, White Haven, PA 18661   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in White Haven
Reading,PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“More Than a Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The outside areas of this place do leave a lot to be desired,but upon opening the door to the room,it was a complete turnaround.
A spacious front lounging area with a sofa,table and TV was coupled with a fridge,stove,microwave, sink and a large dinner table.
The bed was comfy,but the pillows left a lot of the filling elsewhere,TV channel selection was good,breakfast was generic but had enough for everyone,donuts were great and coffee was extremely hot,did not try cereal,or other offerings.Orange juice was good and cold.
Bathroom and shower facilities were well lit,roomy and shower water had great pressure and water was nothing short of hot.
For a quick stopover and the price paid this served it's purpose,no bugs,no musty room odor and a view of deer roaming in the backwoods.Plenty of closet and cabinet space if needed.Close to gas station,food venues if you decide not to cook anything in your room,2 major highways close by.
If your expecting a palace and all the amenities,this will falls short,if you need a quick stop and don't mind the exterior view,it will get you through the evening and morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviwhitehaven, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are currently in process of updating the exterior look of our property.We hope to see you again soon!

Manager
D patel
Econolodge Inn and Suites Whitehaven PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked here after researching locations around Jim Thorpe PA - this one is nowhere near but is a mile or so away from Jack Frost, a major ski resort. The Inn is a couple of miles off of a highway and if you blink you'll miss the sign. The driveway is paved and lined with shrubs but the rest of the parking lot and the office are, for lack of a better word, cruddy. I didn't expect anything after seeing the condition of the exterior but that the room would be in the same run down condition. I was very pleasantly surprised to walk into our tidy mini suite. It seems that they have rennovated the rooms although the exterior - stairs, railings, etc. - were still in dismal condition. We only stayed a night and had their "continental" breakfast next morning and got out quickly. I do have to say that the separate bedroom with a door was nice and that the tv was a flat screen, the room was large, and the bed was cushy. Also, it was very quiet at night. This spot would be ideal for a group or family on a ski weekend and the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviwhitehaven, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are currently in process of updating the exterior look of our property.We hope to see you again soon!

Manager
D Patel
Econolodge Inn and Suites Whitehaven PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

went there for a night because other palce we were at had no heat in the room so we paid again to stay there. the room was not cleaned when we got there but told it would be taken care of so we went to supper and came back the room was done . was a cute place and good price. only thing was the attitude of the manager at first because of saying we are trying to get money back from other palce she said well you saw the room dont be saying you will stay then a couple hrs later want a refund, i said it was not like that at this other palce there was no hear and was told to stay alittle while to see if the heat worked or got warmer she says ok. well didnt like the fact that it weas assum,ed it was our fault for leaving the otehr place when it clearly was not. it was a heating issue now my wife is sick from sitting in the cold room for three hrs waiting to see if room got any warmer. it was all a big misunderstanding noones fault heat ddint work properly im sure it was resolved. the heating issue that is. if ya want a cute apartment looking palce to stay at a good rate this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I had went there last night for a room, it is our anniversary, the little apartment that we stayed in was cozy and warm. I like how it separates everything and it looks like a little apartment. The bed was so soft and comfortable , i had no trouble sleeping. The room had good heat in it, which was great to have since it was so cold outside. will go there again. thank you

Room Tip: If you want to stay where its warm in the winter heres the place to go, we stayed in a top floor pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill County, Pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm rating this as good-very good with only a few minor complaints. I stayed here on a weds nite in early Jan 2013 in order to ski early at Jack Frost the next day. About 4 inches of snow had fallen earlier that week, but the steps leading to the second floor had not been adequately cleaned. I'm OK with some snow, but its an accident waiting to happen. (You don't want to invite trouble as an innkeeper right?). So upon opening the door I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the suite. Somewhat sparse but adequate with a loveseat, TV table/chairs. The kitchenette was clean, as was the bathroom, except for two long hairs in the tub. The bedroom (also with TV) was large and clean as well. The mattress was quite firm. So, the problems - a bad lamp in the bedroom, the metal bulb holding part was almost ready to fall off; the second lamp did not work. The coffee pot was inordinately slow brewing ... I begged it to brew. The thermostat seems to top-out at 72. I'm OK with that. Otherwise I enjoyed my stay and will probably stay again... having reported this to the staff. I hope they pay attention. I'd say it's still a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

After staying 4 nights in choice hotels 2 fer 1 deal and attending a wedding in Hackettstown NJ, we drove a good hour on I-80 to get a start on way home to Mi. And beat the approaching hurricane Sandy.

Made a mistake by booking a smoking room but for free this room was huge, 2
bedrooms and a kitchen. As per one tripadvisor comment, sliding front glass door was unlocked(have feeling this was a no name resort wannabe before Zchoice bought it)

Beds were hard as a rock and not the cleanest bath. But tough to sleep in the smoky smell. Slept maybe 3-4 hrs and hit the road. Passed hundreds of power company trucks headed east for Sandy hurricane.

Parking lot well lit,wooden walk boards to rooms not too strong.wierd place but price was right. Would stay in a non smoking room and worth $50 IMHO for 1 night stay if in area for race or skiing.

Wife said young man at check in was super friendly and a firefighter and was preparing to aid in the on coming hurricane. His 1st day on job. Well done young man and thanks for serving.11 pm check in.

I believe the man mentioned in other posts came at 5 am when we picked up phone to check out and took our key, seemed nice to us.

Went McDonald's a few miles down road for bf.
Would probably try the Comfort inn next to McDonald's and 80 exit next time if had to stay in White Have /Blakeslee area, this econolodge was 5 or 6 miles off the exit but as I said the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went in assuming they were just standard rooms and to our suprise they are actually mini suites , We were inpressed they had a small kitchen plus a small front room with couch TV dining table and chairs .The room also had a decent bathroom and finally a bedroom of nice size . When we asked about the price we were suprised to hear it was $55 plus tax . We found it to be a great value for the money. We were very suprised to see a actual stove , microwave and sink. You could literally stay in the suites for an extended amount of time .We definetley are going to go back...

Room Tip: Dont judge the location by driving by .We almost made the mistake but my wife said lets check it out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviwhitehaven, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We would like to take a moment to personally thank you for your awesome review of the Econolodge Inn and Suite - Whitehaven PA. We look forward to your return visit every time you come in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Econo Hotel White Haven
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel
Econo Lodge White Haven
White Haven Econo Lodge
Address: Route 940, HC 1 Box 35, White Haven, PA 18661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > White Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in White Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Jack Frost, Big Boulder Ski area, Pocono Raceway, White water rafting, Jim Thorpe, Blue, Wine festival, Split Rock, Lake Harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.