We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,"like a little apartment"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Route 940, HC 1 Box 35, White Haven, PA 18661   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in White Haven
Milton, PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice,"like a little apartment"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were looking at some motels in the area to stay in when we come back to that area, seeing which would be the best for us and check out the rates. well i said lets go look at the econolodge ,my hubby was like im sure its going to be like the other rooms a bed , dresser. ya know. wow were we surprised. Lady took us to a room, opened the door and i was floored. It was a tiny apartment, really! I was like so adorable. you walk in and there was a living room, across room was a small dining table and chairs, a kitchen, a bath and a bedroom.. it was so adorable. i was like ok, im afraid to ask the price of it. lady laughed and said its $55 a night. REALLY! thats it!? wow awesome. well needless to say i got the card for the place and when were back in the area we will def stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
12
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend visit in August. This is an older place, but the people running it were very nice. The breakfast was average (cereal, waffles, and packaged pastries).

Due to its lack of a physical address, you won't be able to find the place with your GPS. It is not located in the cluster of hotels right by the I-80/Turnpike interchange. It's actually several miles from there although it is marked. Be sure to take the directions with you before you go. It is about 5 miles from White Haven and Hickory Run State Park, which is much further than I realized.

I was in a suite, which had a kitchenette, couch, dining area, etc. The room was older but clean and well maintained. The electronic door lock died while I was staying there, but the manager was very helpful about getting it fixed. Otherwise, I had no problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviwhitehaven, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are glad to hear you had a great time at out hotel, and I am happy to hear that the staff we friendly and responsive to your needs. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Couple going to the Wine festival at Split Rock Resort which was close by and needed a night to get a few hours sleep. Management there was fine, not really any problems with check-in, or the quoted price we received with the on-line booking. The price was not different at all. Mostly the problem we encountered was with the room. First of all, it was the middle of June, rather warm weather, and there was no air conditioning to be found in the room, either central or window air.
This made for a very uncomfortable night for sleeping, with a very warm room temperature. Secondly this was supposedly a one bedroom suite, with a stove top and a microwave and a small refrigerator. One problem was there was nothing to be found in the suite to use for cooking. No utensils, plates, cups, pots or pans. No dish towels. Also a leaking faucet at the kitchen sink. Found an unopened small bottle of spring water in the refrigerator, which leads you to believe that the room was not thoroughly cleaned. We had purchased a microwave meal at a local grocery store and luckily we had with us some plastic utensils or we would have had to eat our dinner entree with our hands.

The continental breakfast was not too bad for a smaller hotel chain, with quite a few options for people to choose from.

The condition of the room was the deciding factor in the poor rating, otherwise would have been an average rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked a suite at this motel for the Pocono 400 weekend as we wanted a place within decent driving distance from the raceway with a kitchenette to try and save on meals. I took all the bad reviews with a grain of salt - I feel that everyone deserves a fair chance to prove themselves. You know what? We were pleasantly surprised! The customer service at this motel excelled and the place was clean with large suites that were more than adequate for our needs! The owners are very nice people and go out of their way to make your stay a good one! The microwave in our room did not work - we got in late and called the front desk at 10:00 PM to notify them. The owner promptly brought us a replacement! The woman at the front desk upon check in gave us some very good tips on where to shop for groceries and get the best prices! There are many stores within a 20 minute ride - including a Walnart and Shoprite - and there is a beer distributer, Dunkin Donuts and a WAWA within a 5 minute drive. Hot coffee, cereal, bagels, juice and waffles served up at 8:00 AM. There is also a coffee maker in the room and they supply the coffee and condiments. The drive to the racetrack is about 12 minutes if there is no race traffic going into the Raceway. A few tips - bring your own pan if you want to cook and some paper plates and plasticware and you will be all set!! We would definitely recommend and would stay there again!! This is not the Ritz Carlton - so if that's what your after - choose another place! This is a very comfortable, simple, family oriented motel and the owners are trying very hard to make it right for your stay. Give them a chance - we did and we are not sorry - very enjoyable weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

we had 4 rooms on president day weekend while printing the direction read the review skeptical to stay on our visit we found the place different than the review.rooms were huge probably we needed only 2 rooms it is perfect place for families,it is very quiet and clean away from major highway though it looks olds.we enjoyed the hot waffle in the breakfast.we will be certainly back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Let me start by saying my first choice for a hotel was the Holiday Inn Express down the road. Unfortunately the weekend I stayed was the same weekend the Pennsylvania 500 race was being held at the Pocono racetrack. I'm not a NASCAR fan and was not there for it. The Econolodge was the only hotel available at short notice. To be brief, the rooms are very old, they have an unpleasant smell, and they are dirty. This is the kind of motel that you would see in a Quentan Tarantino film in the middle of the desert. At check in, I noticed a pile of dirty towels on top of the breakfast tables that guests would use the next morning. I didn't check out the breakfast because I couldn't wait to check out. While the staff were awfully nice people, the hotel is awful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

We arrived here late one evening looking for a room for 4people as we were headed to pocono raceway early the next morning and couldn't find any hotels with vacancies. We were given a "suite" which was very outdated but as we simply needed a place to crash the decor was the least of our concerns. After unpacking and settling in we noticed the bed sheets looked unclean and determined we would probably have to sleep on top of the comforter. While watching tv, we noticed a bug crawling on the wall. Being surrounded by woods we figured it was a mosquito or tiny spider. Well after turning on the lights we realized it was none of the above. Our room was infested with roaches! The most disgusting of all insects!!! After searching the room further, we killed a total of 4 and decided that was it! We packed out bags, brought a killed roach to the front desk and explained we wouldn't be staying there!!! The lady at the front desk was very apologetic and gave us our money right back but I will never go back there again!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: Route 940, HC 1 Box 35, White Haven, PA 18661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > White Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in White Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Jack Frost, Big Boulder Ski area, Pocono Raceway, White water rafting, Jim Thorpe, Blue, Wine festival, Split Rock, Lake Harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel White Haven
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Lodge White Haven
White Haven Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.