We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 VIP Drive, Wexford, PA 15090 (Formerly America's Best Inn Pittsburgh / Wexford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wexford
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Great Price, Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Got lost on the way to the motel (my fault) and was pleasantly directed by phone by the woman at registration. Once we arrived we were delighted by the clean, quiet room and surrounding amenities--(easy entry, laundry, fitness room). The rate was 75 per night during Memorial Day weekend. The location is just off the interstate and close to Pittsburgh. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was an America's Best property that changed about 1 1/2 yrs. ago. Excellent access to 3 interstate highways, 15 minutes to downtown pittsburgh. Comfortable modern rooms, just not a luxury hotel. basic complimentary breakfast. Rate was $72 per night. Oddly, every time I have stayed there my car alarm fob doesn't work very well ( could be that huge cell tower at the edge of the parking lot) but it has caused me great frustration and worry - can i get into my car and will the alarm ever shut off? This is what will stop me from staying again...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg pa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have stayed in this motel many times over the past two years. We saw it go from an America's Best Value to an Econolodge. Each visit saw more improvements to the physical appearance of the building and lobby. Unfortunately the customer service has declined. On a recent visit we asked to check in at 2 pm. The desk clerk absolutely refused saying we had to wait until 3pm. Unfortunately his explanation as to why the rigidity was not understandable to me. The parking lot was pretty much empty and he admitted that the room was clean. I didn't even want to go to the room, just get my key and take care of checking in.
The prices have continued to go up and the amenties are pretty basic. No coffee maker in the room. No night light. Toilet handle had to be jiggled whenever we used it. Recliner in the room was in poor condition. Guest card left us outside and walking around the building to get back into our room.
We'll look elsewhere next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Arrived late to this motel....almost at midnight with my son (it was too late to show up at my parents home). I have never stayed at an Econo Lodge before and was not expecting much.

I did note there is a small sign that indicates the office location but you have to enter a door in order to see the actual office. It could be challenging for some. Check in was easy. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean the corridors were, the room was clean with new beds, linens, bathrooms...fridge, microwave...quite comfortable. Office personnel were friendly. We elected to walk down the hill to breakfast at Kings. On the outside, things were not as fresh in appearance due to the fact they are refurbishing the motel. The only bad thing I had to say is I do not like to see cigarette butts on the ground near entryways...there were far too many but I somehow think this may be related to contractors who were working on the property.

As others have indicated, Soergel's Orchard is a great place to visit down the hill from the motel!!!! Great produce, Amish furniture, etc.

I would stay here again short term but not for longer than one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed one night with 2 kids. Room was clean and decent, including fridge, micro and TV. Breakfast was good and my kids loved it: there were waffles, donuts, cereal, freah fruit and more.
However, the place is still under renovations:the corridors and outside are messy; Arriving after dark, it was hard to find the entrance, since there are many doors and no one bothered to put a sign. the breakfast area is too small and our airconditioner did not work.
The staff was polite.
For 90 dollars I expect more. for 50 dollars I would think it's good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

A new owner and new brand can make all the difference. Very nice room, nice furniture and bedding. New granite bathroom counters and large sink. New carpet in halls. Great value. Above the cut for an Econo.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg pa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Any of the reviews prior to April 2011 were for the property run by America's Best Inn. It became an Econolodge the end of March. We stayed the end of April and noticed a big improvement. New owner is really working on cleaning the place up. Very hospitable and clean now. The desk staff is very helpful and conscientious. Amenities are getting an upgrade. I stayed again in June 2011 and had a different room, still nice and clean and all items in the room worked.

Just down the hill is a great unique grocery store(by the gas pumps) and Soergel's is still across the street and worth a visit--farmer's market, nursery, florist, wine and gift shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 107 VIP Drive, Wexford, PA 15090 (Formerly America's Best Inn Pittsburgh / Wexford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wexford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Wexford
Best Inn Wexford
Wexford Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.