We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Reading to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Reading
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 South 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Reading
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit expensive hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Suites are about 20-25 sq.meters equipped with a small kitchen w/refregirator, bathroom and work area. There's no daily cleaning!!! Housekeeping only once a week. You may exchange your towels and linien at the reception but you have to do it yourself.
There's no breakfast offered, only free coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Your feedback is always welcome. Comments from our valued guests help us in improving our services and room accommodations to ensure that you will enjoy your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding housekeeping wherein you also have to change towels at front desk. We are continually pursuing our best to ensure that your stay will be most convenient and relaxing. We will consider the comments you made regarding housekeeping and breakfast and hope to please you with the upgrades we made in your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
14
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix, USVI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Candlewood Suites in West Reading is a great option if you want a very reasonably priced option with self catering. It is very clean and comfortable and the staff go out of their way to be accommodating. The king or queen rooms have a separate bedroom, living room and kitchen with a full sized refrigerator. Excellent option if you are travelling with a youth sports team as we were.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel with your youth sports team. Your feedback is very important to us in our vision to continually provide the best service to each of our valued guests. We are pleased to know that you appreciate the rooms you have stayed in with your team. Our friendly staff will be always willing to serve you even more on your next team trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice hotel, very clean and well-kept, staff very friendly and helpful. Makes a real difference when the staff is so welcoming, Nice to have a kitchen with all the necessities for two! The rate was excellent for all you got. A little hard to find, but your GPS will get you there. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are much honored to receive such positive comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your wonderful review is a great motivation for our staff to even persevere in doing their best to satisfy you each time you visit us. We are pleased to know that you are very delighted with the cleanliness and kitchen included in your room accommodation. We are certainly looking forward for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was afraid at first to stay at this hotel because it only had two stars but I read the reviews and took a chance. the price was good for a holiday weekend, very clean and comfortable and roomy. I think that this hotel received low stars because it does not have any place to eat in the hotel but food was far from the hotel. i also like the washers and dryer. Stayed Aug 31- Sept. 2

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for giving our Hotel a chance. We know you have many choices when it comes to accommodations. Our Hotel and staff take pride in providing not only great amenities and facilities, but providing both at an excellent value. We make cleanliness and comfort a top priority, and are so glad that you were able to enjoy that. We look forward to your next stay at our Candlewood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here recently in July and Aug for 14 days. My check-in was great with Ivan....he really deserves a raise and promotion! He really knew how to treat a customer and make them feel welcome. I changed rooms three times while there due to that I kept extending my reservation. So I ended up in various room lay-outs 2 beds, 1 bed and 1 bedroom and all were very clean and nicely furnished. The rates were good and stayed consistent which was very nice. I bought quite a few things from the market while I was there they had a good selection and most things were decently priced. While there we ended up meeting quite a few of the staff members and they were all very friendly and very willing to do whatever needed to be done to make me happy. I highly recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
It is such a compliment to hear such a raving review about our Hotel and staff. We take care in selecting the right staff members to ensure that all guests receive the high level of customer service that you experienced with Ivan. Guest experience is always top of mind at our Hotel, so rest assured that on any future trip you will continue to experience the wonderful service and amenities you had with us during your stay this month. We look forward to serving you again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint clet
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband heard of this hotel through one of his company salesmen. The value of the studio suite was excellent. Well located for me to walk to the outlet mall and shops on Penn avenue. While hubby took care of business. We enjoyed being able to cook our meals though we did order pizza from Giorgio's up the street. I also had a wonderful egg muffin breakfast at bold cafe. What a lovely cozy place to relax. The Reading museum is just up the street within walking distance and sounds very good....plan to go next time. There is a great Italian grocer called Russo's on bern.
The staff was at all times helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Ann, we are delighted to hear about your experience at our Hotel. Being referred by a previous guest is a wonderful compliment in itself, but hearing how thoroughly you enjoyed your stay means so much. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy all of the great shops and stores close to us. We appreciate your business and for taking the time to share with us and other future guests about your visit. Please do make it back soon, we look forward to serving you again and hearing about your future visit to the Reading Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was not our first hotel choice, but Im so glad the first reservation we had at a place in East Reading at another hotel fell thru. Ivan was fantastic, and helped us out of the Jam we found ourselves in,not having a place to stay! He helped us quickly find a room and determined what we needed and set us up in the best room! The room was very clean, well maintained. It was larger than what we were expecting and it worked well for our family of 4. He also gave us a coupon for the bar & grill next door (Brewers). all the staff were very helpful and informative. Really enjoyed this hotel and will look for this chain when we travel in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are really happy to be of great help and assistance when you had to change your hotel due to unexpected incident. Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us, also for appreciating the most comforting and relaxing room we had for your family. Travelling with family should be spend without worrying much about where to stay and what to have. It has been a pleasure to give your family the best service you truly deserve. Our warm and helpful staff will be delighted to know that they were able to assist you according during your stay. Please let us know of your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Reading

Address: 55 South 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Reading
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Reading 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. The Candlewood Suites, Reading, PA is designed with your travel needs in mind. Just minutes from downtown Reading and many local businesses such as Reading Hospital & Medical Center, Alvernia and Albright Colleges, we offer the amenities that make you feel at home. Our hotel features fully equipped suites with kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at VF Outlet Village, Sovereign Center, and Goggleworks Center for the Arts just a short drive away. Stroll down Penn Avenue and experience the many unique shops and restaurants in West Reading. When it's time to get connected we know what you need free high speed Internet, cable, sports, and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Reading, PA we know what you need. The Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Reading Hotel West Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.