We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3060 Spangler Rd, West Middlesex, PA 16159   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in West Middlesex
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is out third time at this inn and we will stop again. Place is immaculate. They have food in the evenings and a happy hour where mixed drinks or beer is $.25 each, yes twenty-five cents. My husband had a very nice martini. The breakfast was excellent. Wide variety of choices. In the evenings, in the lobby there is popcorn, cookies and fruit. Rooms are large with refrigerators. Staff is extremely pleasant. Decor is very nice. Nice view of the surrounding area, since it is situated on a hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    13
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
71
37
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is nice, very nice!
Landscaping is one of the nicest i've seen at the 200 or so IHG hotels and other brand hotels I've stayed at. (Orange Lake FL is nicer, 1,400 acre resort though). Small but very well maintained, pond, tiny mini golf, water falls.. super cool to walk around.
The night we checked in, they had a complimentary bbq and drinks which was great, everything was fresh, well prepared and as some items were running low, the staff kept bringing out more.
Fresh fruits (apples/bananas), popcorn, cookies, chips, were also available at the front desk.

I travel for work, and spend close to 100 nights/year at hotels, with a majority going to IHG hotels. I mostly travel alone and don't care for the "Complimentary room upgrade" that platinum members are supposed to receive, if rooms are available. On this trip my wife and two children came along and i was hoping to take advantage of this benefit for giving most of my hotel business stays to IHG hotels.
Upon checking in, I asked the clerk (young girl) if I could get a complimentary room upgrade for being a platinum elite member, her response was "I can't make that decision" she also mentioned that there was a "suite" available if I wanted to pay for the rate. Thinking she was new, I thought she might not even be aware of the IHG loyalty program or the benefits IHG claims for their platinum elite members.
On my way back from the car with my luggage, i noticed a gentleman in a suit, thinking he was the night time manager, i asked him if there was another room available as a complimentary upgrade for a platinum member.
He replied, "Subject to availability, we are all sold out." I informed him that the girl sitting beside him said there was a room available, unfortunately he rudely cut me off repeatedly saying "subject to availability" and then he apparently got upset and said "someone will book that room".. and kept repeating "subject to availability" while i kept walking to the elevator... Nice hotel but perhaps managers should not feel the need to belittle their guests, to prove their superiority to new employees.
Needless to say i will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expressmanager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Platinum Elite Member,
First, thank you for your positive comments related to our hotel grounds and our managers' barbeque party. Second, please accept my sincerest apology for our associate who was discourteous to you and his coworker. As an IHG Rewards Member, I am sure that your understand the terms of the program. This person was not the night manager and although what he was saying is correct, his manner was impolite. I am sure that he did not understand how his demeanor was being perceived.
I ask that you reconsider visiting us again. It is important that you check on our progress and offer additional feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay! Very clean and up to date. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was nice to be offered a soda or water at checkin, as well as a fresh fruit bowl and popcorn. They have a nice pool, small workout room, putting green...just nice all the way around! A good value for a nice place.

Room Tip: Some rooms are still smoking rooms (yuck!) so make sure you don't get a room near those if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Clean, spacious, very friendly employees right up to the housekeeping staff.
The bath tubs are gigantic as has been mentioned, snacks are available pretty much all day and there is a lovely outdoor area to enjoy.
They also have "theme" rooms, as in The Venetian, The Paris, The South Pacific etc.which include a HUGE jacuzzi tub and theme decor. Relax, and enjoy imagining a grand adventure. So much fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from a family reunion in Sharon. First time we stayed here already talking about staying again in the future. Hotel Staff was wonderful and freindly, service was excellent and the hotel was extremely clean. We stayed in a two room suite and it was very clean and spacious. The bathtub was HUGE almost too big and deep for a short person :) My kids enjoyed the pool which was a very clean and beautiful area. I loved the gardens outiside. Breakfast was delicous. It is a great hotel for a family! Thank you for a wonderful hotel experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We came here because we stayed here before. Unbelievable experience!! The staff is exceptional the room clean and bright. On Wednesday they even provide dinner! Why bother with any other hotel!!?? Even a little golf putting green!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here on July 5th and , as our mid-way stop during our trip to the east coast. In the past, we have made it to Clearfield, and stayed at that HIE (which is great), but we are so glad we changed it this time. This will definitely continue to be our stop over hotel from now on. It is a perfect hotel for families (we have two 7 year old boys). They serve soup every night and have their eating area open all evening...guests are allowed to help themselves to whatever happens to be out: bananas, chips, pretzels, corn dogs, milk, cookies, etc. Twice a week they do a "happy hour" with 25 cent beers, and even more food, so you don't have to go out for dinner if you don't want to. Room was immaculate and the staff was beyond nice. They have a beautiful garden area out back with a small, mini golf course and a game of bean bag toss. The pool area seemed nice, but it did seem a little crowded with all the kids, so we passed the first night and played outside instead. They had more than the typical HIE for breakfast as well, with a separate "healthy eating" table with kashi cereal & oatmeal. If you want a clean, kid-friendly place to stay, this is it. No wonder it is ranked as the #1 HIE in the country! I'm including some pictures of the garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage

Address: 3060 Spangler Rd, West Middlesex, PA 16159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Middlesex
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in West Middlesex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Sharon / Hermitage, PA is a recipient of the prestigious 'Torchbearer' Award from IHG Hotels for 2008. This makes 4 years of outstanding customer service recognized by IHG Hotels. The HI Express and Suites in Sharon/Hermitage, PA is only 25 minutes from the Youngstown Regional Airport. Our hotel is conveniently located to Shenango Valley Mall, Prime Outlets in Grove City, Amish Country and right next door to beautiful Tam O' Shanter Golf Course.Our hotel features: associate empowerment training for total guest satisfaction, themed spa suites, Presidential suites with fireplaces, soaking tubs, family suites and romance suites complete with heart-shaped tubs, two port high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms, kitchenettes, guest laundry, meeting rooms, tropical Indoor pool and spa, complimentary manager s party, complimentary Express Start breakfast and our famous value-added 'wow' service touches. Please book early and have your chance to experience an exceptional value, with top ranked services at a great price. We put a new meaning to price value in your hotel stay so be smart with the leaders in the Holiday Inn Express and Suites brand. Please Note: Pool is for registered guests only. No pool or guest room parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage Hotel West Middlesex
Holiday Inn West Middlesex
Holiday Inn Express Hermitage
West Middlesex Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.