We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay when traveling on I-80 inPennsylvania!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3060 Spangler Rd, West Middlesex, PA 16159   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in West Middlesex
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“THE place to stay when traveling on I-80 inPennsylvania!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here on July 5th and , as our mid-way stop during our trip to the east coast. In the past, we have made it to Clearfield, and stayed at that HIE (which is great), but we are so glad we changed it this time. This will definitely continue to be our stop over hotel from now on. It is a perfect hotel for families (we have two 7 year old boys). They serve soup every night and have their eating area open all evening...guests are allowed to help themselves to whatever happens to be out: bananas, chips, pretzels, corn dogs, milk, cookies, etc. Twice a week they do a "happy hour" with 25 cent beers, and even more food, so you don't have to go out for dinner if you don't want to. Room was immaculate and the staff was beyond nice. They have a beautiful garden area out back with a small, mini golf course and a game of bean bag toss. The pool area seemed nice, but it did seem a little crowded with all the kids, so we passed the first night and played outside instead. They had more than the typical HIE for breakfast as well, with a separate "healthy eating" table with kashi cereal & oatmeal. If you want a clean, kid-friendly place to stay, this is it. No wonder it is ranked as the #1 HIE in the country! I'm including some pictures of the garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    13
    1
    3
    6
See reviews for
69
35
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is very lovely on the outside, the rooms are clean and spacious, and however the management out this hotel was horrendous. The dayshift management seemed to have their act together and things seemed to run smoothly. The nightshift was a different story; the pool area has adults only for one hour in the evening, the first night it was flooded with kids, I asked the hotel staff about it and they stated they were letting the kids stay longer since there were so many. The also stated they would not extend pool hours. The pool area was flooded with at least 50 kids and had no control; no biggie chalked it up, 3 hours later, kids running up and down on halls, putting chairs in front of doors, pounding on guest’s doors etc. I called 4 times to the hotel staff, nothing was done, I even caught 2 kids trying to mess with mine and my neighbor’s door, waited for the hotel staff, which didn’t show up, finally the chaperon to their group showed up and the kids took off running.
I complained to the dayshift staff, they seemed genuinely appalled but the next night the fire alarm was set off at midnight, no explanation was given on WHO or why it went off with no fire, nor was any apology by the nightshift.
Needless to say parents now days need a better control of their kids, but the hotel staff should have handled the situation because this is unacceptable and I will not be staying at this facility again.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if possible as the nightshift management does not care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expressmanager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Yes, our hotel experienced a very trying night during your stay and we apologize for not meeting your standards.
A hotel does not have the same number of staff in place during the early morning hours that it has during the day so it may seem as if they are less attentive when it fact they are dealing with the issues at hand.
The fire alarm was not a false one but rather an alarm triggered by steam in a guest room. When our weather is hot and humid, guests run the air conditioning on high and then proceed to take a hot shower. This causes a fog to fill the room which in turn sets off the alarm. Sometimes the causes of alarms are not easily determined and require the expert opinion of the fire chief.
The fire alarm obviously got our large group up and moving and the young people were not aware of how their actions were affecting others in the building. Please be assured that the staff was indeed handling the problems. The group leaders were contacted and assisted our security in getting everyone where they should be.
Our staff should have kept you informed of what was being done even if they had to return your call.
Again, we are sorry that your night was not restful but we hope you will try us again to check on our improvements as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was sent to PA on a very dull business trip and enjoyed my time at this hotel most of all. The grounds are lovely and clean (the waterfall feature was a gorgeous touch) the staff very helpful, great happy hour with drinks, and a good selection of breakfast items. Looked like a very nice indoor pool and whirlpool, although I didn't use it. I only wish I could transport this hotel to another city with fun things to do!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My son and I were part of a group that included 45 young people, plus adults that stayed here for 2 nights. We were welcomed by the staff and well taken care of. Our room was very spacious - great bathroom with a large bathtub/ shower combination - sitting area as well a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave. The staff were very accommodating to all our needs. Breakfasts were enjoyed although I did miss having bacon with my eggs. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the waterfall was a joy to behold. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: I think any room would be acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. My girlfriends and I decided to head to this area to visit some wineries and do some shopping at the outlets. We were greeted the minute we stepped in the door by a well dressed, friendly staff! We were immediately offered a cold drink, and our reservation was taken care of quickly. The Lobby and breakfast room are beautiful. There was bowl of fresh fruit and a bowl of bags of chips and pretzels for guests also. We rented a suite, and the room was beautiful. The bathroom was clean and had everything anyone would need. There were also cute little signs in the room telling guests that, if they needed anything, such as earplugs, extra blankets, etc, they should just call the front desk.
We had a nice kitchenette, and there was a bag of popcorn in the microwave, plus they provided us with paper towlels, napkins, plates, and plastic silverware. Very comfortable.

The back of the hotel, where the pool is, is absolutely beautiful. There is an outdoor patio with very comfortable chairs and tables, and there is a sandbox for children, a gazebo to relax in, and a coy pond and waterfall. The pool is very clean and neat with lots of places to sit and relax, and a very nice hot tub.

We will definately visit this hotel again in future visits!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the patio in the back...very nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is one of the best kept hotels I have ever stayed at. The rooms are impeccably clean, the staff is incredibly friendly, and the landscaping is amazing. This feels like a four star hotel. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The snacks in the front lobby are a plus. The outdoor areas include a beautifully landscaped courtyard and miniputt area. Stayed with my family - everyone enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Has some special theme rooms on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We regularly stay in Holiday Inns/Holiday Inn Expresses, and we chose this one among several on our route because the description said it had won awards a couple of years running, and we could certainly see why. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated. For example, instead of long, bare hallways, this facility's hall walls were filled with pictures. The amenities were amazing. In the bathroom: a flower (artificial, but nonetheless...) in a vase; a soap dish (which we haven't seen in a number of years); and a magnifying mirror. There were also antiseptic wipes tucked conveniently on each phone in case a person making a call wanted to wipe the handset. There is an outdoor sitting area complete with tables and umbrellas, a koi pond, a 3-hole putting green (putters available at the desk), and a sand box. Indoor pool and fitness room, too, of course. Unlimited free high speed wireless internet access, and in addition to the usual complimentary breakfast, the hotel provides afternoon munchies and has a cocktail party Monday through Thursday 6:30 -8:30. Wednesday's included the manager's party - with food. And it was not expensive! We are priority club members and stayed for an incredibly reasonable 20,000 points. Staff were all very outgoing and friendly. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat if we ever cross PA again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage

Address: 3060 Spangler Rd, West Middlesex, PA 16159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Middlesex
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in West Middlesex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Sharon / Hermitage, PA is a recipient of the prestigious 'Torchbearer' Award from IHG Hotels for 2008. This makes 4 years of outstanding customer service recognized by IHG Hotels. The HI Express and Suites in Sharon/Hermitage, PA is only 25 minutes from the Youngstown Regional Airport. Our hotel is conveniently located to Shenango Valley Mall, Prime Outlets in Grove City, Amish Country and right next door to beautiful Tam O' Shanter Golf Course.Our hotel features: associate empowerment training for total guest satisfaction, themed spa suites, Presidential suites with fireplaces, soaking tubs, family suites and romance suites complete with heart-shaped tubs, two port high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms, kitchenettes, guest laundry, meeting rooms, tropical Indoor pool and spa, complimentary manager s party, complimentary Express Start breakfast and our famous value-added 'wow' service touches. Please book early and have your chance to experience an exceptional value, with top ranked services at a great price. We put a new meaning to price value in your hotel stay so be smart with the leaders in the Holiday Inn Express and Suites brand. Please Note: Pool is for registered guests only. No pool or guest room parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage Hotel West Middlesex
Holiday Inn West Middlesex
Holiday Inn Express Hermitage
West Middlesex Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.