We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but Way Too Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austin's Restaurant & Bar

Austin's Restaurant & Bar
1101 Snyder Rd, West Lawn, PA 19609-1100
+1 610-678-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in West Lawn
Price range: $10 - $30
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Oley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food but Way Too Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The food here was quite tasty, but too expensive for what was received . Crab dip was very good but costly. Service was above average. Decor is dark which makes it easy to stumble over the step you need to step up on to get into a booth. Would not go back without a good coupon. You can get just as tasty food for less cost at other establishments in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“In prices of salads,apps and other entrees that are not costly to make”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Austins has always been consistently good. Service is always great. I love the dark environment as its cozy and fun...its the kind of place you can have a romantic dinner or bring the kids and have family dinner. But I have really noticed a hike in prices in the last two years. Recently I went and was shocked to see my favorite Thai steak noodle salad was topping out at 15.99. When this was first on the menu it was under 10.00 yet it's the same ingrediants but now is almost 6.00 more in less then two years. I am not saying it isnt a good place to eat because the food is great but the prices need to reflect the entree. Crab cakes are 22.00 with full sides but thai steak noodle salad is 15.99??? A small dish of crab dip is 12.50 as an appetizer? Or how about a field green salad? 9.00. Come on now. I am totally expecting to pay 22.00 for crab cakes or even up to 30.00 for a good steak entree but I think the other dishes are way of line. I wont come back at these prices. Too many other places to eat that are great and more reasonable in price/dish ratio. Rethink the prices and make them reflect the dish you are serving. Re think the burger at 10.50. Really? 10.50 for a burger and fries? Even stoksay castle knights pub doesnt charge that and that is a great place with impeccable service and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been to Austin's several times and have always enjoyed my meals. The Chicken Salad is a favorite. Service is good and I like the team approach to serving. You don't have to wait to find your server, you can ask anyone if you need something. In my opinion, Austin's is one of the better restaurants in the Reading area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Monday through Friday from 5-7, their Happy Hour at the bar is the best! Cocktails are wonderful, discounted appetizers delicious, service terrific! The "Bar Fries" are like warm potato sticks, crunchy and yummy!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food with a Sound Track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When a restaurant has two big parking lots you know there'll be a wait to get in, but not too long, even on a Friday night. Wonderful food, great service. Only real negative is the noise -- the place is huge and the acoustics are bad... not a place for intimate conversation. But WOW, great steaks.. and try the creamed spinach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austin's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Austin's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.