We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just visited today” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonanza Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bonanza Restaurant
State Route 93, West Hazleton, Hazleton, PA 18201
570-454-8767
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just visited today”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

good food there should be more of a buffet selection though i also ordered a steak well, got a medium well, my friend ordered chicken fingers, they wernt baked thourghlery!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Cheap Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a good place to eat if you like lots of cheap, fattening, greasy food in a not very clean dining environment.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERN MASS.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“I like it rare, but this was raw.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stopped at 1pm, Sunday, January 8th at Hazleton PA's Bonanza for lunch. We don't have Bonanza's anymore in Massachusetts, and now I know why.
Our waitress was fine, polite and attentive, but the food was horrendous.
My daughter heard the complaints from the next table over and wouldn't order anything.
My second daughter simply got a plate of mashed potatoes and raspberry iced tea. She took one bite and decided to eat half of my baked potato instead.
I ordered my $12.99 ribeye medium rare, and at home I am known to bring things in from the grill prematurely, whereas I love to eat red meat, so my family is used to throwing theirs in the microwave for a half minute to finish cooking theirs. (I am not a paid chef.)
This meat was RED, like you took it off the shelf at the grocery store and cut it open raw. The pink spear read 'medium rare', but it was not even rare. When the waitress arrived and asked how things were, I said that this steak was not cooked at all, and she did offer to take it back and cook it , but as we were 5 hours from home on our drive to Massachusetts from Florida, I told her to just box it and I'd cook it at home. The salad was large, and looked okay, but was flavorless. There was an ample amount of dressing provided, however.
The cashier asked how everything was, and I simply replied: Our waitress was fine, but as for the food, don't ask". I believe she had heard that many other times already.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sometimes good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We go there a few times a month as it is an OK value. We have found only 2 servers worth dealing with Frank and Ronda. Others too young to care. Food is very inconstant some good stake, some rubber steak.
Since they redid the place it seemes they really cut the food bar down. NO MORE ribs, Liver, Sausage and only one kind of chicken other than wings.
Don't be in a hurry as they run out of food there and it may take a while to restock if ever.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good buffet style restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The most impressive thing about my experience here was the service. All the the staff seemed very fast and efficient. The food selection was good in the buffet. I liked the chicken drumsticks and the cole slaw. I ordered the Porterhouse and it was pretty good. For a chain restaurant it is pretty good and doesn't have that overhyped corporate feel to it like a lot of the other chain restaurant nowadays.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonanza Restaurant also viewed

 
West Hazleton, Hazleton
 

Been to Bonanza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonanza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.