We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energetic atmosphere, great service, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teca

Teca
38 E Gay St, West Chester, PA 19380-3145
610-738-8244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Teca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 219 Restaurants in West Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: High Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Energetic atmosphere, great service, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a wonderful Friday evening at Teca with friends. The service was outstanding - friendly and engaging. Food was very good and portions were large. There were lots of people at the bar and the crowd was lively - but not too much that interfered with our group or the level of noise. I'd easily recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food could have been better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The place is nice and the staff was quick but the food was so so. The tuna on my salad came straight from a can. On a better note, the dessert was super yummy, pumpkin cheesecake. Not so sure I would go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Perfect business lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Efficient staff and service. Reasonable prices. Two page menu but with just enough selections. Tuna salad was great and the special, pumpkin ravioli, was also a hit. Good atmosphere set in a nice corner of town with ample lunchtime parking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomeryville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

9/15/2012 Went with a group of 15. Ordered a variety of appetizers:Calamari Fritti o Grigliati, Crabmeat Napoleon, Caprese Tower, Flatbread with mushrooms, onions, chicken, goat cheese, Prosciutto San Daniele, Roasted Red Peppers, Bowl of Olives, Variety Cheese Tray. All were very tasty. For the meal I ordered the Gnocchi alla Fiorentina, Panini Saporita and Lobster Ravioli. For dessert Tiramisu and Chocolate Tartufo. Staff was great. Cost was reasonable. Will go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great WC Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really, really like Teca.

People: Hostess (the blonde lady - super efficient and just friendly enough without being overbearing) and every server I've had there (quick to please without hovering). The management (quick to make up for the few missteps and make everything right without having to ask). Weakness: Hostess with the longer dark hair and the big room bartender totally act like they are doing YOU a favor by serving you.

Rooms (both with bar) - just the right amount of buzz on big side. Option for quieter dining on small side. We prefer small side. Outdoor dining option is awesome and pet-friendly as well! Cool - right on Gay Street - location. Weakness: the big room can get loud and the bartender is hard to connect with. I clicked "scenic view" because its right on Gay with plenty of people watching :-)

The food: Bruchetta (all) are tasty and good starter choice. We especially like the Fungi. Or make your own cheese/meat plate - great choices. Mussels or clams - awesome broth - ask for bread to soak up the broth. And the crab/avacado tower - not as excellent as the Chart House version - but close. Entrees - lobster ravioli can't be beat. Branzino a little too lemon heavy. Lasagna - excellent. Salmon - friends loved it - but its "salmon" to me.

I will go back again (and again...)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teca also viewed

 
West Chester, PA
West Chester, PA
 

Been to Teca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.