We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Restaurant

Avalon Restaurant
312 South High Street, West Chester, PA 19382
(610) 436-4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Avalon Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 219 Restaurants in West Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a wedding dinner of 25 at Avalon. Not only were they really flexible and communicated via email (we aren't located in West Chester) but the venue and food were wonderful. I will have to come back for a quiet couples dinner to try the food a la carte!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food with a mild touch of disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I dined at the Avalon last night as a belated Valentine's day dinner. This was our second visit to the Avalon. While the food is out of this world good, I have to say that I am mildly disappointed by feeling a sense of stodginess. The server was careful and attentive, as was the maitre'd but there was just something lackluster about they way we were treated. It was not very crowded that night and you would think they would be grateful for having patrons at all, but this was not the feeling I got.
I really like that this restaurant has a fixed price menu, but here again caution is advised. Beware of "up charges" as they are plentiful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

12-12-12: Nine of us (family) had a great dinner on the second floor - had the room to oursleves. The atmosphere, staff and food were great! Would definitley go again. Parking can be a challenge, as you have to park on the street in West Chester - no parking lot.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Menu is limited. We had the four course tasting menu. The veal raviolis were amazing. The eggplant manicotti boring. The duck breast delicious. The fish skate paltry. Also, seating near the door with the cold weather was uncomfortable. The waitstaff was very attentive. We were a table of sx, so gratuity was added after tax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great find in west Chester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Did not expect the diversity in the menu or the imaginative presentation at this small resteraunt in downtown West Chester. We started with a wonderful cheese board which had a variety for many tastes...all were wonderful! The dinners varied from exotic to more common but all were prepared wonderfully. Dessert was truly remarkable. The combinations prepared by the chef were surprising, creative, and memorable! Save room for dessert! They also offered a fixed price 4 course option but the whole table had to opt in.....and my family never agrees so......can't comment....but I will say, can't wait to go back soon...and outdoor seating in the right weather....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Avalon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.