We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Warner

Save Saved
You added Hotel Warner to your Saves list
Hotel Warner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Warner
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 North High Street, West Chester, PA 19380   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in West Chester
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location for our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel Warner is centrally located in historic downtown West Chester. Walking distance to restaurants, pubs, shopping and a great farmers market.

It was the perfect location for hosting our daughter's wedding. We rented out 72 of their 80 rooms. Everything went as planned, from the hotel coordinating reservations, to a great breakfast spread to very friendly and informative staff.

The hotel is situated in a converted movie house with lots of culture and historic details preserved.

I am not known for handing out compliments, but in the case of this hotel, I give it five stars. Perfect for everything from a short visit to a large wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner to host your wedding guests and for taking the time to share your experience. We were honored to be a part of your daughter’s special day and wish her a happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
25
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very nice and spaceous & clean new rooms. Bathrooms brand new with nice granite counters. Check in was very easy and all friendly staff. They offer free internet, and free parking in a garage across the street. Very easy access to all of the down town area. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner and for taking the time to share your experience. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a delayed flight, an extremely long wait for a rental car from Philly, we were pleasantly surprised upon check in at Hotel Warner. Staff was excellent. Our room, very nice. Also great that we received a restaurant card for discounts to local restaurants and free breakfast. We will surely say here again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am pleased to hear that we were able to be a nice surprise at the end of what sounds like a very long trip. I am glad that both the rooms and staff exceeded your expectations. I am also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the restaurant discount program we offer our guests and enjoy a nice meal at one of the many restaurants within walking distance. We are looking forward to you being our guest during your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is lovely, well appointed and modern while keeping the Art Deco feel of the old Warner Theater. Bed very comfy. I am impressed with the reviews and the manager responses are a real plus! You don't always see that on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Pick east or north facing room for nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed the Art Deco feel of the hotel and found it to be well appointed and modern. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

the rooms and ambiance are nice enough, it's a very attractive place and well appointed. West Chester PA always has challenges with parking, so if you want free parking, the hotel validates the tickets for the public parking garage, which is a couple of blocks away. If you want to park closer, you might get lucky with the on-street parking, or you might elect to pay the $20/night for on-premises parking. But this review isn't about that.

It's about safety, the kinds of things that aren't obvious until UH-OH! Example: the rooms do not have emergency lighting. If the power goes out at night or there's an emergency at night that means leaving your room, you won't be able to see a thing in your room if the power is out. "Emergency Exit" doors swing INWARD, making a panicked exit is very difficult, if not potentially impossible. The front entry doors, which are marked "Push for Emergency Exit" won't open.

My wife and I stayed there recently, and about 2am the power went out because of storm. I use a CPAP machine, and I awakened right away with the power went out and promptly stumbled over a chair. I travel with a small flashlight in case I drop something, and it came in very handily that night. I went down the stairs and met the night man and someone else trying to figure out what was happening. After a walk around the block, I discovered that the hotel was the only building that was still dark. I returned to the building and asked if someone from maintenance was coming and was told that the maintenance man wouldn't come in because "the breaker will reset itself in an hour". Later was told that PECO said there's be a 2 hour window before power would be restored, after having been told that PECO showed no outages in the area. After a bit, the power did return and things returned to normal.

The really alarming part was that no-one seem to have been trained in safety procedures. If what I was told about the maintenance man was true, it's unacceptable.

The Hotel Warner is a beautiful hotel, and the rooms are very nice, but the apparent lack of safety procedures, the potential obstructions to a safe emergency exit and the absence of emergency lighting (just one per room would do) make me wary of making a return visit.

My wife an I know West Chester rather well, and I think I'd prefer to stay on the outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Mr. Thompson –

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to West Chester. I am glad that you found the hotel to be beautiful and the rooms to be very nice. I am concerned about some of the things you mention in your review and would like to take a moment to clarify a couple things.

First, regarding the parking options, you are correct that we do offer two options for parking. The first option is on-site parking which we charge a $20 nightly fee for. The second option is in the Chestnut Street garage which we do validate for our guests, making it a complimentary amenity. Your review mentions that the garage is a “couple of blocks” from the hotel when in fact it is only a half of a block across the street from the hotel.

Second I would like to address the power outage. The power outage the hotel experienced was due to a PECO outage. The town is fed by numerous power grids so it is not uncommon that one section of town may lose power and another section, which might be across the street, has power. Here at the Hotel Warner we are lucky enough to be feed off the same grid as the hospital. This means that we are a high priority and any power issue is corrected quickly. I believe that what the guest service agent was trying to convey to you was that once the power to the building was restored everything would automatically return to normal.

Lastly, regarding your comments about the safety of the hotel please allow me to assure you that the hotel meets all current building codes for safety. Emergency lighting is present in all hallways, stairwells, and public space. It is tested monthly to ensure proper operation and automatically turns on in the event of a power outage. The front desk also has a supply of flashlights available for guest use should a power outage occur. Emergency exit doors are located at each emergency exit. I just doubled checked them and the doors open outward and have panic bars. The front exit door is also working properly. Also, the hotel staff is trained on a variety of emergency situations and there is also an emergency binder at the front desk should they need anything to refer back to as a situation is unfolding.

I apologize that we didn’t do a better job of communicating what was taking place during your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent two nights here & found it to be a very comfortable, clean & friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful both on reception & in the breakfast room.
The continental breakfast was more than adequate & there is a nice little outside area if you prefer to sit outside.
We would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Warner again when we next visit West Chester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Warner and for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. The outdoor terrace area is a popular place to enjoy breakfast or just relax and I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy it. The staff works hard to provide each and every guest with a great experience and they will appreciate hearing your comments. We are looking forward to seeing you when you return to West Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The lobby and public areas of the hotel are wonderful examples of restoration of the foyer of a historic theater. Hallways are filled with pictures of West Chester. Our king room was exceptionally spacious and well decorated with a comfortable chair and bed, desk, and refrigerator. Furnishings were of high quality. The bathroom was spacious and clean with a good shower, but no tub. Internet is free and worked well. There are lots of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Parking is available in the hotel for $20 or in a public garage about a block away for free (with hotel validation). This is a first class hotel with one exception. The complimentary continental breakfast was pretty mediocre, definitely out of place for a hotel of this class; coffee was almost undrinkable. Luckily there's a coffee shop nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you again for choosing the Hotel Warner. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. At the Hotel Warner you truly get the best of both worlds. The lobby is the restored lobby of the Warner Theater built in the 1930’s and the guest rooms are brand new construction offering all of the modern conveniences. We do have a mix of rooms with tubs and rooms with showers in the hotel. We are happy to accommodate a special request if you prefer a tub over a shower. Overall, it sounds like you had a great visit and were able to experience some of what makes West Chester a great place to stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Warner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Warner

Address: 120 North High Street, West Chester, PA 19380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Warner 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Warner is now open and welcoming overnight guests, group gatherings and visitors. Enjoy our gracious hospitality, stunning rooms, and the historic charm of downtown West Chester, footsteps from our door.The Hotel Warner is the only hotel in historic West Chester Borough and the ideal location for your business trip, a leisurely weekend get-a-way or group outing. And with free WIFI, an indoor heated pool and a delicious complimentary Continental breakfast, there's something everyone will enjoy. So, come be our guest! Stay with us and walk to over 65 restaurants, dozens of shops, art galleries and eclectic boutiques, just footsteps from the Warner Hotel. Stroll our historic streets and discover the rich architecture and vibrant past of this nationally acclaimed neighborhood.The Hotel Warner is also perfect for business trips and group gatherings. With private onsite meeting space for 60 guests and additional facilities for nearly 200, the Hotel Warner is ideal for intimate gatherings, board meetings and social retreats.Spend a few nights with us and explore our many historic sites and fabulous attractions. The Hotel Warner is only minutes from West Chester University, SAP Corporation, Depuy Synthes, Brandywine Airport, Longwood Gardens, QVC Studios, the King of Prussia Mall, Brandywine River Battlefield, Valley Forge National Park, Sight & Sound Theater and Lancaster Amish Country.So, be sure to include the Hotel Warner in your future travel plans. We are now open and ready to take great care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Warner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Warner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.