We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Pear Bistro

Blue Pear Bistro
275 Brintons Bridge Rd, West Chester, PA 19382-8207
610-399-9812
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 202 Restaurants in West Chester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chadds Ford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to the Blue Pear for years and haven't ever had a meal we didn't love! We love the atmosphere, food and very personable staff. If we have visitors from out of town, this is always where we take them and they are never disappointed! Great restaurant! You will never regret eating here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bulverde, Texas
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
851 helpful votes 851 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED - UNDERSERVED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The place lacks any character whatsoever, gloomy and very plain. Food is uninspired and under flavored. Prices suggest a real foodie adventure.....NOT HAPPENING. Service was good but not outstanding. Will not be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfort Food & Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Celebrated a family birthday in this quaint inn which combines the ambiance of a country destination restaurant with comfort food and reasonable prices. A well stocked bar and decently priced wine list combined with an eclectic menu. Portions were huge and service impeccable.
We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Very, very good, as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Three for dinner tonight, after a very stressful day. The laid-back atmosphere and coziness definitely helped us unwind. Two shared the fried calamari and really, this is right up there with the best fried calamari anywhere in the area. One had tuna tartare and it was scrumptious Three different entrees -- scallops, lamb, and halibut -- and every one was delicious.

Some small things make lasting impressions: I asked about a Chardonnay vs. a varietal I'd never heard of. Can't remember now -- began with a T, maybe it was spanish? Waiter immediately offered to bring me a taste of both. Love that!! But I was a little surprised when, after I made a decision, he whisked away both test glasses, each of which had a couple ounces left. Hey! If you're (presumably) going to dump it out, leave it for the table to sample!!

We were next to a table with two pre-teenagers and their parents. I wouldn't have thought kids that age would enjoy Blue Pear, but the kids seemed to like everything that was served. That was nice to see.

Our reservation was for 7, and there weren't many tables occupied. Many restaurants near us are closed on Monday; Blue Pear closes on Tuesday so it's a great fallback for Monday night. Maybe the word hasn't spread. I was surprised when, as we were leaving at 8:45, two different tables of two were seated. So it's apparently a later-night dinner place, too. The bar was quite lively as we exited.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Near West Chester's favorite Dilworthtown Inn and run by the same people, so the food is delicious. I'm not typically even a muscles fan and these were yummy -- I had to use the bread to dip in the delicious broth --couldn't let it go to waste. Nice place for adults and older children. A little pricey but worth it and look forward to going again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pear Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Blue Pear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Pear Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.