We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Indian Thai Bistro

Spice Indian Thai Bistro
113 W Market St, West Chester, PA 19382-2901
610-431-0113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 219 Restaurants in West Chester
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Small, quiet, local place for indian food with a reqally friendly staff and great food. Not a major emphasis on an Indian motif bu very well done on food quiality. Small, quiet, local place for indian food with a reqally friendly staff and great food. Not a major emphasis on an Indian motif but very well done on food quiality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Accomodating and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of us from work met at Spice on a Thursday because we had read about the live music and prix fixe menu available. Best decision yet! The manager took time to help us with the menu (we knew very little about Thai and Indian cuisine). Asking about our likes she explained the food and gave suggestions. Needless to say we were not disappointed! Not only was the food terrific, ( we will be back again) but the music ( easy listening to where you could carry on a conversation) and a complimentary glass of wine since we were first time visitors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we used a groupon here and the food was really great. The waiter was especially friendly and he even leant me his glasses to read the menu(I forgot my reading glasses). The food was fresh and in expensive. All of the staff were nice and fun to talk with.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food was good but not worth the cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I gave this place a shot. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We were one of two couples there and were only joined by two or three more during the duration of our time there. I personally like a bustling restaurant. The food was decent, with good use of "spice". But not worth the cost. This place is a-la-carte and everything adds up quick. I doubt I'll go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Flavor and friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had tried Spice once before and liked it. Decided it was time to go back. What a great decision! The restaurant has a new general manager, who goes above and beyond in welcoming guests. Our server was very helpful in answering questions (we're not experts on Indian and Thai food), and she was very friendly -- as were all the staff. We tried some new appetizers, and the sauces for the dumplings and onion fritters (I can't recall the Indian name) were incredible. We were also very pleased with our meals. If you're not afraid of spice, you will enjoy the deep flavors in the food - and spice doesn't necessarily mean hot. My wife specifically asked for "not spicy" and her meal was a bit bland, in my opinion. Also, our service was very attentive -- refills of hot water for our green tea, and our water glasses were rarely empty, even if it was another server refilling. We were actually in and out in about an hour, but it never felt rushed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Indian Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Spice Indian Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Indian Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.