We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD AGAIN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellsboro Diner

Wellsboro Diner
19 Main Street, Wellsboro, PA 16901
(570) 724-3992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Wellsboro
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Lancaster pa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“GOOD AGAIN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ate breakfast here both week end mornings the first week end in October. Saturday was not busy at all after they opened (6:00). Sunday morning after they opened (7:00) the place filled up.We had service just about as quick as we did the morning before. Food was very good and service was excellent. We always have breakfast her e when we vacation in Wellsboro.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    76
    56
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Makes you think about what you eat when you eat out at a restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We walked in and they were very busy so we sat at the counter. We just wanted a quick bite to hold us over so we ordered a hot dog. As I sat there looking around at the grill and the food prep I could only wonder if they have ever had a health inspection. There were tubs of chicken breasts, hamburgers, scrambled eggs, and cheese right next to the grill. The grill was filthy and while my hot dog was being cooked they scraped the "Stuff" off and into the trash. The whole time I couldn't stop staring at that bucket of chicken breast and the meat marinating in its own liquid probably just growing bacteria. I will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nostalgia reigns in this authentic 30's diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Can 't possibly come to Wellsboro without a stop at this REAL diner. While the inside has been remodeled a bit from my 1st experience here as a Mansfield Student 47 years ago, the outside is true Americanna and the food Diner perfect !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Get the cinnamon rolls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have been to the diner before and have talked about coming back just for the cinnamon rolls for years...finally we did it and they were just as good as we remembered! Omelets were good too, but the breakfast potatoes were just deep fried chunks of seasoned potato. Haven't had dinner, but would definitely give it a try, especially after seeing the chalkboard listing all of the current yummy homemade desserts!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“old time diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

it was a beautiful saturday in wellsboro. there were many pedestrians on the main drag. we entered the diner about 2 pm and it was about half full even at that off-hour. service provided by meg was prompt. we were 4 adults and 1 child. we ordered chicken tenders - tasty according to the child, a hamburger described as dry, although we had not specified a temperature so we didnt complain, we also ordered a grilled cheese sandwich and a jumbo hot dog - both were good. the hot roast beef sandwich with mashed potatoes/gravy was also good but not spectacular. it was a generous serving.
we also ordered pies which were excellent, especially the peach crumb.
the bathrooms were clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellsboro Diner also viewed

 

Been to Wellsboro Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellsboro Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.