We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge to your Saves list
Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge
62 Main Street, Wellsboro, PA 16901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellsboro
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Historic, old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you are looking for an old, historic hotel, this is the place for you. Lobby is elegant and charming, but a little worn. The fireplace and bar area is nice and reminds one of days gone by. The room I stayed in was small, with a double bed, desk, dresser, nightstand, and then a tiny bathroom. If this hotel had been well-maintained and had things like the carpets updated, it would be a beautiful step back in time. It is showing its age and needs a facelift. The radiators kept me up all night with their noise as I am not used to rad-heat. The staff was nice. Parking was not easy but we always found a place (the lot and hotel are full of oil field workers with their large trucks). No breakfast is served during the winter even though the book in the room does not state this fact. Apparently there was a fire at this hotel during the early 1900's and an entire floor burned off because of a lack of water pressure to be able to reach the 4th floor; this floor was not replaced.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a bigger bed and away from the dumpster as the dumpster collection is ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    73
    41
    20
    23
See reviews for
47
91
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We spent the night at the Penn Wells Hotel on New Years Eve 2011-12. We had a package deal, which ended up being about $90/person. That price included the room, a dinner buffet, New Year's party later that evening that included a live band, hats, noise makers, snacks on the table, & champagne toast, then a breakfast buffet the following morning. It was all excellent. The hotel is old but has been fairly well kept. The lobby is very nice & has a fire place. There is a bar onsite. The food was excellent and the staff was very pleasant. There is another building called the lodge where the pool is located, but we didn't go there. Wellsboro is a quaint little town with small shops, an old time department store, and gas lights along the street making for a very pretty walk. We had a great time and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Lodge addition/renovation is definitely under construction right now, so the lobby is crammed into a former guest room, and you have to enter the pool/fitness area from the outside. However, the staff is friendly and helpful, our room is clean, spacious, and comfortable, and parking was fine. We appreciated having a mini fridge in our room too. There are a few things that could use some freshening, like the bedspreads and wallpaper. I'm guessing these will be addressed as part of the renovation, and were not particularly bothersome. The pool area was clean and well-lit. My son loved it! The locker rooms have separate saunas for men and women, a nice touch. There are many stores and restaurants literally across the street, and we heard no construction noise at all. All in all, a nice stay, and we will be back. Can't wait to see the renovation done!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I've stayed at the Lodge several times when the prices where cheaper. Now since they think they need to price rooms like its some hot vaction spot I think I've stayed my last. I wonder if they thought about what they will do once all the gas well drilling has completed and the people have moved on. The tourist may not be there to pick up the slack because we have moved on to othe places.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We've been coming here for more than a decade and during that time, not much has changed including freshening up the carpets. I was very sad to see this year a big price increase - I guess in response to the fracking operations. Unfortuately, us tourists have to pay for the towns "gold" rush, and that rush has severely decreased the desireability of vacationing here.

Hotel is under major construction at this time adding rooms. Maybe, it would be better to revamp what you have, then I would not feel so bad about the 40% increase over last year. Parking lot difficult to get around due to construction materials. At checkin - the carpet in our room was soaked through, we assume from people coming and going with snow outside and work boots. Towels were clean but rough and scant in coverage. Bus for gas workers parked outside our room at 6AM Sunday and ran it's engines for an hour until it was loaded. So much for sleeping in. TV and remote were tired and worn.

Not the worst - OK stay - but could be much, much better.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guys Mills, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

If you are looking for a spacious room with modern updates this is not the place for you. The rooms are small and the bathroom even smaller, but the atmosphere is great. The lobby has a wonderful fireplace and a terrific sitting area. The lounge has delicious snack food on the menu and another crackling fireplace. The homey atmosphere induces conversation with the friendly locals. The staff ischeerful and helpful. The town is altogether great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Wellsboro may be a sleepy little town, but the Penn Wells is not the place to sleep. If you think this is a "lovely hotel" - then you haven't stayed a decent hotel. Ancient, threadbare, grungy carpet. Cold, small, cramped, overpriced rooms. Headboard-less bed frame. Brass-like lamps (maybe plastic?). Very small bathroom - needed to step over toilet to get in and out of the shower. The heat was not on and during the night It was in 30's-40's. When the heat was finally turned on, it was only during the night-time hours. Don’t forget drafty. Should have brought a blanket from home. Had a lovely view of "THE" traffic light in town and was repeatedly awoken by the 18 wheelers barreling through town in the middle of the night. There are no plans to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Previously stayed at Sherwood Motel; although not very good, it is much better than the Penn Wells
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge

Address: 62 Main Street, Wellsboro, PA 16901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic Hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy Lounge.The newly renovated Lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern Lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the Hotel and Lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.