We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you want in a hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Canyon Motel
18 East Ave, Wellsboro, PA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wellsboro
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exactly what you want in a hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I say this room is exactly what you want in a place to stay because the room was clean, beds were comfortable and I felt very safe. Front desk service was great. Friendly and quick check-in and answered any questions I had about places to eat/get groceries/etc. Pool area has nice size (and clean) pool, with a hot tub, sauna room and exercise equipment. Hotel is close to food and shopping, as Wellsboro is a small town. Would I stay here again if I was in Wellsboro? 100% Yes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the Canyon Motel, the first being over ten years ago. This time we were three guys on a motorcycles and the motel was able to give us a small suite with three double beds, a sitting room, kitchenette and bathroom. The unit was clean and in good condition, although the facility is obviously not new. There is an indoor pool, however, we did not take advantage of it. The room rate was very reasonable, but no breakfast is offered.
The motel is right in downtown Wellsboro, convenient to restaurants, a theatre, antique shops, etc. and despite the address, fronts on Hwy 6, so it's easy to find.
The staff are very helpful and they obviously think of motorcyclists because there was a bin full of old towels for wiping down the bikes at the check-in. Thanks, guys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I don't know how anyone could have given this motel anything but a 1 or 2 star rating. Those people giving it 4 and 5 star ratings must never travel and stay in hotels. My cousin was getting married in this small town and the Canyon Motel is where they blocked off rooms for out of town guests. I wish I would have done research and booked my own hotel. First of all it was a motel not a hotel, so that should have been my first clue. The room entrances were outside, which is creepy to me. You used a regular key for your room not a card, so anyone could have duplicated that key which makes it feel even more creepy. The room was VERY old, smelled musty, stains everywhere. The bathroom tub did not drain when I showered which grossed me out further. Obviously the maids don't clean the room well because I noticed a balled up towel laying under my bed!!! This was a horrid experience, I just wanted to go to sleep and get out of there as fast as I could. I would never ever return to that motel. I will never book a motel again, and make sure I do my reserach first even if it blocked off for an event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here while visiting the PA Grand Canyon. It was a last minute trip, so we didn't have reservations, but the lady at the front desk was very helpful and let us see a room before deciding. The room was very clean and all of the furnishings were either newer or very well maintained. It was a basic room, but comfortable.

Although we didn't use it, there was a nice indoor pool and hot tub. Also, they showed us a more "deluxe" room with a full kitchen, sitting area, king bed, and patio. It would have been nice for a longer stay.

I would definitely stay here again. I also liked that the motel was within walking distance of the main street, so we could walk to the restaurants and shops, yet it was still just a short drive from the Canyon parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was reluctant to stay because of the previous feedback,
but what a pleasant surprise we had.
Clean Rooms, really nice property, especially friendly and helpful staff.

We have stayed here several times in the past two months, the price
is very reasonable,and the staff will go out of their way to please.

The hard wired internet is quite fast at 100Mbps, most everything is nearby,
and within walking distance.

The pool and sauna are excellent,and the in room refrigerators are COLD.

Front desk, housekeeping , and maintenance staff are friendly and
responded quickly to our requests for assistance.

I can highly recommend the Canyon motel.

Joe herman

Room Tip: If internet use is important, ask for a room with hardwired internet, it is fast and reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in the house part in the up stairs; it wasn't too bad. There were no cups, dishes, or eating utensils in the kitchen area. But other than that, the room was good. The beds were especially comfortable! The place was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellsboro, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We made reservations in advance, and we arrived an hour after check in time. when we got to our room, it was dirty. I called the front desk to complain. There was no housekeeping staff to CLEAN the room. For our dirty room they DID provide us with something to clean the room with and knocked $20 off the room. They did not offer us another room. Their excuse for the dirty room? "we had 80 bikers check in today" they DID call us an HOUR after we cleaned the room ourselves and offer a FULL refund BUT we would have to LEAVE after we were refunded, "if it's that big of a deal we can refund your money and you can just go someplace else"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Motel

Address: 18 East Ave, Wellsboro, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful mountains just minutes from the PA Grand Canyon, this 44 room motel will make you feel at home. We offer extended stay suites, apartments, king Jacuzzi, house suites, 2 beds and single queen rooms. We have an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and exercise room and are within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.