We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B& B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Bear Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
8010 U.S. Route 6, PO Box 216, Wellsboro, PA 16901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Wellsboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect B& B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at BML Columbus weekend. What a beautiful lodge, my expectations were high since there were so many great review, and BML really lived up to them. We stayed in the Canyon room, it was cozy with a fireplace and queen size bed. We enjoyed the private deck and made use of the hottub after hiking the Pa Grand Canyon. Truely a "home away from home", with many great touches from the Keurig coffee maker with dozens of options, fresh muffins and fruit, beverages in our own fridge and extra snacks to pack for hiking if needed. Cozy robes were also provided for after a soak in the hottub, and Sherri keeps the place SPOTLESS and refreshes your supplies if needed. Without a doubt one of the best places we have stayed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim m, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear rmrdh,

I will surely pass this along to Sherri. She takes a great deal of pride in managing this "home" and does a fantastic job.

I am glad it was a good weekend getaway and we lived up to the expectations posted on TripAdvisor. We hope you'll visit again. Our less expensive winter rates are in effect.

It's always a beautiful day in Wellsboro,
Jim Meade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
142
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurence Harbor, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Oh my God! I had a wonderful time at Bear Mountain Lodge , It was very clean nicely decorated and very quaint. we had a beautiful view from our private deck and the wildlife was a nice treat to watch the bunnies and the chipmunks while I had my coffee in the am. amenities were perfect and the town of Wellsboro was great like stepping back in time. I could not find one thing wrong with my trip to Wellsboro, and I am a hard person to please!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim m, Front Office Manager at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Margaret K:

Wow! We are so glad you loved Wellsboro - we do too! Autumn is beautiful here but in December our boulevard in town is also lined with Christmas trees and it is magical. The summer is also special. Maybe you will visit again and explore Wellsboro more!

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review and for all the positive comments you made about your stay! Come to your home away from home anytime - we'll do our best to always meet your expectations!

Sincerely,
Amanda, on behalf of Jim and Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Comfortable, cozy, clean, with all amenities one could ask for and more. Location is convenient to charming Wellsboro, the PA Grand Canyon, and other local attractions. We felt quite pampered... and we were!

Room Tip: We had Wilderness room, which was lovely. No doubt others are just as nice. Each room is different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim m, Front Office Manager at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear junecarol5:

We are so glad you felt pampered and relaxed with us and enjoyed the Wilderness Suite! Come back soon! Our winter rates start up soon. Thank you so very much for making the time to write a review of us. We sincerely appreciate it!!!

All the very best,
Amanda and the Bear Lodges team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Cozy feel as soon as you step through the door! Careful attention to detail everywhere. We very much appreciated the complimentary tote bag with helpful area information, all of the goodies in our refrigerator, and the $10 ticket to the Wellsboro Diner. We also loved taking advantage of our private deck with hot tub. It was a wonderful stay all around, and we would recommend Bear Mountain to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim m, Front Office Manager at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jennifer O:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hear from so many guests how valuable Trip Advisor reviews are in their decision to stay with us. It was very kind of you to make the time to write kind words about us.

I am so glad you found the accommodations welcoming and enjoyed your deck and hot tub! Please come stay with us again. The deck and hot tub can be quite nice even in the snow!

Best,
Amanda, on behalf of Sherri and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Found the lodge on the internet and the pictures just don't do this lovely oasis justice! Off the beaten path but close enough to town, it was so quiet and relaxing. As others have mentioned, it was absolutely clean, cozy and beautiful. The part that seemed so magical was that we never saw the obviously dedicated innkeepers. . . you are "on your own" to enjoy your stay and yet everything was perfectly orchestrated. And don't worry, if you do need Amanda, Sherri or Jim, they are only a phone call away. We will definitely plan a return trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8, the Hideaway at Bear Meadows Lodge and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim m, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear LeeAnn K:

Everything you mention are things we strive for - privacy, cleanliness and customer service. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Bear Meadows. The deck area outside of the Hideaway room is one of my personal favorite spots for relaxing (when there are no guests there!). We welcome you back to Bear Meadows or our other locations any time. Please do visit again. Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. Best, Jim Meade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spotlessly clean, wonderful decor, private hot tub, spacious bathroom, cozy bedroom with fireplace. What more could you ask for? Upon arrival, you receive a tote bag with tons of information about the area. The fridge in the room is very well stocked with yogurt, juice, variety of beverages. Also provided are granola bars, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. Sherri and Amanda were both very accomodating. The grounds are beautiful and you feel like you're in the woods. Very convenient place to stay if visiting the Grand Canyon and Wellsboro.

Room Tip: Canyon Room was a nice size with a private hot tub on deck outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim m, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear bandr956:

Thank you so much for these kind words! I greatly appreciate that you took the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed the Canyon Room at our Bear Mountain location. We would love to see you again!

Safe and happy travels,
Jim and the Bear Lodges team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Union, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bear Mountain Lodge in The Bear Room for our second wedding anniversary and we loved it!! I found the listing on Tripadvisor and am so glad I did. We never stayed at a B&B but from the reviews it sounded like it would be perfect for us. There were other guests when we stayed but we only saw them in passing to say hello. It was like the lodge was all ours for the two nights we were there. The room is small like many of the reviews say but it is so big on amenities!! The frig in the room stocked with drinks and snacks plus more in the kitchen, the Keurig with a carousel full of choices, flat screen TV, A/C, fireplace, and a hot tub on a private deck more than make up for the room size. Plus there is the livingroom and a patio table and chairs on the deck for guest use if you need more space. We were made to feel welcomed right from the start when we arrived an hour before check in and ran into Sherri, our hostess. She greeted us and said that our room was ready so we could go ahead and get settled. I loved the personalized welcome sign in the room along with a red rose and chocolates. The next day while we were out and Sherri was freshening our room, she noticed a bunch of flowers my husband got me laying on the frig. When we returned, we found an empty vase she left for us. Such attention to detail without hovering--just what we wanted. We had a wonderful time and will be staying again--hopefully soon!

Room Tip: The private deck with hot tub made this room well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim m, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Crystal P, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor - we greatly appreciate it! The Bear Room is one of our smaller rooms but guests tend to love the cozy feel. I am so glad you felt like you had the lodge to yourself and found Sherri to be a wonderful hostess! Happy Anniversary and you are always welcome here! Sincerely, Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Address: 8010 U.S. Route 6, PO Box 216, Wellsboro, PA 16901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer THREE UNIQUE PROPERTIES from which to choose! We pride ourselves on cleanliness, friendliness and privacy at our properties near Pennsylvania's Grand Canyon!Upscale lodging along the edge of the woods of Pennsylvania's scenic Route 6 highway, BEAR MOUNTAIN LODGE is just outside of Wellsboro. Come escape! Enjoy private fireplaces, a common room with cathedral ceilings and private bath with whirlpool or outdoor hot tub. Our four cabin-like rooms in our newest property, BEAR MEADOWS, just 2 miles from the center of Wellsboro, offers private decks, private fire places and meadow views. Some rooms have outdoor hot tubs. One room is actually a suite, perfect for two couples. 131 MAIN STREET is a circa 1860's historic home in the heart of Wellsboro, just a block from the Courthouse and Green. It is perfect for those who want to walk to shops and restaurants. Our ten unique rooms among the three properties all offer spa robes, hair dryers, flat-screen televisions, free WI-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, a jute carry bag, in-room mini refrigerators stocked with snacks plus a daily ticket to the Wellsboro Diner. We hope to see you soon,Jim (your innkeeper), Sherri (host and landscape designer -extraordinaire), Amanda (host / office manager) and Lisa (host, sales/marketing) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Wellsboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.