We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Nights at Bear Mountain Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Bear Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
8010 U.S. Route 6, PO Box 216, Wellsboro, PA 16901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Wellsboro B&B and Inns
Trooper, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 Nights at Bear Mountain Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a wonderful lodge very tastefully decorated in the "bear" motif with no details overlooked. Ample snacks and food vouchers to the Wellsboro Diner were provided each day. The other guests were very friendly and the staff couldn't possibly do more. It is in a good location with easy access to hiking, biking, kayaking, etc. Bear Mountain Lodge is nestled in the woods. I would like to return in the fall to see the foliage and would consider staying at the other lodge at Bear Meadows for a quieter, more scenic view. My stay there was very enjoyable and I can't think of anything that was lacking.

Room Tip: The decks of rooms not facing Route 6 are quieter. However, inside the rooms/lodge there is no noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
139
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Bear Mountain and Bear Meadow Inns were booked this peak season, so we chose Bear Midtown/131 Main Street, the 3rd of the Three Bears. We weren't disappointed. This was a wonderful stay in the lovely and quaint town of Wellsboro. This B&B might more appropriately be called a B&D as they do not serve breakfast here but provide a voucher to the Wellsboro Diner, two blocks down. This was not a negative, however, as we thoroughly enjoyed our morning walk through this spotless and almost perfect little town. The Inn is not decorated in the usual Victorian, lacy, china-filled formality of the B&B's we're used to but is comfortably furnished and has all the amenities (and more) in the best of the B&B's. From the welcoming room sign to the fruit, water, juices, and delicious muffins, to the incredibly comfortable bed and linens, small refrigerator, whisper quiet a/c, ample towels and plush robes -- we felt right at home. If you can't get accommodations at the Mountain or Meadows, be sure to try 131 Main. You won't be disappointed. We plan to return in the fall when we're sure the area will be even more beautiful. The Inn is about 8 miles from the PA Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 facing the back yard. The huge queen 4 poster took up 3/4 of the room. We would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hanover, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Bear Meadows was a place where we felt comfortable and relaxed. From the moment we pulled into the drive until we left, we were wrapped in comfort whether it was the warm fluffy comforter or the relaxing waters of the jacuzzi. The terry bathrobes were soft and felt like ours at home. It was obvious that no expense was spared to assure our comfort.It was a perfect location with highlights of views of the PA Grand Canyon. Everything was impecably crisp and clean. We had original planned to travel on down Rt. 6 but liked it so much at Bear Meadows that we postponed that leg of the trip til another day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here in the Bear Room. Its a small cozy room with a good size deck and hot tub overlooking the woods. Nice room, all the little bear trinkets and bear themed items make the room feel like a mountain lodge. One of the great features of staying at the lodge is well the fridge..... the lodge provides a fridge filled with snapple, gatorade, oj, yogurt, and also home made muffins, granola bars and fruit. And if you want more you can go to the kitchen to get more. all part of your room rate included. So when it is so bloody hot outside you can cool off with a nice refreshing drink and not feel bad for taking another(within reason of course). The deck is also a huge feature, since the room is small its nice to step outside and just relax, being in the hot tub staring off into the woods was really nice, so relaxing! Seeing the fireflies at night was really cool to. Also they have free wifi which worked with no problems. They provide a $10 voucher to go for breakfast at the Wellsboro Diner. It is a beautiful lodge with all the amenties that you need to just relax and enjoy. You are in the heart of the Grand Canyon of Pa so enjoy yourself while your there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We are on our second day here and I'm writing this review from the private deck for our room. We have a cosy two person spa tub on the deck also. We decided last minute to spend a couple of days in the area to break in our new motorcycle and followed the TripAdvisor reviews to find this perfect out of the way yet close to everything lodge. The the last available room when we booked was the Bear Room. We have a flat screen TV, small refrigerator, comfortable queen bed, very nicely tiled shower and welcoming decorations everywhere.

There is a coffee maker great selection of coffees, fresh muffins, fruits, drinks, water, etc. A main living room on the first floor has a kitchen with extra fresh muffins (can you tell I like the muffins).

We will be back. This lodge is a very good value and we are enjoying our time here.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and the night stars added to the spa experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I like to ride rail trails so we decided to check out the so-called Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania. We found Bear Mountain Lodge and booked a room. Bear Mountain is a rustic B&B decorated located about six miles from Wellsboro. As the name suggests, it is decorated with all things bears. Our second floor room had a great canopy bed, fireplace, large bathroom with spa tub, small deck but (sadly) no outdoor hot tubs like other rooms. The kitchen area is fully stocked with plates, cups, knives and everything you need to cook. The whole set up is ideal for a group event as the living area and kitchen are one big great room. The owners supply guests with yogurt, granola, fruit, trail mix and drinks. It also had a bike barn where we could safely stash our bicycles. The Wellsboro area is a truly beautiful find in Pa, a bit like walking into the past. The town is quaint, the homes are well-maintained, the streets are clean and parking is 5 cents for 30 minutes. Food is priced lower than you would find in large metropolitan areas, but generally bland. One exception: The Log Cabin outside of town on Route 6. I had the trout and it was delicious. My husband had the filet mignon. We didn’t’ know what to expect with the state parks and biking. But figured out the 60 plus mile gravel travel can be accessed by following the Leonard Harrison sign off Route 6. We parked at the Darling Run lot and rode about 16 miles to Blackwell where we stopped at Miller’s store for some ice tea. Then we rode back up. All in all, it was an easy ride with gorgeous vistas along the way. Somehow we missed out on seeing a rattlesnake. (Other bikers told us about it.) We discovered the state parks are beautiful but not as expansive as many. There is no entrance fee to either. Colton Point has some trails at the top but no ranger station or visitor area. As we drove up to the top, we just missed seeing a black bear, according to people we met. We hiked to the bottom from Colton Point on a narrow trail that might make some nervous, but in the end wasn’t as arduous as the sign suggested (at least to us and we’re in our 50s). We also went to Leonard Harrison State Park, which has an expansive viewing area that is ideal for sunsets. It also has trails and a trail to the bottom that includes stairs. At the bottom is a nice waterfall. You can also get into the Pine Creek there as well. After our ride on a very hot afternoon, we went to the lake at Hills Creek State Park. It was small, clean and very family oriented and had no admission price. All in all, the Wellsboro area is a very beautiful. The Pine Creek Trail is one of the most beautiful I’ve ever ridden. If you aren’t an avid rider, companies rent bicycles. They’ll even pick you up if you only want to ride one way. You can also take covered wagon rides, rent rafts and kayaks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in the Wilds room. Very nice, clean, everything was excellent. Great bed and down pillows, towels and robes were the best. Amanda was great. The view at sunset was fabulous! We were on our motorcycle and had a thunder storm over night. Everything was soaked. Talk about going the extra mile, Jim, the owner met me out side in the morning with towels to dry everything off. We"ll be back again. Thanks Jim!

Bruce & Tammy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Address: 8010 U.S. Route 6, PO Box 216, Wellsboro, PA 16901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer THREE UNIQUE PROPERTIES from which to choose! We pride ourselves on cleanliness, friendliness and privacy at our properties near Pennsylvania's Grand Canyon!Upscale lodging along the edge of the woods of Pennsylvania's scenic Route 6 highway, BEAR MOUNTAIN LODGE is just outside of Wellsboro. Come escape! Enjoy private fireplaces, a common room with cathedral ceilings and private bath with whirlpool or outdoor hot tub. Our four cabin-like rooms in our newest property, BEAR MEADOWS, just 2 miles from the center of Wellsboro, offers private decks, private fire places and meadow views. Some rooms have outdoor hot tubs. One room is actually a suite, perfect for two couples. 131 MAIN STREET is a circa 1860's historic home in the heart of Wellsboro, just a block from the Courthouse and Green. It is perfect for those who want to walk to shops and restaurants. Our ten unique rooms among the three properties all offer spa robes, hair dryers, flat-screen televisions, free WI-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, a jute carry bag, in-room mini refrigerators stocked with snacks plus a daily ticket to the Wellsboro Diner. We hope to see you soon,Jim (your innkeeper), Sherri (host and landscape designer -extraordinaire), Amanda (host / office manager) and Lisa (host, sales/marketing) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Wellsboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.