We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Cooking & Popular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parlor House

Parlor House
724 S Potomac St, Waynesboro, PA 17268-2198
(717) 762-5415
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Waynesboro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Country Cooking & Popular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The entire area is loaded with "family style" restaurants. That translates to "No Alcohol". Since moving to the area, we've become Iced Tea Addicts. Parlor House is very popular with the locals. Particularly those of us with gray hair. From 1 to 5 they have a special menu for seniors.
Most recently, we went for dinner and both ordered the oven fried chicken. When the server put the plate down in front of me, I was sure it was for two people - it wasn't!

Food is very good. Some canned vegetables that we could do without but overall, you'll be very satisfied with the food and service. Ambiance is lacking, but it caters to the type of crowd that isn't impressed with fancy stuff. If you get there after 5, be prepared to stand in line. Incidentally, the iced tea was a little weak.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast vs Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have going here for months and it has always been for breakfast.Well we decided to go for the early specials.1pm-5pm.What a disappointment.The price is great and I know why.I ordered hamburger steak(I get this every where we go,when its available)and it was terrible.Tough,cold and very little taste.My wife got ham.She received two nice size pieces with a good portion of sauce.She only ate one piece because("I just do not like it"}.I tried it and it sure was not home cooking.I am sure it must have been canned. Anyway, maybe we just had a one time bad experience.We will continue to have breakfast here and try again later on the specials.PS. Service is wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I love there broiled scalips with french fries and a side of colslaw or baked apples with, no dout coffee. It fairly reasonable friendly people and a nice place to eat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Country Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Nice clean blue collar restaurant. They have a large menu of home made food. Very reasonable prices. Also good deserts.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We attended a Memorial service at the cemetery just up the road and reserved a table for 12 for 11:00 AM on a Saturday. The place was packed at 9:30 when we stopped by but the crowd had thinned out by 11:00. We ended up with only 9 eating but we all had different items from the large selection on the menu. Everyone loved the food and the servers were very attentive and service was fast and efficient. With all 9 meals, the bill came to less than $60.00! What a great bargain!

This restaurant is in a strip mall next to a Save A Lot and consists of several separate rooms. The decor is nothing fancy but all of the walls are covered with old photos and memorabilia from the local area. This is a great place to have lunch for sure!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parlor House also viewed

 

Been to Parlor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parlor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.