We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   128 West Main Street, Waynesboro, PA 17268   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waynesboro
Lowesville, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Margaret and Dave have perfected inn-keeping. My husband and I are innkeepers. We also enjoy staying at B&B's when we travel and had the pure pleasure of staying at Burgundy Lane this past weekend. We enjoyed the early morning coffee, stroll in the town of Waynesboro, the beautiful decorative room, porch to sit on and delicious breakfast. We also enjoyed chatting with Dave and Margaret who are so pleasant and friendly. We plan to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here Christmas Eve night while visiting family in the area. We had an unfortunately bad B and B experience a few days prior (review coming on that one) so were really nervous going in to Waynesboro. I am so glad we did though! There are some bed and breakfasts that are adequate for your needs and then there are are rare places like the Burgundy where it is literally hospitality perfection! This is the kind of place that is worth going to regardless of whether or not Waynesboro interests you at all. It's that great! The house is gorgeous and the themed rooms are just the right ratio of kitsch factor without being too campy. The little items in terms of the renovations were impeccable and modern without detracting from the charm of the history of the home. It's really rare to find a host md hostess team that has thought of every little detail like the owners here have. We awakened to the incredible smells from fresh baked goods in the morning and they let us know that whatever time we would like breakfast they would work around. The meal still permeates my thoughts days later! It was beyond words in presentation and taste. Not only are all of these factors true the price is economical in comparison to bed and breakfast standards! If you don't stay here you will never know what is even possible as the standard for a B and B! We will be back and I only hope this review doesn't make it too hard to get in but even so it would be worth it because they deserve it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for one night on our way to Pittsburgh and were delighted by the room, the location & our hosts. We reserved the honeymoon room which is worth your money! There was a cute little electric fireplace, comfortable bed, Jacuzzi tub for two and a bathroom as big as the the bedroom! It was lovely & luxurious. Breakfast was wonderful, it included fresh strawberry's, OJ, coffee, warm muffins, egg souffle/quiche. We were more than happy with it.

The hosts were extremely kind - we didn't arrive until almost midnight and they were waiting to direct us to the parking spot as soon as we arrived with a smile. We were also running a race before heading to Pittsburgh and they were kind enough to give us another room that was currently not being rented that evening [it was well past check out] so that we could shower & change before getting back on the road - I've never known another hotel to be so hospitable. We would highly recommend & certainly not hesitate to stay again. Very close to restaurants, town, CVS etc.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon room with the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgundylane, Owner at Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We were glad to have been able to make your journey a happy one! Your medals were well-earned and looked great around your necks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I took my 75 year old Mom & my lab Willow on a road trip to Gettysburg. I checked out many places but always came back to Burgundy Lane. I called Margaret & she promptly replied with Yes you can bring your pup Willow. After a day of touring Gettysburg we arrived at 4 & were greeted by Margaret Dave & Murphy. We were tired and just wanted a local place to eat. Dave suggested the Rolling Mill Resturant just outside Waynesboro. Mom had the steak & me the ribs coupon for 10% off our diner bill. The B&B is comfortable & cozy with intricate thought put into the details of each room. Dave & Margaret are a joy to talk to. They know so much local history and if you get Margaret in the mood she will tell you ghost stories. Dave's attention to detail with the workmanship he put into the captains wheel bed or the castle room. The breakfast Margaret prepared was fit for a king. Eggs benedict fresh fruit cup a tasty muffin & all the tea or coffee you can drink. Stay and idle awhile with Dave & Margaret you will be glad you did. I know we were!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is a large tastefully decorated room with a jacuzzi tub . The newly added Castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgundylane, Owner at Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed your visit, and thanks for bringing your new Shelty puppy(Gracie) to see us. We hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Margaret and David are the heart and soul of Burgundy Lane B&B and make the entire experience delightful from your first day to your last. When I emailed to inquire about room availability David booked us rooms and when I called to ask what else I needed to do he said not to worry and we were all set. We arrived late due to construction and traffic and they were both there to greet us and get us settled in for the night. They asked what time we wanted breakfast the next day and that morning a delicious fresh breakfast awaited us when we awoke! And of course who could not love Murphy with his big brown eyes and soulful face! The rooms are absolutely amazing and so comfortable. The location is convenient to walk in town or to drive to local attractions. Margaret and David took the time to chat with us at breakfast time or at times outside on the patio.
Margaret and David treat you the way that you want to be treated and Burgundy Lane Bed and Breakfast is an absolute gem! Will stay there again when we visit Waynesboro, wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgundylane, Owner at Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
One of our favorite parts of owning our own B&B is that we get to meet so many wonderful families and become friends. You and your family are no exception! Thank you for sharing your visit to Waynesboro with us, and we look ofrward to your next visit. Murphy is doing well and sends his regards, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmont ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just wonderful... from the moment we arrived we felt like family coming to stay the weekend. Dave and Margaret (and murphy ;o) are true innkeepers who truely love what they do. we stayed in the medival themed room and i was blown away by the detail and thought that was put into this room, the pictures online do not do it justice it really is just amazing. Breakfast which is prepared for you fresh and at the time of your choosing was to die for. Margaret and Dave bring Michelin star quality and standards to Waynesboro, 1 part local ingredients + 1 part american craftsmanship + 2 parts love = burgundy lane B&B.

We are currently trying to find and excuse to rush back and spend a few more days at the burgundy lane B&B.

Room Tip: spend the extra few bucks and go for the medival room. you'll feel like the king of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgundylane, Owner at Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to have had the opportunity to meet you and are looking forward to seeing you again whenever you return to the area. Murphy sends his regards and thanks for the morsels that he received under the table. LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Taking a day off from the AT trail...the Burgundy Lane was exactly what the doctor ordered. Dave and Margaret were great. They did our laundry, provided an excellent breakfast (ask for the apple turnover) and David provides free transportation to and from the AT trail for all his guests.

Every detail for our stay was looked after- small fridges in the room or close by and coffee when you so desire it.

Great place- great people!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgundylane, Owner at Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast. It was great chatting the evening away on the back patio with you and sharing our thoughts. Have fun on the Appalachian Trail and come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 128 West Main Street, Waynesboro, PA 17268
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast is located in Waynesboro, PA in South Central Pennsylavnia just 24 miles from historic Gettysburg to the northeast and Antietam Battlefield to the south. Our 7 rooms are all theme oriented and feature in-room bathrooms with showers. Our suites have either tub or Jacuzzi features, also. We serve full breakfasts in our Dining Room at our guests' convenience and will do our best to accommodate dietary restrictions. Please call to discuss any pets. We offer free wireless internet and access to our fax line, if necessary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgundy Lane Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.