We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for dinner with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teresas Cafe & Next Door Bar

Teresas Cafe & Next Door Bar
124 N Wayne Ave, # 126, Wayne, PA 19087-3315
610-293-9909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 100 Restaurants in Wayne
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Met a former coworker here for dinner (she recommended it), and I was pleasantly surprised at the diverse menu, as well as the extensive beer selection. I started with the Neanderthal appetizer - 2 large roasted marrow bones split lengthwise, which was delicious. My entrée was the duck salad, which was a generous portion of perfectly cooked duck breast served with a salad of field greens. My friend had the fish tacos, and she said they were really good. Our waitress was attentive without being intrusive and appeared at all the right times. It was a very good dinner, both the food and the company. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, slooooow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The plan was to meet the guys out for some bowling on a Thursday night. It then morphed into dinner first, then bowling, and what better place for the guys to get dinner than at a place that has game meat burgers, an appetizer called "The Neanderthal", and more than 20 Belgian and Belgian-style beers on tap (plus countless bottle options)?

First the good: The beer selection is just amazing. When most places tout they carry 20 or more taps, half of them are crappy mass-produced American swill. TND's selections are all excellent, hard-to-find, constantly changing, and served in the glasses the brewer recommends. It's really cool to see the hundreds of proprietary glasses that run the length of the wall behind the bar. The food is tasty and they serve things you won't find at the usual bar-hangout. The look of the place is nice too - all hardwood throughout, plus there's outdoor seating in a nice setting in downtown Wayne.

What was frustrating about the experience was the length of time we ended up being there. We were seated right away but it was a long wait to meet our waitress. When she finally came is was another long wait for her to bring us drinks and tell us specials. This continued throughout the night. We arrived at 7 and didn't get out until after 10, and other than beers we only orders apps and entrees. Not every table was full, the place seemed to be appropriately staffed with waitresses and busboys, and our waitress didn't looked stressed or flustered. There were no apologies for how long everything seemed to be taking, which made us think this snail-like service is normal for the establishment.

Finally, it's rather loud in there. I don't know if anything can be done about that but our waitress was really quiet and we had to ask her to repeat herself several times. Plus it was hard to communicate with each other at our table.

Because of the length of time we were there, we had to cancel the original bowling plan! Oh well, next time we'll find a faster food place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“I want to eat here every day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second visit to Teresa's---why can't it be a little closer??? The food and service are outstanding. One thing I love is that every waiter is aware of your table and if something needs removal, someone is over to do it...or to refill water...or whatever you might need. I find that relatively unusual in restaurants, and very nice to see.
But on to the food. We started with a Brussel sprout soup and a Roots and Shoots salad. Both were excellent, but the salad was one of the best I've ever had. It had roasted beets, oranges, goat cheese, almonds, and a minty yogurt---so delicious that I can't wait to have it again.
Then there are the mussels which both my husband and I ordered. We had provincial style and they're served with pommes frites and bread---what could be better? For dessert we had rhubarb tart, also delicious. Many beer and wine selections.
This restaurant is divided into 2 rooms, plus outside seating in warm weather. One of the rooms serves Italian food (have never been there) and the other Belgium. Everything we've had has been excellent. Many children were there so we plan to take our grandchildren and are looking forward to it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We met friends for brunch on a Sunday and were very pleased. They have a great syrup- I think it's stoudt. Their list of Belgian Brews is extensive, and I love that they have the individual glasses to serve each brew in. Sunday's also offers 1/2 price cheese plates.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Belgium Beer Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Best beer selection and great food as well as cheese board. Get ready to grab a booth and enjoy the evening

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teresas Cafe & Next Door Bar also viewed

 

Been to Teresas Cafe & Next Door Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teresas Cafe & Next Door Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.